We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location outside of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Select Dates
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Miranda, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good location outside of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Charleston can be expensive, so this is a great location that is more economic and right next to some wonderful restaurants. The staff are wonderful too.

The breakfast is simple but at least it is provided!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    147
    55
    41
    20
See reviews for
107
192
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The good of this hotel is the rooms are very big, clean and comfortable. They looked like they all have decks, and the location is right on the river so if you get a river view you will have not only a view of the shrimp boats going in and out but a great sunrise view as well. Ask for a higher floor for best views, lower floors are right about the swimming pool which I imagine is busy in season. The other side of the hotel (cheaper) has a view of a marsh and the parking lot and sunset. The breakfast bar was standard yogurt, toast, fruit ect.... but very nice. The only down side you might find is there are also 3 local favorite bar/restaurants surrounding the hotel and would probably be a little loud at night in season as they stay open until 2am. The good news is these have the freshest shrimp on the menu in the area! Hotel is 5 minutes from Patriots Point Museum (Aircraft carrier and submarine tours) and about 10 minutes from downtown Charleston. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has Great location near patriots point on the river has a nice pool outdoor the rooms were ok they need update The bedrooms was small The hotel is old the rooms were very clean The parking lot was dirty it has to be paved gets muddy it's very high price for what you get

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a quiet, upscale hotel, this is not the place to go. It is true that the parking lot is unpaved and the place isn't exactly modern. But, if you are looking for a relaxing, unpretentious hotel with a great view (recommend 2nd floor, creek side) of the water and the wild nightlife, then this is one of those hidden little gems that you must see. Pelicans sit atop docked shrimp boats, dolphins make their way up and down the creek all day long. You can rent a kayak or take a deep sea fishing trip without ever having to start your car. Several restaurants and bars are within walking distance, some loud and rowdy, others quiet and romantic, all overlooking the creek. Red's across the creek stays packed until 2am (you can hear the music and patrons enjoying themselves from the hotel so if you are an early to bed / light sleeper or don't appreciate hearing people have a good time, you aren't going to be happy) and it was amazingly warm around the outside bar despite the weather being in the 40's. The restaurant next to the hotel is more upscale and the food is fabulously delicious. We had a wonderful weekend (this was my first visit, my partner's 10th) and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Second floor, creek side is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we only came to this hotel due to the fact it was the cheapest one around charleston. the exterior looks like a remodeled Joes Crab Shack. since its all wood, you hear everybody everywhere walking if you are on the bottom floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Romantic Package, and had a few glitches. But, the new Manager made sure that they wanted our business the next time we get to the Charleston area. We understand, a mistake can happen, but when they acknowledge it, and then correct it, is all we can ask for.
The view is awesome of the creek and the people floating by on surf boards and even doing Yoga on the boards as the flow with the creek current.
The facilities can use some work in some areas, but you are not paying for the high price of some other hotels in the area. It does have the southern homey feeling.
The Waters Edge restaurant is part of the complex and also has great views of the water and good food.
We stayed 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer. We are planning to return to Shem Creek Inn when we get back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to be near water instead of pricey downtown Charleston you may want to rough it here. The taxi ride to Charleston is quick and cheap. Close to Fort Sumter ferry and tour of aircraft carrier, submarine and destroyer. Staff was very accommodating and moved us when our first room smelled moldy. Recommend having a creek side room farther away from the next door restaurant and outdoor bar & music, although with the sliding door closed and AC on we weren't bothered. It was fun to watch the boat traffic and dolphins! Breakfast is mediocre and in a very tiny area. Recommend a short ride to Page's Okra Grill nearby in Mt. Pleasant for any meal!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.