We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the oaks drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boone Hall Plantation

Boone Hall Plantation
1235 Long Point Rd., Highway 17 North, Mount Pleasant, SC 29465
843/884-4371
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the oaks drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best thing about Boone Hall is the oaks drive. The house is nice and you only get to tour the ground floor. It's only been there since 1939. The fourth house on the location. The slave quarters is a very good history lesson. Not sure it's worth $20 per person

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    429
    124
    53
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Whereas Boone Hall is a very old plantation when it comes to farming and some of the out buildings, the home was built in 1936. It's very nice but you only see 4 rooms and entrance hall, all on the main floor. We didn't get to see the dock area because a wedding was being held there. It was nice that the entrance price included everything (house tour, driving tour around plantation, slave quarters, garden, etc) and the staff was very nice and informative. But if your wanting to see a real plantation home, you need to go somewhere else

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Plantation and Gullah Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Beautiful entrance to this plantation with the live oaks guiding you in. The house tour was nice, but as they tell you numerous times, this is the fourth house on the site. Roaming around on our own and visiting the beautiful gardens, the brick slave houses, and the cotton dock was very fun. We could move at our own pace and take our time where we wanted. The Gullah talk was very interesting and very informational. Our presenter was very engaging and talented. The "wagon" tour of the grounds was also very good. I would recommend allowing at least 3-4 hours for your visit to the plantation to fit everything into your schedule.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The drive was breathtaking, going down the mile lane. I went here with my sons JROTC group and loved every minute we spent here. I definitely suggest trying the fried peanuts sold in the little cafe on the property. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the home. They kept talking about how this was the site for part of the movie "The Notebook", but I was more impressed with the movie/book "Queen" by Alex Haley. If you watch this movie, make sure to notice the variety of rooms they did a lot of the beginning of the film here and it was kind of thrilling knowing that Halle Berry who portrayed Queen, was on this property too. It is like stepping back in time. My youngest will be taking this tour too when he goes in April of this year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westernport, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful mansion.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a mixed time here, but I still am rating this one as very good. Here is why. The plantation itself is gorgeous and you will immediately recognize the "Avenue of Oaks" as you come into the plantation site. The house is also beautiful, but is from the 20th Century (1930s) and thus if you are interested in homes from the antebellum era, this is not your place. They do have several original brick slave dwellings in which they have done a very nice job creating a museum to African American history that progresses through time as you move from cabin to cabin. Additionally, there is a butterfly pavilion and cotton gin on site. Here is why I was disappointed: I was there on an overcast day, but not rainy (while there was a forecast for rain). Specifically, I wanted to participate in the guided "Slave Walk" that talks about the history of slavery and archeology currently being done there as well as the "Gullah Culture" presentation. On the bulletin they gave me coming in, it listed times for each. I showed up for the Slave Walk and no guide ever showed up....I even waited for 15 extra minutes. I then went to where it said the Gullah Culture presentation was, waited, and then no presentation ever occurred. The 25 of us that were sitting there decided to leave after 15 minutes and then we noticed a sign towards the front that said it had been moved......but no one had told us and we were already too late. The gift shop and restaurant are also currently closed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone Hall Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.