We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We came for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just returned from spending 4 days for our honeymoon. We found that this location was spot on for all of the amenities. The location is ideal, the views were fabulous and the service was out of this world. We had a balcony room and found ourselves spending a lot of our time just out on the balcony in the early morning and the evening enjoy the quiet and the view. The trolley service made it so that we didn't have to drive anywhere. The staff there were always there to accommodate whatever the need and answer any questions at any time. We loved the decor as well since it gave a sort of homey feel. We have already started talking about our next trip.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the balcony room. Its the right feel for this type of location. Lots of quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Congratulations on your nuptials, we are all very excited for y'all, and hope nothing but the best in future. We are honored you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon adventure. It sounds like everything went well, which is music to our ears. Your review was wonderful and we are very appreciative of that. Hopefully the readers enjoy your review as much as we did. Thank you very much for everything and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    224
    125
    67
    48
See reviews for
194
388
31
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I came to Charleston for business but came 2 days earlier for leisure to explore the area. The location of this hotel at Patriots Point was terrific with beautiful views of the Harbor. Really enjoyed walking on the pier and the pool and outdoor areas were very nice. The decor of the rooms are pretty, but I do agree with some other reviews about the small bathrooms and stains in the hallways. I didn't eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the restaurant or room service. For the price, I thought the hotel was great and very much met my expectations. The property is very nice and the hotel seems to provide a lot of nice services that I did not use (bikes, trolley services, tickets for tours of the USS Yorktown etc). Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. It is very rewarding to hear your experience here went so well. Next time you stay we hope its for longer so you are able to take advantage of the resort amenities you mentioned. We are grateful for your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

the price value ratio is very poor. rooms are small, swimming pool was overcrowded and the so called beach did not allow access to the sea. the internet worked only part time and was very weak. we will not use this hotel again. the hotel charges an additionl fee for alleged touristic services which are, however, only regular hotel service. we stayed 4 nights in the hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are very appreciative that you chose to stay with us on your family trip to Charleston. However it brings us great dismay that you were left with such a negative opinion of the resort. We are thankful of the feedback you provided as we can only improve on the problems when we are able to hear about them. We do not advertise that we have ocean access at our beach, we clearly state that it is a man made beach with no ocean access. The internet always work but at times due to heavy usage it may operate at a slower pace, we do apologize for that. The resort fee covers bike rentals, Ollie the Trolley (and its many stops), 24 hours coffee & tea station, wifi, and parking. We hope you return to Charleston again, if you do we hope you choose us, and give us a shot to redeem ourselves. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We wanted something a little different from downtown. It's a great setting and still convenient to all Charleston has to offer. Our trip was short, but we were able to do a day around Mt. Pleasant and a day in Charleston. Our room was clean, spacious on right above the pool. We enjoyed a walk out on the pier at dusk, which has a great view of the sunset and the downtown lights and skyline. The staff was very helpful and engaging. The trolley worked out well to downtown. The Point has lots of public areas for riding bikes and a public golf course. We would go back again with the kids.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here at the resort and truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in their service and knowledge of the area and the kind words you had reagarding the service you received is much appreciated. We like to boast that we have a fantastic family oriented atmosphere at the resort. When you return with your family we look forward to delivering another memorable stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice property and location, albeit it a little pricey. We got the Deluxe Sumter Suite and really enjoyed it. Separate sleeping area and sitting room as well as one and a half baths. We saw dolphins out front on several occasions. Easy walk on the boardwalk past the marina over to the USS Yorktown, etc. They have a free trolley into town and the water taxi picks up right out front at Dock A. The Reel Bar is very nice and the pub fare is good. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina. Also booking our Sumter Suite is a very great choice as our suites are well worth the extra cost. We have 3 Sumter Suites, 2 Studio Suites, and the Admiral Suite. The feedback you provided will be very informative to readers as it does describe a lot of the highlights of our resort. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed our amnenties and location. The dolphins hang out around our marina year round and we consider them neighbors. So we are glad you were able to meet our neighbors. We appreciate the great review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel staff, was honestly were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
When we checked in, the manager went through all of our options for activities. *** Be careful scheduling the activities though the hotel. They give you a small discount, but then charge tax. It actually costs you MORE to go through them. We scheduled the USS Yorktown tour. ***
We ordered a whirlpool room. When we walked in, it was a whirlpool tub, for one person. We never would have reserved if we had known. They did give us a balcony upgrade for the issue.
The bathroom leaked, the second night. The people above did something. The maintenance men was very quick to get there, clean up and take care of the issue. They were great!
The refrigerator did not stay cold. The threshold between the bathroom and the room was missing and i cut my toe.
Mollly the Blue Trolley was very convenient. They needed later hours though.
The hotel was nice. It was not run down, to me. However, It was NOT worth what they were charging.
Patriots Point was great to just walk around in. Away from the hustle of Charleston itself.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are nice. But what they charge, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We greatly appreciate the kind words you had for our staff and truly appreciate your business. It is great to hear that our engineering team was able resolve your issues in a timely manner. Unfortunately the issues did occur and we do apologize for that.

In regards to our tour vouchers that we sale at the front desk. They are available at any time, at a discounted rate. We have ticket vouchers for Boone Hall Plantation, the USS Yorktown, Fort Sumter Tours, Old South Carriage Tours, South Carolina Aquarium, and The Charleston Water Taxi. They are absolutely cheaper if you buy them through us. The tour operators do sale senior citizen tickets themselves, so if that is the case then it is cheaper to go through them. Any other situation we do encourage the tickets be bought though us as our vouchers are sold at a discounted amount. We are not sure where the misunderstanding came about, but we do apologize for any confusion.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we wish you thought the price value was accurate. Please give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next stay in the lowcountry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Charleston Harbor R&M while visiting Charleston, we wanted a nice quiet place to unwind after a busy day in the city. This location filled the bill, we had a nice view overlooking the harbor, the room was a little small but we were sight seeing most of the day so didn't really mind. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional, my only disappointment was the breakfast, I felt it was quite over priced for what we got - only ate there once and there after chose a restaurant a short distance away to have breakfast. If I were in the area again I would use this hotel again but maybe upgrade to the deluxe room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher floors the view will be better. If you're looking for a larger room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are delighted to hear you found the resort so relaxing and a great place to unwind. That is one of our biggest advantages over other Charleston properties. The Patriots Point area is a great location with plenty of attractions and our property sits at the very end of it facing Charleston harbor and the historic downtown. The peaceful scene here at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina is what we are going for. Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the Charleston Harbor lies a hidden oasis. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina is a harbor front sanctuary that allows you to relax your mind, explore your imagination, indulge your senses, and invites you to relive the historic past that is Charleston. With its uncommon blend of unique low country culture, exciting downtown revelry, and resort style pampering, the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina offers a vacation experience like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Harbour Resort And Marina
Charleston Harbour Resort & Marina Hotel Mount Pleasant
Charleston Harbor Resort Marina
Charleston Harbor Hotel Marina
Hilton Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.