We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Visiting the area to celebrate our anniversary. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The beds were soooo comfortable. Would have been nice to have had a small fridge in the room. Loved the shuttle service and got some great restaurant tips from the drivers. I left my battery charger plugged in one of the outlets the day we checked out, called from Magnolia Plantation and someone was sent up to room to retrieve it and they called me back to let me know they had found it and held it at the front desk so we could pick up on our way out of town. Had a mean margarita at Reel Bar which was enjoyed from the rocking chairs while watching the boats pass by. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent visit here at the Charleston Harbor Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed our resort amenities while staying with us. All our Deluxe Rooms are equipped with refrigerators so please feel free to ask for availability the next time you return to the “Holy City”. Once again on behalf of all staff members thank you very much for choosing the Charleston Harbor Resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon.


Best regards


Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    224
    125
    67
    48
See reviews for
194
388
31
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Beautiful location and view of the peninsula. Lovely pool area and sandy "beach" area with boardwalks and docks to stroll on. Loved these features!!! Pool staff were VERY FRIENDLY and helpful. Loved our sweet waitress who served lunch and drinks poolside. Cushioned pool lounge chairs were sooo comfy!!

The room was partly redone- not sure if the carpet was in transit or the bedding/curtains. Did not match at all! Hall way carpeting on our floor was very dated, but I think they are in the process of a remodel. The beds were SUPER comfortable!!!!

Our 2nd floor windows were really, really dirty - hard to see out of actually. But maybe since our room was on the parking lot side, and not the "room with a view side" they are not as attentive to the windows... still, that could use some attention.

Overall, I LOVED my time here! I would gladly recommend it! I can deal with the mismatched carpet and upholstery to get the view and outdoor amenities. I mean how much time does one really spend in the room??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
On behalf of all our staff members I’d like to thank you for your comments here on Tripavisor. Your comments are very valuable for us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with future guests at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina.
Our property is in deed a hidden gem and not comparable with any other properties located so close to historic Charleston as we are. Many of our guests give us great feedback about our comfortable beds. A recently traveler described the beds as “floating on a cloud”  I have noticed your comments about the windows and I am extremely delighted to inform you that we will continue most definitely continue our process of upgrading all our rooms including the windows.
Please feel free to contact me directly so I can assist you in finding the most suitable room for you including the décor as all our room are decorated individually.
Once again, thank you for choosing the Charleston Harbor Resort and we look forward to welcome you back soon again.


Kind regards

Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

We came down for our honeymoon and got the Romance on the Water Deluxe Package, and we loved every minute of our stay! When we got there, we had a bottle of chilled champagne, 6 beautiful long stem roses, and delicious chocolate covered strawberries waiting on us in our room. Then we also got a Delicious Champagne breakfast in bed one morning and also a Sunset dinner for the two of us in our room which was very very nice! Everything about the hotel wowed us and our room which was the Admiral Sweet was just breathtaking! It had wonderful views of the Charleston Harbor, the city of Charleston, and also of the USS Yorktown and the big bridge that takes you into Charleston! We loved every minute of our stay! Also The staff was all wonderful, expecially Daniel Herrmann, one of the managers, and very helpful if you had a question about anything, and they just made you feel very welcome! We are definally planning on returning to the Resort for a future visit! We give the resort two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your terrific review and the time you have taken to post your comments about your recent experience here at the Charleston Harbor Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that your Romance on the Water Deluxe Experience was a great success and that you enjoyed your time here in Charleston and at the resort. This package is really a great option for honeymooners or just any love birds who would like to have a little romantic getaway. Our Admiral suite is in deed our most desirable suite as it offers the breathtaking 180 degree view including stunning sunsets.

It was my pleasure to assist you throughout the process in making this an extra special and memorable honeymoon trip for you and your husband.

In today’s ever growing online world, comments like yours are vital to our success.
Once again we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you back soon but hopefully no later than your 1st anniversary  Please feel free to contact me directly and I’ll be happy to assist you again.

