We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boone Hall Plantation

Boone Hall Plantation
1235 Long Point Rd., Highway 17 North, Mount Pleasant, SC 29465
843/884-4371
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Step back in time at Boone Hall Plantation. I have been here several times. It's exciting to think about all of the history. Take the tour!! You learn so much and it makes the entire experience worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    476
    132
    59
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“History and Romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first time to a plantation and really didn't know what to expect. I have always wanted to see the live oak trees. A breathtaking view that has to be seen in person. This plantation presents a lot of culture and the best way to experience this culture is by seeing the live presentation at "Exploring The Gullah Culture" which is located on the grounds. The lady does an excellent job educating and entertaining the audience. The presentation provides a better understanding of who and what Gullah Culture is.
Every tour that is offered provides additional information. The coach tour of the grounds showed us the crops that this working plantation provides the local community. (Down the road from the plantation is their market where their produce is available for purchase). It is nice to see and hear of the prior crops this plantation grew and the recent ones it now grows. This plantation keeps up with the times and bridges the past with the present.
Besides the historical education offered by the plantation they have a diverse variety of special events and festivals presented throughout the year. Next time I return I will return to experience a special event.
Speaking of special events while we were there a wedding was being performed and as a visitor on the grounds the wedding did not keep guests from seeing any parts of the grounds in addition to witnessing the wedding (from a far as to not interrupt the ceremony) The wedding added to the romantic beauty of the plantation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of 4 with kids and we went there early in the afternoon last 1st of September. The place is beautiful and we got a proper idea of how life was last century and how it worked the Plantation. Really good the guy working as Guide in the Bus along the Plantation. Beautiful. Really. The only thing we didn't like was: mosquitos. A lot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good but I hoped for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I thought we would get to see a real plantation. You really just see a dining and living room and then a farm. Our guide around the farm was excellent and the slave cabins were fascinating and full of facts but the activities aren't often enough and there isn't a lot of organization. It's pretty though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great historical place with phenomenal views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was better than advertised. Breath making views that started with the oak avenue as you enter the property and never seemed to stop. Really good place to visit if you are at all interested in history. I would suggest that you do the carriage tour, very informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone Hall Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.