We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the BEST western” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Patriots Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Spring Hill, Fl
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not the BEST western”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The mediocre reviews I read before the trip were true.
Room 303 came complete with worn but mostly clean carpet, a large bathroom with basic toiletries, and a fairly comfortable bed with just the beginning of a body print. Here's what was missing: The cabinetry showed capacity for a microwave and refirigeator, neither were present. My friends in 301 had the microwave but no refrigerator. There was no ice machine on the third floor you have to go down to the second floor for ice.
It is apparent that when something wears out management simply wheels it out with no thought of a replacement.
On the second morning of our three day stay I woke up to a printed notice shoved under my door announcing that there was no hot water. A plumber had been called but no repair could be made until a part arrived. We were given a generous discount for that day but a cold shower is still a cold shower.
The complementary breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent The attendant was upbeat and friendly.
Overall not a bad place but not my choice for a return until local management/ownership decides to spend some money.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn Express nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. All feedback is appreciated. We are sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Our rooms have recently been renovated to include brand new carpet and refrigerators and microwaves. And our plumbing issue has also been resolved. We certainly take all feedback to heart and will continue to strive to provide excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
88
98
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
SIMPSONVILLE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed again during another visit to Charleston. Everything about our stay was just right, we got a bigger room this time and it was wonderful! I will say.we have not used the breakfast because we go to the Huddle House, but it seems to be popular. The WiFi did get a little overloaded at times, but we were always able to get connected. We just really like the service we get from these folks every time we go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Room was a little musty. Smelled like it had been closed up for awhile. Turned on AC and fixed that. AC was rather loud though and the room was quite small. Breakfast was the only thing that could use some improvement. Overall, it was great. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for recent stay. We appreciate all comments negative and positive. We will take them and focus on getting better. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The grounds, building, & staff were all pleasant ... nothing exceptional nor nothing to shy away from. Based on its proximity to the water, I thought the hotel would have a view of the river &/or bridge ... it does not.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Charleston. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. We will continue to focus on improving and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The location was excellent. The only negative comment I have is that the staff was very unfriendly when we were checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and am sorry you did not have a pleasant experience at checkin. It will certainly be better when you return...:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaorbust
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This Best Western is in a convenient location just over the Ravenel Bridge from Charleston, in Mount Pleasant. Route 17 is chock a block with hotels in this area, and when we came all were booked up for a weekend convention, so we were glad we had reservations ! The room was small and dated and the closets were sort of strange. It was quiet at night, and there is a Harris Teeter and some restaurants right down the road on the same side. (Worst Chinese take out I have ever eaten, however, so we should have asked the front desk for advice !)
Polite folks at front desk. Major problem that weekend : NO hot water. Oh well, these things can happen and we were happy to just have a bed. Needless to say our AM showers were quick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to have the hot water problem resolved now and am sorry you did not have a hot shower. We will continue to focus on your feedback and strive to provide a excellent experience for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Patriots Point

Address: 259 McGrath Darby Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy this hotel's convenient access to the Charleston Historic District without paying downtown Charleston hotel rates. Located in the heart of Mount Pleasant, the Best Western Patriots Point is only minutes away from the beautiful Historic District where visitors can stroll along the cobble-stone streets, shop and dine in beautiful Charleston. Hotel guests will also find Patriots Point Maritime Museum, Fort Sumter and the Patriots Point Golf Course and Marina nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Best Western
Best Western Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Patriots Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.