We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy in SC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizzeria

La Pizzeria
976 Houston Northcutt Blvd., Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-3488
843-375-4607
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 265 restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italy in SC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fantastic homemade pastas, interesting and value-laden Italian wine list, and GREAT marinara sauce are highlights of this family run bistro. It's location in the corner of a strip mall and unpretentious decor might fool the passerby, but dive right in and you won't be disappointed. Some of our favorites include the Eggplant Rollatini and classic Caprese salad with fresh mozzarella and tomatoes. The Caesar salad is legit as well. Seafood is always fresh and local. We always get a pizza Margharita to take home for the kids. Laura the owner will come by and say "Buon giorno!" with her native Milanese accent and treat you like a regular! You'll become one soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    68
    23
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well.. humm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I don't know what all the fuss is about, honestly.. both my wife and I ate at LaPizzeria as we picked this spot from the rave reviews on trip advisor. The service and wait staff was great!
But the pizza on the other hand was average or less at best. Ya, were from Chicago and think we know good pizza. The crust was the big let down, more like cardboard and dry with no flavor. I guess were just not used to that. On the plus side the spaghetti was very good, with tender just right noodles and a lovely sauce! Would i recommend LaPizzeria? answer is yes but don't' expect to get world class pizza.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brings me back to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

So good! Not your American style Italian food this is true Italian food that I love and adore.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura b, General Manager at La Pizzeria, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are proud to serve quality Italian food and love to see our customers become more like our family. We are so glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a real authentic Italian cuisine in a stip mall. If you can get past the location..... you will be thrilled with the food and eating excperience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had pizza and the gnocchi...can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Wish they would open in our home town!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizzeria also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to La Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.