We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Patriots Point to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is very basic, but if you're looking for a clean place to stay with a good location, this is it. You're just a minute away from getting on 17 which was perfect for us.

Every staff member I came in contact with was very friendly, and always made a point to greet you.

The breakfast is just fine but after a few days, we were ready for a change.

If you're looking for sunshine at the pool there is very little. It's surrounded by trees so much of it remains in the shade. The pool itself seemed clean, but it's time to remove all the patio furniture and power wash the entire area. The patio furniture could use some scrubbing too.

All in all it served us well. Would I stay here again...I think I would try another option nearby.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay. We are sorry you didn't have a great stay and we will focus on improving. The pool area was already scheduled to be pressures washed and has been since your stay. We are sorry it wasn't completed prior to your arrival. Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    112
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
111
121
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms smell bad / smokey... I was unable to change rooms because "the hotel is full". The beds have plastic liners and very poor bed quality.

No hot water was available in the morning.

Looking at the previous reviews..I suspect a very positive review by hotel staff to be completed after this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback . We are sorry for your recent experience and we have taken all of your comments to heart and have already fixed all of your issues. Although our hotel is 100% nonsmoking and we do fine for smoking in our rooms, we cannot control what the previous Guest may have done. We have recently purchased an ionizer machine to eliminate all odors and clean the air. We have also upgraded our mattress protectors from plastic to a cloth like material and have recently installed a brand new water heater. Please consider visiting us again in the future because we do care and want you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth MA, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

the hotel does not keep up with renovations. our shower broke they did nothing to fix it, they also did not switch our room when they new we had no working shower. the staff did not care. they would rather go on face book than address our problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. Obviously there was miscommunication somewhere because maintenance was sent to your room each day you made us aware of your problem and the shower was functioning properly. And on the day you departed I personally checked the shower myself and it was working fine .Perhaps you just needed to be shown and I do apologize for that but we take every issue seriously and respond to them in a timely manner. I'm so sorry you were inconvenienced during your stay and we will definitely communicate better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reevesville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Check-in was a breeze. Breakfast was great.
Swimming pool was waiting on us and Keith at check-in was very friendly and very helpful. Convenient to beach and Charleston wedding.
The room smelled good and there are some very hard workers in the hotel cleaning our room. Bed was comfortable and cold air. Price was very reasonable and we loved our stay and we will be back

Room Tip: all rooms looked good to me-no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed in a room for two nights and got bitten multiple times by what was later decided to be bedbugs. When dealing with the hotel with this matter they were not helpful at all, even after a doctors diagnosis was provided to confirm that the bites were caused by bedbugs. The manager that I had to deal with concerning this matter was condescending, rude and really just not helpful. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are sorry your recent stay with us was not pleasant. We did review your Doctor's report which clearly states that the minor skin irritation was due to mosquito bites. We do still promise a bedbug free environment for our Guests. We take every complaint to heart and make every effort possible to resolve it. Again I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. It is conveniently located in Mt. Pleasant near the Ravenell bridge which I enjoy running on in the evening. It it near the U.S.S. Yorktown and Fort Sumter boat tours and a quick ride over the bridge has you in Charleston.
The staff was friendly when checking in and out but otherwise seemed caught up in computer and other work. I called down confirm GPS directions but the staff was unsure...we were seeking a location ,06 miles from the hotel so thought they should have known. The pool is small but adequate. It was very humid during our visit and the room seemed to hold the moisture. The hotel is also convenient to a Whole Foods which we like so we can have a healthy meal option before venturing out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After seeing a 3 star rating on Travelocity and a 4 star rating by tripadvisor we selected this motel for a week-long visit to the Charleston area. Man! were we ever disappointed. There is no way in the world this hotel is even a 3 star. It is old, the room was clean but musty, the beds were terrible, the AC would cycle on and off all night long there was no way to get the AC or fan to run continously. The AC would always make a big bang when it turned on and off. This hotel needs to be renovated if they want to be rated a 3 star. The staff was nice enough, I'm sure it is not their fault that this facility is old and falling apart. We noticed that there were very few guests during our stay while the Hampton next door was packed.

Room Tip: You might want to consider the Holiday Inn Express or the Hampton
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Address: 259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy this hotel's convenient access to the Charleston Historic District without paying downtown Charleston hotel rates. Located in the heart of Mount Pleasant, the Best Western Patriots Point is only minutes away from the beautiful Historic District where visitors can stroll along the cobble-stone streets, shop and dine in beautiful Charleston. Hotel guests will also find Patriots Point Maritime Museum, Fort Sumter and the Patriots Point Golf Course and Marina nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Best Western
Best Western Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.