We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to spend a couple of hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boone Hall Plantation

Boone Hall Plantation
1235 Long Point Rd., Highway 17 North, Mount Pleasant, SC 29465
843/884-4371
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to spend a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stopped off at this plantation en route to NC from Charleston. While I appreciate what the writer below wrote, I nonetheless enjoyed the visit. Yes, there isn't as much of the house to see as one would like, and the gardens were not at their best. But I did manage the trip around the plantation and visiting the accommodation for the slaves was interesting and thought inspiring. While there may be better places for the money, it did fit in with our plans - perhaps if we drove there especially we may have felt differently.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    430
    124
    53
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“WINE UNDER THE OAKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Boone Hall is reportedly one of the most photographed attractions in the US of A. It certainly gets traffic in the SC low country! This year we returned to Boone Hall for the house tour, Christmas decorations, and 10th Anniversary "Wine Under The Oaks" event. What a huge time and a lovely place; a bit of colonial history hanging around to give a tangible experience of bygone days. Add a great event like Wine Under The Oaks and Boone Hall is history with a buzz. The cool, mucky weather lightened up enough to keep us from getting wet and did not dampen our spirits, the event, or the day. Maybe it was the choice of wines for tasting that distracted the happy crowd. Event or not Boone Hall is a lovely place to visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We (a party of five) visited the plantation with the understanding that the price included a visit with the house tour, the slave cabins, the plantation coach tour, and the plantation garden. Upon entering the grounds at the entry station we inquired about taking the coach tour of the plantation and wanted to make sure that it was available. The admitting guard told us that the tours would be running, starting at 9:30am and to stand in front of the Butterfly Cafe. After waiting 30 minutes outside across from the cafe, and still no coach or driver in site, two of our party went to the information building to inquire. They were told that the tour was cancelled because of the rain (from the day before) --- even though there was no problem admitting us to the grounds, driving within the grounds in our car, and walking on the plantation with no problem! At the information center we expressed our displeasure and were offered no resolution or partial refund. We basically saw maybe a few acres out of a hundreds of acres plantation. Moreover the house tour covered just 4 rooms-the entrance hall, a library, a dining room, and a breezeway where the tour ended. Not much to see unless you like to see books on a shelf or a piano. No other rooms were allowed entrance. In fact the guide said the upper level was not allowed for the tour because the current owners lived there when they were in town. I imagine that they count all the money that they abscond from these tours when they are in town. The slave quarters are cabins that look pretty much alike (about 6 or 7). The gardens were pretty sparse, maybe because this was November. We all agreed that for the time we wasted and the money we spent, other activities in Charleston would have been more enjoyable. Just another overly-hyped tourist trap.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea Ky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A very nice stop while in this area, this beautiful old home was very interesting and a wonderful photo op!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting tour site close to Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Although we've visited Charleston numerous times for my husband's college reunion, we had not visited Boone Hall. It's worth a visit, especially if the weather's good, and you can enjoy the open bus tour around the plantation. This is included in your admission, as is a tour of the house. The present house is built on the site of the original farm house, and is probably fancier than the original. The house is furnished with antiques from the Civil War era, as well as other time periods. The most interesting part of the visit is the row of historic slave cabins which date from the time when the plantation was much larger, and produced cotton and pecans. The cabins were used for the slaves who worked in and around the farm house. There are scheduled live presentations in these cabins as well as audio presentations. Also on the plantations grounds are its original smoke house, and its cotton gin. There is an interesting butterfly pavilion, and also a café with a limited menu, but delicious home made ice cream.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone Hall Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.