We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home base for a visit to Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Patriots Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
South Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Home base for a visit to Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Patriots Point Best Western. Our rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is always pleasant and helpful, Internet is fast and free, and the complementary breakfast is more than passable. What we really like is that the hotel offers such easy access to Mount Pleasant, Isle of Palms, Patriots Point, downtown, and all the major highways...north and south. Don't sell Best Western short, especially BW Patriots Point.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us another opportunity to serve you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    98
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
91
101
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Room was very nice, the hotel was easy to get to. However, the hotel website had the street name spelled incorrectly, It's "Magrath" on the street sign, not "McGrath" as on the website, so Google Maps could not give me directions. Other than that, it's location is convenient to Charleston, it's very clean, the staff is VERY courteous, even offering me a free desert coupon to a nearby restaurant. Breakfasts were tasty. Most important, the bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for one night on our way back home from Florida. No major complaints. For our one-night stay we had everything we needed. Once we figured out how the shower worked (pull out AND turn!) and had the complimentary breakfast that had a good assortment of items, we were ready for another day of travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western upon returning from a cruise. I called them to ask if they could hold our bags since we would arrive early (prior to check in time). I was told that if they could not get us into our rooms when we arrived, they would hold our bags in a secure area. Since this was our last time to check out Mount Pleasant and Charleston we didn't want to worry about our bags. We arrived about 10 a.m. and they were true to their word. They put all our bags (and we had a lot) behind a locked door. Now that is customer service. We had stayed at another hotel the week before and they refused to hold our bags. So, if that is important to you ask.

The other reason we picked this place is because it was within walking distance to a restaurant we discovered called Sticky Fingers. To our surprise, Sticky Fingers provided Room Service to the Best Western guests. My husband and I ordered Room Service and ate our dinner by the pool. The other two couples with us walked to Sticky Fingers.

The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and room service was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time on your cruise. We will do our best to keep up the good service and hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights in room 305. It has been updated with fresh linens, new mattresses, carpet, widescreen TV, and cabinetry that included a fridge and microwave. There was very adequate cabinet and closet space for a business traveler who might be staying more than a few days. The bathroom had granite countertops and large towels. They weren't the softest towels I've ever used but they certainly dried things off. The bathroom fixtures were also updated and the floor had tile. The room was clean and fresh with no odors. The staff were all exceedingly helpful and friendly. I would stay there again if traveling in the Charleston area and would recommend it to anyone looking to pay a modest price while visiting the Low Country. It's a good value and a good location in Mt. Pleasant.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the front and back overlook parking lots but ours overlooked the back and it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you liked our improvements and will continue to use your feedback to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The mediocre reviews I read before the trip were true.
Room 303 came complete with worn but mostly clean carpet, a large bathroom with basic toiletries, and a fairly comfortable bed with just the beginning of a body print. Here's what was missing: The cabinetry showed capacity for a microwave and refirigeator, neither were present. My friends in 301 had the microwave but no refrigerator. There was no ice machine on the third floor you have to go down to the second floor for ice.
It is apparent that when something wears out management simply wheels it out with no thought of a replacement.
On the second morning of our three day stay I woke up to a printed notice shoved under my door announcing that there was no hot water. A plumber had been called but no repair could be made until a part arrived. We were given a generous discount for that day but a cold shower is still a cold shower.
The complementary breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent The attendant was upbeat and friendly.
Overall not a bad place but not my choice for a return until local management/ownership decides to spend some money.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn Express nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. All feedback is appreciated. We are sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Our rooms have recently been renovated to include brand new carpet and refrigerators and microwaves. And our plumbing issue has also been resolved. We certainly take all feedback to heart and will continue to strive to provide excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Address: 259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy this hotel's convenient access to the Charleston Historic District without paying downtown Charleston hotel rates. Located in the heart of Mount Pleasant, the Best Western Patriots Point is only minutes away from the beautiful Historic District where visitors can stroll along the cobble-stone streets, shop and dine in beautiful Charleston. Hotel guests will also find Patriots Point Maritime Museum, Fort Sumter and the Patriots Point Golf Course and Marina nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Best Western
Best Western Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.