We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Dining at Sushi Taro!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Taro

Sushi Taro
1171 Basketweave Drive, Mount Pleasant, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 275 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Sushi
Description: Just opened - excellent!!!!
Restaurant details
Description: Just opened - excellent!!!!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Dining at Sushi Taro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was so blessed this Mother's Day weekend to have two scrumptious meals at my favorite restaurant, Sushi Taro in Mount Pleasant, SC!
Friday nite my handsome son Nehemiah treated both myself and his Dad to a fabulous feast at Sushi Taro! I don't know how the Master Sushi Chef, Eddie, does it but every time we eat at his restaurant he tops whatever sushi we had on previous visits! The very best and freshest sushi anywhere! Always presented with artistic flair! Check out my photos of this meal and my Mother's Day meal that my husband Jaffray and I had Sunday! I love going to Sushi Taro! It is a fun, welcoming and beautiful place to rest your weary body and dine on gourmet food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly Food Heavenly Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am a fully paying and loyal customer of Sushi Taro. I have been dining there ever since they opened. Their food, service and presentation have only grown in keeping me and my family frequent and extremely satisfied customers!
See enclosed pictures for my most recent visits!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sushi just ok. Service slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

You'd think going to a sushi restaurant on a Sunday evening would be pleasant and not very busy. Not so at the Sushi Taro. And based on how slow service was (only one sushi chef) I don't think this is the normal for a Sunday evening. Sushi was just ok. Rice was crumbly and hard to eat with chopsticks. Needed a spoon. Suspect this was more because the sushi chef was overwhelmed and hurried. Since we were trying to expand our 15 year old grandson's eating experiences, it may have been a little more disappointing. Won't plan to return here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“At Sushi Taro you receive personal service, food that not only is delicious, but is beautiful to behold, in a cozy atmosphere an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I just ate at Sushi Taro's last night. I admit to having many other delicious meals at this restaurant and each time is a delightful experience! I had the Seared Scallops, two Avocado Maki Rolls and Tempura Cheesecake. Wow! Everything was so delicious! The scallops were so tender, they melted in my mouth. They were served on a bed of tender lettuce with a delicate cilantro dressing. Mouthwatering! Next I was presented with the Avocado Maki Rolls! The plate was beautifully decorated with beet noodles and cucumbers in a flower design in one corner, the Avocado Rolls in the center flanked by white ginger and wasabi, and finally a strawberry cut to another flower shape placed diagonally from the beets and cucumbers. I ate every single parcel! The Avocado Maki Rolls were so awesome with tender rice and fresh avocado. I had the Tempura Cheesecake with chocolate syrup artfully drizzled across the plate and tempura cheesecake! I love cheesecake and I have to admit this is the best I have tasted so far. Crunchy yet delicate tempura encased the rich, creamy cheesecake. Perfection! Sushi Taro is my favorite restaurant! It is family owned which really adds to the atmosphere. They are always so welcoming and treat you like royalty. I highly recommend Sushi Taro to anyone that wants a very special meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Grea sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went there to celebrate a birthday and we had about 7 or 8 different roles and orange chicken. Everything was great and we ordered two more roles. The service was excellent and very attentive. Some of the best sushi we have had since moving here two years ago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Taro also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sushi Taro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Taro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.