We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Nice Evening Get-Togethers, and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Mount Pleasant

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Mount Pleasant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Los Gatos, CA - Northern California - Bay Area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Nice Evening Get-Togethers, and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed her in August and not knowing that it was a convenient location to everything.

It is 10 minutes from the beach, right in the heart of shopping of Old Navy, Gap, Barnes & Noble, Starbuck's, RiteAid, Target, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's.

The 1 bedroom Queen Suite was smaller than most of the Residence Inn such as the one we stayed in Residence Inn Stockton.

The air-conditioner worked perfect. We needed it especially when it was so hot and humid.

We were in the 1st floor and the top guests on the 2nd floor were so loud that it was hard for us to go to sleep.

TVs worked great. The bed was good, but the pillows needed a replacement. They were fluffy, but once I placed my head on one, it flattened.

The bathroom was big but not enough counter space. Lots of storage space in the bedroom.

The laundry consisted of 3 washing machines and 3 dryers. The dryers were not drying the clothing properly so I had to do the cycle twice. Maybe, humidity was the factor.

Also, be sure to check the washing machine carefully. I found keys, money, and socks from others who did not check the washing machine after their wash.

Parking is small and many of the guests did not know how to park within the white lines. So, I had to find a better parking spot.

There are evening get-togethers where it was really when everyone got together. Nice people.

Overall, it's nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed this property. Location is good if you know your way around. Right on Isle of Palms connector and 5 minutes to Beach. 15 minutes to downtown. Shopping close by. Scott at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Take it from someone who travels freqently--I cannot say enough good things about the Residence Inn Marriott located on the Isle of Palms Connector in Mt. Pleasant!

The hotel’s décor is Southern in style, contributing to the feel of being in the Charleston area. The staff at the front desk is superb, particularly Marylind, who will take excellent care of you and give you all of the tips and advice she can about the area, beaches, places to eat, and places to buy your sweet grass basket. Valerie was really helpful at our check in, too.

The rooms are gorgeous with a great sized kitchen and living room area along with nice-sized bedrooms and baths with good set ups (sink outside of the shower/toilet area.) The thermostat is automatic, allowing for easy temperature control.

This hotel has excellent location, location, location: five minutes or less from the Isle of Palms, ten minutes from Sullivan’s Island, and fifteen minutes or less to the heart of Charleston. It’s also an easy drive to Savannah, GA-well worth a day trip.

The breakfast buffet is super—hot and cold fresh fruits, waffles made to order (by you), and something different daily in the hot food area. Monday through Thursday night, the hotel sponsors a manager’s reception with free wine, beer, lemonade, and coffee and food that could be your dinner: fajitas, personal pan pizzas, chili and corn bread; hamburgers and coleslaw and potato salad. The food is adequate and worth the stay if you do not want to spend a ton of money on food. Of course, the full kitchen allows you to cook your own meals in. There are plenty of eating establishments right in the area, including Gullah cuisine near a Long Horn--this place has it all when it comes to choices of food, whether you want to stay in Mt. Pleasant or go to Charleston. Try Mosaic in Mt. Pleasant and Blossom in town. The hotel is very close to 24 hour grocery store and the hotel has a service where they will pick up items you need free of charge after you pay for your items.

The hotel has free Internet access, but I have to say this was our only drawback. We stayed in room 326 which is pretty far away from the main desk but perfect for people who want peace and quiet (it was a two bedroom suite.) The room had three beautiful, sunny windows overlooking palm trees. I found the wi-fi worked fine during the day, but in the evening the entire family had difficulty maintaining a connection. The hotel said they have state-of-the-art Internet access, but I just found in room 326 it was not reliable, particularly in the evenings. However, when it worked, it worked really well. The odd that happened is if the kids were watching TV in their room and my husband changed the chanel in the main area, their chanel would change, too, if their door was open. So we adjusted by making sure their door was shut if the chanel was going to be changed. The pool is nice although it was not always clean, but the outdoor patio area was gorgeous. You can even cook out on a grill if you are so inclined. The beds were comfortable and adequate although a bit firm for me. My husband loved them. Maid service was super and efficient. There are three high speed efficiency washers and dryers and we had no trouble washing out clothes. Cost is 1.25 per load. The hotel will give you laundry soap at the front desk if you ask.

The hotel is very close to Boone Hall Plantation--where they filmed "Gone With the Wind," which has still-standing slave quarters; but also consider Magnolia Plantation with the swamp gardens (alligators, herons, egrits, turtles) or Middleton Place with its gorgeous gardens if you are visiting plantations. Most cost 15.00PP to enter. In the city, Calhoun Mansion is a site to behold and the Nathaniel Russell House is an excellent example of a restored home with excellent guides.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat—the ambiance is great, the staff fantastic; the food completely adequate; the rooms very nice; and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the 3rd floor. Our room was excellent in its location. Make use of your fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Too expensive, too far from the city and too far from the beach. On the plus side free Internet and parking. There is a supermarket 24x7 very near, but I believe this is not why you go to a hotel. Breakfast less than average, swimming pool to small. Service not good enough, who gives 1 small bottle of shampoo for 2 people especially as they are not servicing the rooms everyday. old fashion rooms. Less than average of a hotel, especially for the price.

Cheers

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We've stayed here two years in a row for vacation and already have reservations here for this year's vacation. While residence inns are marketed to business travelers, their rooms work nicely for vacationers like us who like to have the use of a kitchen and a little more space all around. The first year we stayed, the two bedroom suite was available to us via Marriott's point system. The second year it was not, and we had to go with a one bedroom suite. The difference is profound, and if you have a sizable family it might be worth it to cough up the extra money for a two-bedroom. We LOVED the two bedroom suite.

Location is great, right in the heart of Mt. Pleasant shopping (tons of great stores, plus a nice cinema) and a straight 2 mile drive to the beach at Isle of Palms.

Finally, the full breakfast in the morning and the weeknight dinners wind up saving us some welcome food money.

We trust residence inns just about everywhere, but this is one we know from experience, and we love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The Charleston area is one of the hidden gems of a vacation place. This Residence Inn is unique because of its Southern decor, and the hospitality by the staff is off the charts. When you're there, you have downtown Charleston a few miles away, the beach a hop skip and a jump away, and the town of Mount Pleasant which has a few touristy things to do as well. The location is ideal because you practically are staying at the beach, but with their daily breakfast and manager receptions during the week--you hardly have to venture out for food. Not to mention there's a nice outdoor mall with a move theater right next door. I've stayed at practically every Residence Inn there is, and this is the top dog of all. We've vacationed here the last three years in a row.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Residence Inn Mt Pleasant on a visit to family and personal retreat. I stay in Marriotts 135 nights a year and this site was as expected for a Residence Inn. The welcome was warm, the check-in process was quick, and the room was clean and met expectations. The front desk throughout my stay were very helpful, for questions about dinner, directions to avoid traffic to the historic district, and always available.

The breakfast was fine, typical Residence Inn fare.
There were several positive points for this location: 1. Proximity to Isle of Palms beach for walking each morning (5 mins) 2. Distance to historic district (20 mins) 3. and a very short walk to a full service grocery store.

I recommend this location and will visit again when in the Charleston area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mount Pleasant

Address: 1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mount Pleasant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Mount Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.