We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun boat ride.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Water Taxi

Charleston Water Taxi
24 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29401
843.330.2989
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ferries/ Boats
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Don't miss the boat! Water Taxis make hourly trips across the harbor to downtown Charleston starting at 9am. Leave the car in Mt Pleasant at the Charleston Harbor Resort at Patriots Point and avoid the parking hassle. $10 all day pass allows you to come and go when you please. Water Taxis land at Waterfront Park/Market St. and the Charleston Maritime Center next to the Aquarium Wharf. The water taxis make a scenic 4 mile loop around Charleston Harbor checking out dolphins on the way. Great for kids and grown-ups who just want to get on the water.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun boat ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was nice to walk around Charleston itself. The boat ride drops in the middle of Charleston. They point out sites as you head over.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at a condo in Isle of Palms and took the ferry RT from Patriots Point in Mt. Pleasant to Charleston. It was a leisurely 30 minute ride across the harbor with dolphin sightings both ways. We also saw a container ship being loaded and had a great view of the bridge. Both crew were very friendly and informative. You get off right by the Aquarium & Ft Sumter NPS museum (which I'm told is free but we ran out of time so didn't visit) and the ferry to the fort. It's all a bit north of the main tourist area but you can take a free trolley to the visitor's center and there change to a free trolley to other areas. Or it's a 10 minute walk to the more visited areas. It was a great deal at $10/person for an all day pass especially considering that all day parking in one of the public parking garages will cost you $18.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Arkansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“$10 All Day Pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Parked at Charleston Harbor in Mount Pleasant. Parking is free at that location and there is a nice marina store with reasonable prices.
The crew is pleasant and the ride is really nice. Beautiful way to see the area. Landed 8 blocks north of the desirable area of Charleston, but it is the halfway point between there and the Ft Sumter Ferry. A new dock is being put in by the first of October closer to downtown.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well I guess I expected too much. I thought we would be seeing more of the harbor on the water taxi ride, but it just goes straight across the harbor for a distance we could have actually walked. In fact, there were all kinds of people walking across the bridge the same distance. I was hoping it would drop us a little closer to the downtown area where the straw market, restaurants, etc. were since they are basically waterfront. We were still about 20-25 minutes from there so we got a rickshaw ride downtown. I would only recommend the water taxi if you definitely don't want to drive and then only if you don't mind to walk a distance in addition.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeper
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a great way to relax for an hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The weather was not good and we missed the last fort Sumter biracial we opted to just ride the water taxi around the harbour. The young couple operating the boat were very nice and informative. They had an adorable puppy they had rescued that was quite friendly and very at home on the boat. We enjoyed the ride and chatting with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Water Taxi also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Water Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charleston Water Taxi to your Saves list