We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back anytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graze

Graze
863 Houston Northcutt, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-3446
843-606-2493
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Graze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Houston Northcutt and Hwy 17 N.
Transit: There is a Carta Bus stop merely 100 yards from our front door.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I would go back anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

While picking up an order from a store in this small shopping center, we asked for a restaurant recommendation from the owner. She pointed us to Graze. The menu offers some wonderful options of meals. My wife had the short ribs taco which was served as a very tasty beef on a flour tortilla with a sour cream chipotle dressing. I ordered the lamb gyro that came with a delicious dipping sauce. Both meals came with delicious salads served with a lite lemony dressing. There was nothing left on the plates. The restaurant focuses on innovating the menu items and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

The restaurant offers a full bar. The overall ambiance is contemporary but with the hard concrete floors and hard tables, it can get noisy. Service was first rate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    71
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dined with a friend for lunch and was pleased with the interesting entrees and presentation. The wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Located near Whole Foods in a strip mall, I guess that you can't expect much in terms of ambiance but I honestly think that Graze ought to try a little harder if they want to attract a sustainable customer base.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Twice in two weeks; great both times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Graze is one of those gems that's easy to miss. Good small bites backed up by some interesting entrees.

The other night I had the happy hour mac and cheese with bacon and caramelized onions. I don't remember how much it cost, but it was a lot of GOOD food for a good price.

Chicken and waffles? Check. Lobster mac 'n cheese? Check. Wine list with good selection of by the glass? Check.

Nice ambiance, good service, very mellow. One of our party was diabetic, and they quickly responded to his dietary needs.

Good food and good value, hidden in a shopping center. Worth finding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great little find in the Whole Foods strip shop..... Will definitely be back again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful evening at this small, friendly restaurant. Very interesting menu with lots of variety in their menu selections.

Sarah was our friendly waitress from Chapel Hill, now living here in the Charleston area.

No room for desert after this wonderful meal but can only imagine how great their desserts must be....

Try this place, staff is friendly and welcoming and there is something here for everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another one of Mount Pleasant's Construction Zones???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had foodie friends in from Atlanta, with whom we dine out regularly whenever they are in town, so I was happy to see the nice review for Graze in the paper that morning and made reservations for that night. None of us were prepared for the starkness of the decor, as we had enjoyed it before as "cozy Coco's." Our friends actually asked if the carpert had just been ripped up, and new would be installed after closing. I KNOW that all four of us cringed when we first entered and saw how barren it was, as we have endured several very LOUD restaurants in the last few years here in Charleston, and ardently follow the articles about that in the Charleston Mercury newspaper. We just don't get it...WHY do the owners think that that looks good or inviting. As an interior designer, I can honestly tell you that it looks AWFUL! Who started this trend, and why it continues is beyond us! Other restaurants around town have bought out a previous place, and that is the first thing they do, thinking that that is going to give it a new industrial look. Frankly, it looks like they ran out of money. The food was good, we all agreed, but as we walked to our cars, I asked our guests, "Well, what score do we give this...what was your take on it?" Their response, "I don't have to go back." Do not discount ambiance when you plan a restaurant...comfort, sound control, and lighting are key!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Graze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.