We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd., Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for three years. We have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It is close to the Water Taxi so we can visit Charleston and not worry about parking. The breakfasts are very good too. We would strongly recommend this hotel for cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: Our room was 220 this year and was great. We've had rooms on the third and fourth floors and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write review of your stay with us. I always enjoy it when you are here. It's always so fun to talk to you both. I hope to see you next year.

Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    137
    33
    5
    5
See reviews for
170
155
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

lovely rooms nice and big very clean, big bathroom nice toiletries bath and body works. good selection at breakfast. front desk staff extremely welcoming and friendly always happy to help with anything, gave us good directions and suggestions. Raegan in particular stood out as she was always friendly and keen to make sure we were enjoying our stay. breakfast staff very efficient along with the cleaning staff they were also very friendly. nice reception area. pool area nice, pool was clean and quiet but the water was freezing! pool chairs clean.

the only negatives was the soundproofing. the walls were very thin we could hear the person next door coughing and talking and the door slamming! i agree with another reviewer that they should do something about the doors. maybe a polite notice about slamming doors or they could have a device on them so that they do close but quietly. we had people slamming doors late at night or really early in the morning.

overall a nice hotel great location not far from Charleston. lovely and clean. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry about the doors. Some people do tend to let them slam, but I will address this with maintenance in hopes that we can find a noise reducing solution.
I had such a good time talking to you both. I haven't quite mastered the accent, but I'm still working on it. :) I hope you both had a good vacation and I hope to see you again.

Reagan Simmons
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We used the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Mount Pleasant/Charleston for one of the hotels on our wedding block. We worked with Marianne and she was great to work with. We had to double check a few times regarding which guests were staying at the hotel but weren't appearing on our block. And a few of our guests didn't receive their welcome bags. Other then that the facilities are great, the hotel is new and serves free breakfast. Our guests were extremely happy with the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your time with us. I am sorry to hear that some of your guests didn't receive the welcome bags. If they were not booked within your wedding block and did not reference the wedding upon check in we would not have known they were with your group. But I am glad that the rest of your group's stay and the wedding were enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great rooms, very spacious and very clean. Spacious bathrooms.
Continental breakfast is very good, and has a larger selection than you would expect from a continental breakfast.
Distance to Charleston is just about 15 minutes and hotel is still close to several restaurants in the area.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklet, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the new HIE located in Mt Pleasant. The Staff greated us every time we passed someone in the halls as well as entering and exisitng the hotel. The room was nice and comfortable. I would suggest you take your own pillows. Even though the room had several "firm" pillows there was nothing supportive about it. My only complaint about my stay here really has nothing to do with the hotel itself. Other guests who arrived late at night and some leaving early the next morning had no shame in SLAMMING THE DOORS! The doors to the rooms shut behimd you automatically causing them to slam shut. Someone should rethink this. I sould suggest maybe a notice by the door reminding patrons to close door quietly. Again, the staff was great, room comfy,bring on pillows!
The location was awesome. We were attending 2 wedding that weekend at dfferent locations and were only 5 minutes away from each. This hotel was centrally located to all the places we visited including downtown, Shem Creek and Mt Pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you had a good experience with the staff and I'm happy the location was convenient for you. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise - September 14/15. The hotel was extremely clean, our room was excellent. Clean, well appointed. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a washer/dryer on site. We did not use the pool due to wanting to take advantage of shopping at the outlets. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

Breakfast was ok and certainly for not having to pay it did the trick. Healthier choices were available, though not a huge selection. But it was fine.

Special thanks to Raegan at the Front Desk. She was very helpful and always had a smile.

We would defnitely stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I am glad that I was able to assist you and I hope to do so again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We used this hotel for our wedding block and for our guests to use as a preferred wedding hotel. We loved having our guests so close to downtown, but they didn't have to hassle with all of the parking issues and one way streets just to get to their hotel. We had the deluxe King room and it was HUGE!!! Great staff and great breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your time with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Address: 350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd., Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#4 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Mount Pleasant, SC Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located at the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, only 3 miles from Historic Charleston, SC. Providing Southern charm and hospitality to business and leisure travelers alike, the newly designed state-of-the-art property is the first LEED certified hotel in South Carolina - which allows our guests the opportunity to take part in the new “green” initiatives. Situated between Isle of Palms, SC (one of the top 10 beaches of the South according to Southern Living), and Historic Downtown Charleston, SC, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites is within walking distance to the new Mt. Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park and perfectly positioned for exploring all of Charleston’s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.