We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opal

Opal
1960 Riviera Dr, Mount Pleasant, SC
843-654-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Opal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 275 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Long Grove Drive
mt pleasant
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great dinner. Not loud and boisterous. Easy place to dine and enjoy. In a strip mall but not tacky.
Business casual. Has class.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We are a large party, each with a discerning palate. We normally dine at Langdon’s when our group is in town, as we fell in love with them years ago. This year, we could not get a reservation and were horribly disappointed, but were fortunate enough to secure a reservation here at their sister location (Opal) and they certainly did not disappoint. To start off with, the appearance of the restaurant is beautiful and relaxing. We were made to feel very special upon our arrival and the evening only got better from there. Our wait staff was superb, attending to everyone special requests. The wine selection, which had concerned us at first, was outstanding. The cold-water oysters and spicy shrimp bruschetta are not to be missed, as was the cheese tray with fresh honey, this was certainly the way to start our dining experience off on a fabulous note. I won’t go down every single entrée, as there wasn’t a complaint among us, but the “surf & turf” special was just outstanding. The steaks were some of the best we’ve had, and trust me, our group eats a lot…and eats well! The special deserts and cordials were a pleasant way to end such an outstanding dinner. There was not a negative comment to be said by anyone in our party, and a group our size, it is very hard to please us all. Thank you to the staff, as you now have gained return customers to say the least.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Small Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went here for the second or third time last week. Food was outstanding, service was great. Even though there are 4 other restaurants nearby, this one can't be beat on taste. The price is a little pricey for a casual night out, but definitely great for celebrations or date night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food here at Opal is outstanding! Having grown up with homemade pasta 3x's a week, there is no substitute. And they even had homemade whole wheat pasta for us Type II's. The Carolina Gold rice with the fresh seafood dish was as good as if not better than any risotto that I have eaten. We didn't make reservations for a Monday night, so we sat at the bar where Flora, our server, did a fantastic job with suggestions and her attentiveness. The charcuterie board was great, and the salamis were the real deal. The Parmesan was straight out of Tuscany and had I had some thick balsamic vinegar, I would have thought that I was back there. An excellent meal with excellent service and very reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of the food served. A real keeper.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went here with friends for a girls night out. Everything about it was very good. In total we ordered 2 pasta dishes, a main course, soup and appetizer. Every one was very happy with their meal. The wine pour was also good as this is a pet peeve of mine. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Opal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.