We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Using my airlines mileage award points, booked a one night stay. Have mixed feelings about this place.
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, close to Patriot's Point, water taxi to downtown Charleston, local shuttle service and private pier/beach area.
Cons: Overpriced rooms (would have spent over 200 dollars if I stayed as normal guest) I can't imagine paying $200 for a room and then on top of it be billed for an activity fee of $10.
Construction next door and it could ruin the ability to relax (didn't bother me but I can't speak for others)

Would not recommend this place for a family destination while in Charleston due to the price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip to Charleston. There are many lodging options here in the low country and we are honored you selected us. I can assure you our room rates are very fair within the Charleston market. There is a resort fee that is $12/day and covers the bike rentals. trolley, fitness center, wifi, parking, and beach games. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for a chance to "Wow" you on your return trip to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    223
    125
    67
    48
See reviews for
194
387
31
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I arrived here on a Wed. for two days in Charleston. We were a bit apprehensive that we were across the Cooper River, but booked based on the reviews we read. We were thrilled with our stay. The staff was very friendly, the room was large and comfortable, and the resort offered so much. We took advantage of the free shuttle to downtown.....several times a day! It saved us significant parking costs, saved us the cost of the water taxi, and it was a quick enjoyable ride. The guys who drove the shuttle were friendly and informative. The resort itself had a nice pool area, a workout area, and a restaurant on site. We fell in love the city and totally enjoyed our stay at this resort. We would surely stay here again.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle to go back and forth...Eat at Nicks BBQ on King St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review. Your details regarding your stay were great and much appreciated, The highlights you mentioned and some of our greatest attributes and we are thrilled you were able to take advantage of them. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was quite the disappointment. The price was high, the view was lacking (not the habor), the room looked like someone from 1983 beach motifs decorated it, the restaurants closed early and were way overpriced and the staff was less than helpful. I can honestly say that I would not recommend that anyone venture that far out of Charleston proper for the cost.
Our room smelled like it had some water damage and aside from the nice bathtub, was a loss on the trip. My husband and I spent most of our time out of the room and adventuring around the city, we went back to the room for sleep only.
Again a big disappointment for the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us, but it also brings us great disappointment to read your review. We truly regret you were so dissatisfied with the resort and hope you were able to speak with management before you departed. Our three dinning options of The Fish House, The Reel Bar, and room service all stop serving food at the same time of 10pm. Please accept our apology regarding the odor in the room and hopefully housekeeping was able to remove the smell in a timely manner.

I promise that your return visit will be the exact opposite experience and we certainly hope for a chance to redeem ourselves one day. Thank you for the feedback and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Construction noise didn't bother me, room was spot less. The location was Excellent!!! The heated pool was awesome, no deep ends great for kids. Services was excellent, no hassle getting few more hours till check out. I think price should be $120's

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very for the kind words regarding our service and clean rooms. Achieving excellence in those two categories is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate you highlighting them. The construction from 9 - 5:30, Monday - Friday does get a little noisy, it's good to hear it wasn't bothersome to your party. It will be quite peaceful when the expansion has ended and we hope you return when that time arrives. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A great resort in Charleston for the money. Could use some cosmetic upgrades, but is an overall nice resort for what you pay considering the area's normal hotel/resort rates. I got a good rate and they even upgraded my room because I was there for College of Charleston Sailing, which has their marina just down the dock from the resort

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip here with College of Charleston sailing. Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It seems like the reviews for the resort are all over the place, from horrible to exceptional. We stayed for 3 nights, and overall had a good experience. We arrived early (about 1PM), and let the front desk know we were aware we were early, but just asked for a parking pass and to let us know whenever the room was ready. After politely checking back a time or 2, I finally got a phone call at 5PM. Thankfully we had family already checked in, or my patience would have worn thin. There is construction, but the noise doesn't start until 9AM or so. I love the reviews that complain about dated rooms *and* the construction -- pretty hard to fix one without the other!! We enjoyed the bikes on property, and had a nice ride all around the property and surrounding area. Food at the Reel Bar and Fish House next door were great. Enjoyed the rainfall showerhead and jetted tub in our room. Nothing exceptional, but no major complaints either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us this positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apology for not getting you checked in at our check-in time of 4pm. Good thing you had other family there to save the day! Speaking of family we are thrilled you chose our property for your family getaway. We certainly try to achieve an inviting family oriented environment here at the resort. The resort currently has construction going on as we are making a wonderful expansion to the current property. So there is construction noise going on from 9am - 5:30pm. We hope for a chance to impress you even more on your return trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Although I have been to the Charleston area many times this is my first visit to the Charleston Harbor and Resort Hotel. It is a bit isolated from the rest of Mt. Pleasant but that is a good thing. The hotel sits right on the active port and harbor of Charleston and the view from the room is of the Charleston skyline on the other shore.

This property is near the USS Yorktown and the marina and yacht club so the ambiance is definitely seafaring. The decorating around the hotel carries the water theme and the hotel features original works of art throughout the property............a very nice touch.

Although meal service is limited compared to the big hotel chains, there is adequate food service and, of course, a Polynesian themed tiki bar on the sandy beach. There is a large fitness room, which I intend to use before departing and the hotel staff is polite and well trained.

The rooms are nicely appointed, some with balconies facing the harbor and small. However, the room is certainly comfortable and fresh looking decorated in yellow and blue. The ocean theme continues in the room along with original acrylic works of art on the walls.

Although this is my first stay at this property it will not be my last.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the harbor for best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We know there are many lodging option in Charleston and are quite grateful you chose our property. You described the resort well and we hope it aids people in their decision making. We do decorate the interior in a nautical theme, thank you for pointing that out. The large fitness center you speak of is brand new. It is seldom used, so please utilize it! We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the Charleston Harbor lies a hidden oasis. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina is a harbor front sanctuary that allows you to relax your mind, explore your imagination, indulge your senses, and invites you to relive the historic past that is Charleston. With its uncommon blend of unique low country culture, exciting downtown revelry, and resort style pampering, the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina offers a vacation experience like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Harbour Resort And Marina
Charleston Harbour Resort & Marina Hotel Mount Pleasant
Charleston Harbor Resort Marina
Charleston Harbor Hotel Marina
Hilton Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.