We wish you a marriage filled with love and joy.

Yours sincerely


Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I wish that hotels would get rid of this ridiculous fee! If they need to charge more for a room, then up the rates! It's not like the resort fee is an option. I checked in at 8:30 pm, and out the next morning and used no "resort" amenities.

The hotel was fine, staff were friendly, no issues. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very delighted to see your great ratings. We do hope to welcome you back soon again for a longer time which will allow you to actually enjoy some of our great resort activities and amenities.

Best regards

Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Booked through priceline, and could have not been more pleased with the location. Stunning, right on the water and marina... beautiful views from our balcony. Slightly outdated decor, but the most comfy bed. We slept wonderfully! Tons of entertainment including pool, beach area, ladderball, bocce, corn hole, and fire pits. We didn't have time to enjoy these but looked like tons of fun. Enjoyed our stay at Charleston Harbor!

Room Tip: book through priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
I’d like to thank you on behalf of the crew here at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina. Your comments and time you have taken are much appreciated are vital to our success.
We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the stunning views over the water and marina from your harbor view room with a balcony. The moments will definitely stay in your memories. We do hope that when you return the next time to our resort you will get to enjoy all the resort amenities you discovered now already which are in deed tons of fun.
Please feel free to contact me directly the next time when you return and I will be happy to assist you in getting the full experience of Charleston and the resort.

Best regards

Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Visited with my wife and extended family in from Germany. The staff was very caring and helpful. Mr. Herrmann, Front Office Manager, took time to visit with our quests and was able to communicate in fluent German to make them feel welcome. The welcome continued with our check in, Christine was especially helpfull in getting us settled into our rooms and had excellent advise on area restaurants and activities. The spacious rooms were a delight, very comfortable and contained all the amenities you would expect from a top level hotel. We especially enjoyed the fantistic location, views of the Charleston Harbor were spectacular! The outdoor viranda was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the Charleston experience. And the dining is fantastic, make sure to visit the restaurant for some very good food and great service. From start to finish this is one of the best places to stay while in Charleston!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your review here on tripadvisor. Your time you have taken to share your recent experience here at the Charleston Harbor Resort with future travelers to the Holy City. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time and that our staff was able to assist you with your needs. Our team is definitely very international which allows us to communicate currently in several languages including German, Dutch, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Indonesian. We do hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina.


Kind regards


Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Charleston Harbor Resort for a few days while waiting to move into my new house. The room was very nicely decorated. I really love the bright yellow paint and nautical touches throughout. The staff were very friendly and patient with all of my questions, being a new comer to Charleston.

The location is fantastic. I really liked being able to sit outside, on the beach area, and watch the container ships come in to the port. A couple of times I even saw dolphins! I appreciated that the resort had a trolley that I could take back and forth to downtown. It was nice not to have to fight for parking.

The restaurant is great too. The shrimp and grits are my favorite! BUT I loved the Mahi tacos in the bar too. Overall I can't say enough good things about Charleston Harbor. I'm already planning a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMCHRM, Front Office Manager at Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
On behalf of all our staff members I’d like to thank you for your extensive feedback. We are very delighted to have you as a return guest and certainly hope to welcome you back again here at the Charleston Harbor Resort although you are a local residence now  Once again thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to provide your “home away from home” while looking for your own place here in the Holy City. And remember the Real Bar or Indigo Grill will always be open for locals as well so you can continue enjoying the low country shrimp & grits as well as the mahi tacos.

Best regards


Daniel Herrmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the Charleston Harbor lies a hidden oasis. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina is a harbor front sanctuary that allows you to relax your mind, explore your imagination, indulge your senses, and invites you to relive the historic past that is Charleston. With its uncommon blend of unique low country culture, exciting downtown revelry, and resort style pampering, the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina offers a vacation experience like none other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Harbour Resort And Marina
Charleston Harbour Resort & Marina Hotel Mount Pleasant
Charleston Harbor Resort Marina
Charleston Harbor Hotel Marina
Hilton Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.