We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay just outside of the hustle and bustle of Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Oaks Inn

Save Saved
You added Plantation Oaks Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Oaks Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1199 Long Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel amenities
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay just outside of the hustle and bustle of Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Plantation Oaks. The B&B was well laid out to give private areas for both guests and the inn keepers. Steve and Phyllis were great hosts. Attentive, and always willing to provide a wealth of local information. We were in the area looking for a home and Steve was able to give us great ideas on areas to look. Breakfast was always great and varied. The rooms were very nice, the feeling with the log cabin is "rustic" but the rooms are very well appointed comfortable.

The location is also perfect. Mount Pleasant is just across the river from down town Charleston, about a 15 minute ride to all of the sites. There are a wealth of nice restaurants just a few minutes away and a beautiful restored plantation within walking distance. There is easy access to the highway so that you can quickly get to where you need to go. The B&B sits right on the marsh area, so there are great views of the wild life from our room and from the breakfast room.

We're looking forward to staying at Plantation Oaks again on our next visit to the Charleston area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back looking over the marsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights to visit the Charleston area. It's a fantastic b and b certainly helped by the hosts cooking skills!
Impressed with the attention to detail that makes it extra special - freshly baked cookies in the hall and lounge to relax in the evening.
Location wise it only took us ten minutes to get into Charleston and the amount you save certainly makes it worth it. It's also well located for the plantations including Boone hall which is right next door.
Just a warning we drove past twice so look out for the big tree on the left just after rice planters coming from the 526.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Inn is very relaxing, the scenery and landscape are amazing. It's quiet and watching the sun rise and set on the marsh is amazing. Steve is a great inn Keeper. He is friendly and attentative to your needs. Once he found out I was a vegetarian, he made sure that I had breakfast i could enjoy by adding some morning star sausage to my plate!! Great added touch!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved the beautiful property and all the nature surrounding us. It was a quiet, comfortable, peaceful and quite clean. Our breakfast was delicious and a very generous portions, too. Steve recommended we see the Angel Oak on our way home and we are so glad we did, thanks!!!! Thank you for making our anniversary trip special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Steve and Phyllis are great people and fantastic cooks! Breakfast each morning was so delicious and kept us "fueled" for the busy day ahead. The queen bed in our room was very comfortable (and I am very hard to please!!). There was a "sleep mate" under the bed to add white noise, which was a nice touch. They have 5 rooms and all were filled most of the time we were there but we were NEVER disturbed by anyone's noise. The noise level was almost zero. Occasionally we heard a door close but nothing to disturb our sleep at all. They are in a great location. Steve recommended several good restaurants and also they have free passes to 3 museums/homes if you stay with them two or more nights. That was a nice 'plus' for us. Don't hesitate to stay here; you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hospitality was wonderful, we were given expert advice on what to see and where to eat from someone who has lived in the area and had a B&B for quite some time. Our room was lovely, air conditioned, charmingly decorated with amenities. Breakfasts were delicious, cookies in the daytime were a nice touch. The grounds lended themselves to relaxation and charm of the area. Proximity to Isle of Palms, Charleston and local attractions such as the plantations and Tea factory were a plus. We would definately return here for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a great place to stay; we even stayed a few extra nights. The king bed in our room was so soft; you can tell it was a very high quality mattress. Our room was lovely and immaculate. Steve was very pleasant and welcoming his wife Phyllis was very sweet. The full breakfast was so, so good. Phyllis bakes such wonderful cookies for a snack. Kelly the girl who works at the inn is so sweet and she is a hard worker. Kelly kept our room and the inn immaculate; you could tell she took pride in the inn. We relaxed in the common areas which are very inviting and relaxing. Thank you Steve , Phyllis and Kelly for making our stay one to remember with fond memories.
We loved the fact that this is an adult only inn; big plus for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Oaks Inn

Address: 1199 Long Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Oaks Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the historic property of what was once part of Snee Farm Plantation that was owned by Charles Pinckney signer of the United States Constitution, this luxurious log exterior bed and breakfast is surrounded by 300-year-old oak trees and features a tidal creek and marsh backdrop. There are five cozy guest rooms available, all individually decorated. Whether you seek a comfortable guestroom for your out of town guests or a romantic getaway for yourself, we have the right accommodations for you. Each room is named for symbols of South Carolina and Low Country living. All of our guest rooms have a private bathroom. Whether it's relaxation or recreation, Plantation Oaks Inn in Mt. Pleasant is ideally located for your vacation outings in the Charleston area with many places of interest. At the same time, you will find the peace and quiet you need to relax from the stresses and strains of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Oaks Hotel Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Oaks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.