We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the bathroom!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MainStay Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
U.K
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Let down by the bathroom!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location was great close to Shem Creek,staff were good with recommendations for dinner etc,breakfast was ok parties,donuts,cereals,juices etc but all these we're let down by the bathrooms which could have been cleaner and a lot smarter.
Overall good value for the area but I don't think I would stay again.
Also parking is insufficient when they are busy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Roscoe the Otter,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites. We regret that the bathroom did not meet your expectations. It is unusual for us to receive a complaint about bathroom cleanliness, but please know that we address them seriously. Thank you for acknowledging the helpfulness of our staff and the close proxmity to Shem creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    8
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just returned from a six night stay at this facility. The staff, from the front desk to housekeeping was helpful, pleasant, and friendly. The amenities provided such as computer/printer set-up in the lobby, lobby lounge, and patio areas really enhanced the visit.For the price point, an excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Hazie S.
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites. We hope that you enjoyed your trip into the beautiful low country and that you will return again soon. We appreciated you writing a review and acknowledging our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very happy with our stay here. First of all, the hotel is not situated right along the major highway. It is about a block back off so not so noisy yet still very convenient to Coleman Blvd where a lot of the great restaurants are including those on Shem Creek. Everything in order upon check in and staff was always friendly and helpful as well as very upbeat despite the busy Labor Day weekend. The lobby is comfy and welcoming. There is a very nice, rectangular lap-type pool and a beautiful landscaped area is available for those who wish to grill or picnic as well as a pond. Palmettos line the pool. All areas, inside and out, were immaculate. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a living area and full size kitchen with a cookstove, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. Cookware, plates, utensils etc were clean and abundant. Everything worked well including the 3 TV's and free internet. Free breakfast with all the regular items and included boiled eggs, toaster items, etc. Wonderful 'southern' atmosphere here too!

Room Tip: Our front parking lot facing room windows were views of beautiful crepe myrtles in bloom. The left b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Citysplitter,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. You did a good job of describing the location and surroundings. We hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is bad, very bad, the only good thing I can say about the hotel is how their is two bathrooms in the rooms, and a television in every room. Some of the channels didn't work on their television, they didn't have enough parking and enough places to sit in breakfast, and it was cold! Maid service never came to my hotel room, the swimming pool was a joke. This hotel is terrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Andrew T,
We regret that the Mainstay Suites did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that we did not adequately explain that our hotel is an extended stay module. Therefore, housekeeping is offered every three days. However, the front desk is always happy to provide fresh towels and room supplies. Regarding breakfast....since every room has a kitchen, most guests just pick up items and enjoy it in the comfort of their room. Thank you for acknowledging that our two bedroom with two separate bathroom units offer a flat screen tv in the living area and each bedroom. Again, we regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations, but do hope that you return to the beautiful low country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

First time to this hotel for an whole week with my wife and child. Location is great both to visit Charleston, to enjoy Mt-Pleasant and to access Isle of Palms beach. The room is fair with a small kitchen to do the minimum (lack of seat for the table unfortunatly). However, even if our reservation was for queen beds, we got double beds. When we complained, we were told these were indeed queen beds, but "small queen sizes". Fortunatly, the service was polite and smiley. For a familly or a small group of people this hotel is a nice choice at low budget compared to equivalents in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Luc P,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites, Mt. Pleasant. We appreciated you mentioning that the hotel is ideally located to the Isle of Palms beaches and to historic downtown Charleston. We realize that bed types are subjective to each guest's preference. Mainstay is franchised by Choice Hotels International, so our mattresses are queen size and meet the brand's specifications. We regret that our bedding package did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

After booking a disgusting room at the inn next door I frantically called looking for a place for my boyfriend and I to stay for two nights. Jackie was extremely helpful and understanding she told me she had a room with a queen size bed ready for us whenever we could leave the other place. For 80 dollars a night it is and excellent value. The room was clean and even had a little kitchenette! There is a nice plasma tv that is on a mount so you can watch it from anywhere in the room. The bathroom was average- could have been cleaned a little more. Breakfast was decent, it would have been nice to have a
Waffle maker or something. I would definitely stay here again and definitely reccomend it to others. It is in an excellent location and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Ksyp92,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated you acknowledging Jackie and her helpfulness. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This extended stay motel is right across the bridge from Charleston and near Patriots Point. We stayed in a 2b/2bath room and it was explained at check in that there was weekly (not daily) maid service. This was not a problem for us and the front desk will give you anything you need (clean towels, soap etc).Continental breakfast was average - but the daily Wall Street Journal Newspaper was a definite plus. There were three flat screen TV's in the room and yes there is only one air conditioner in the living room but there are fans over the doors of each bedroom that circulate the air from the living room and you can adjust the air speed and also each bedroom has a ceiling fan over the bed. Also nice to have a large refrigerator and microwave in your room. Laundry room is right up the hall for people to use on extended stay or just for the convenience. The pool is a little small and had some cracks around the side but was good enough to beat the heat. Little turtles are in the pond off the back courtyard which has a grill area. Parking was not a problem (and it was free) and all room entrances are from the inside. If you are looking for the charm of a Charleston B&B or historic hotel you won't find that here. Yes, this place is nothing fancy but it was quiet, clean and economical and in a great location close to Charleston and Daniel Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.