We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar Food & Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Tap Room

Liberty Tap Room
1028 Johhnie Dodds Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
843-971-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 256 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Bar Food & Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Liberty has a good size bar and bar seating area as well as a good size dining area, separate from the bar area, especially used for families. Outside seating is available (when it get's a bit cooler!). We had a table for six and all members of our party enjoyed the food and service. Wood fired wings were especially unique and delicious as compared to the "chain wings' pubs in the area….highly recommended by our party. Great variety of happy hour appetizers that can be shared or turned into a main meal. Salad with "large" grilled shrimp was a great value. Nacho appetizer was also a great value. In house ground chop steak and burgers were cooked to perfection. Great selection of local brews. Service was very accommodating to special requests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
David,
Thanks for joining us at Liberty Tap Room and for sharing your comments! It's a pleasure to hear that you and your guests enjoyed our wings, salads, nachos, burgers, and house brews. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    41
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food and Service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I try not to write a review until I have visited at least twice.
The food and service at Liberty Tap Room is as good as it gets.
Do not miss an opportunity to try the potato chips and blue cheese. It's an appetizer big enough for 3-4 people.
I would also say they have the best burgers in Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
David,
Thanks for visiting Liberty Tap Room in Mount Pleasant! We appreciate your kind comments on the Blue Cheese Chips appetizer and burgers. We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bar is the worst bar ever!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went there one night while in MT Pleasant as I am moving to the area mainly due to the tap list. Not unlike other Liberty Tap Rooms the wait staff, bartender and Manager were all drinking and flirting and it was just disgusting. The bar area is very dark and dingy and dirty. The bartenders and wait staff were more interested in getting shots and beer tastings from the manager then anything else. Trust me review tapes from the week of 7/14/14 and you will see. It was appalling. How can you run a Liberty tap Room and let employees drink and flirt all over each other and intend on being successful? Not to mention the Anchor Porter was sour and bad on tap. As with many of the other Liberty Tap Rooms the management control is severely lacking. Columbia got its act together...will this one? I will never return and I am a patron of the Greenville and Columbia locations at least twice monthly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Liberty Tap Room and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We can assure you that we will be looking further into your comments regarding this most recent experience, as responsible alcohol service is always a priority at any of our locations. In addition, offering every guest we encounter with high level of service and hospitality, paired with an equally impressive selection of fresh craft beers, is always our focus at any of our Liberty locations. We place great value in the feedback we receive from our guests and we will be reviewing your comments with our entire team as well, in order to learn from these clear mistakes, while improving the future experiences of our guests. We appreciate your comments and patronage of our Greenville and Columbia locations and we look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of the menu and the awesome food and desserts! The spaghetti special was very flavorful and the Chocolate Tollhouse Cookie Pie was the best dessert I have had in months!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Liberty Tap Room! We're glad you enjoyed the spaghetti special and cookie pie, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for my son's rehearsal dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Thursday, July 10th was the night of my son's rehearsal party. I worked with Mike Bell, the restaurant's manager and set up a special room for us to have the rehearsal dinner before his big day! The room was intimate enough that everyone from both sides of the family could get to know each other, but big enough that we didn't feel closed in or isolated. Our staff that night, Dani and Madison went the extra mile for us from running back and forth to get our drinks to making sure our dinner buffet was laid out, hot and ready to go. They added some wonderful decorative touches to the table and bar area that made the room look lovely. Dani went out of her way with the special homemade deserts that my sister brought in! Madison was very patient with our guests that were a little young. Our menu had a salad and sliders (so good!) for appetizers, pork loin and crab cakes for the entree and and rice pilaf and mashed potatoes for sides. Yes, those were all my son's choices. Everything was cooked to perfection and we had compliments from the guests on how much they enjoyed them.

It was a great experience and I look forward to going back when I don't have to play hostess but can enjoy the food and taste of few of the homemade brews that Liberty offers.

Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Liberty Tap Room for such a special occasion as your son's rehearsal dinner! It was our pleasure to serve your group, and we're happy to hear that you all were satisfied with the food, service, and atmosphere! We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Tap Room also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Liberty Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Tap Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.