We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, AVOID until construction is done. (Jan 2013)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, AVOID until construction is done. (Jan 2013)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and we really love the property. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are beautiful and well priced. The harbor view is PHENOMENAL! Absolutely the best spot in the city for the view. The upgrade is totally worth it and you will be so glad you did.

This time we stayed in January of 2013 and the construction made our stay less than pleasant on a few occasions. A large part of what makes this property so enjoyable is the amenities, plus the dining/bar. Because of some very heavy construction the downstairs was almost completely intolerable. Even in our room on the third floor construction noise was clearly audible. Paint spattered construction workers as far as the eye can see, shouting at each other in Spanish, does nothing for ambiance. Steer clear until they clean up and you will LOVE this place.

Room Tip: Harbor view is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    202
    113
    56
    46
See reviews for
184
348
27
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. We were visiting family and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Cleanliness is so important because I have bad allergies. The bed was almost as good as home :)! Even in the winter it was beautiful at sunrise and sunset and so relaxing to be on the water. I would highly recommend this gem if you are looking for a quiet, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful property, excellent service, great price. Free trolley into town was a real plus!!! We were upgraded to a bay view room and the staff was awesome. You will read reviews about the bathroom being too small but we found the room to be very accomodating and comfortable. We will stay here again and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

From a very picky person - VERY clean, staff was nice and helpful, GREAT location and GREAT view of the Yorktown and the Cooper Bridge from our balcony. We hope to go back soon and would stay with them again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at your facility was exceptionally pleasing. Our room was exactly as we had reserved and the room was in perfect condition. We received turn down service and whoopi pies w/o a request! What a nice touch, very impressive. We are planning more quick getaways to the Charleston area and we will definitely stay with you again. A+ service, 5 star Hotel!!
If I had to make a suggestion, I would recommend more lighting in the Guest parking Lot.
Sincerely,
Clarence

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony, those that do, have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

THis hotel is decent. Cleaner than a lot of hotels I have been in recently. It is somewhat dated and I would not recommend the food in the restaurant or bar. Hotel staff is friendly. Nice quiet location but somewhat remote as you cannot walk to shopping or restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Where to begin? First of all, this is a kid friendly resort--so if you're looking for quiet, maturity and romance-this place is not for you.
The rooms are overdone. Too much...yellow! The walls, the bedspread, the curtains, the shower curtain! Too much matchy matchy! The room was a moderate size, but no refrigerator. The coffee maker is a single cup size. On the plus side, there is am coffee in the lobby, but I like milk in my coffee (thus the desire for a fridge).
The fitness center is off site. Not convenient for those of us who like to work out at 5am...the local place which honors guests doesn't open until 8. What does it take to convert a room to a fitness center?
The place needs tighter, more professional management. The daily events schedule for Thursday was never replaced on Friday...
This visit was a fluke--next time we'll go back to Wild Dunes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#7 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the Charleston Harbor lies a hidden oasis. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina is a harbor front sanctuary that allows you to relax your mind, explore your imagination, indulge your senses, and invites you to relive the historic past that is Charleston. With its uncommon blend of unique low country culture, exciting downtown revelry, and resort style pampering, the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina offers a vacation experience like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Harbour Resort & Marina Hotel Mount Pleasant
Charleston Harbour Resort And Marina
Charleston Harbor Resort Marina
Charleston Harbor Hotel Marina
Hilton Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.