We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Select Dates
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Little River, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dirty Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at Shem Creek Inn for a wedding in the area Friday, October 17,2014. The parking lot is a big mud hole. No way to get into the hotel without going thru mud. We booked 2 marsh view rooms. Checking in took a very long time and staff seemed confused. Once we finally got to our "marsh view" room, we were disappointed to find the room over looking the parking lot. Didn't see a marsh from our balconies. The other room was dirty and the carpet on the floor was wet. This hotel is extremely over priced. Will not stay there again and definitely will not recommend to family and friends. Very disappointed in this hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    144
    53
    40
    20
See reviews for
106
187
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been coming to the Inn for a few years now and while some things are nice several continue to go downhill (while the prices go outrageously up). One of the greatest disappointments was the condition of the pier and the walls put up from Waters Edge to pier access.
The parking lot pothole continues to grow and I don't understand why it is not getting filled in with some gravel! Breakfast is mediocre at best and furniture needs replacing. Patio furniture needs a good de-molding.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Shem Creek Inn was recommended by my son who has spent time there before. The Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. There was a large pot hole / Mud hole in the parking lot that we hit as soon as we got there no damage though. Our room overlooked the cove and the four bars/restaurants but was really not noisy like I thought it would be. Only stayed one night thank you

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If your looking for a fancy, brand new, all amenities hotel, this is not the place for you. If you looking for a great hotel, with fabulous staff, and a view to die for, this is the place. Yes, it's an older hotel, but, we didn't come here to stare at an uneven floor tile, or a small piece of torn wallpaper. All our time was spend out on the balcony enjoying the birds, and dolphins playing. We have been here twice, and absolutely love it here.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shem Creek Inn place was very comfortable. There was 2 dolphins swiming right out in front. A few great bars in walking distance. Also Reds restaurant had all you can eat crablegs. This was just a great get away. We also charter a boat for sight seeing with a local Chris Margate 843-425-7259. He used fresh bait and knew the right places to go and made sure our group very happy. We also was in the center of a pod of dolphins. What an awesome time. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimney Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family has stayed at this Inn for 16 years!!!! We come here for a few days to just rest and enjoy the creek. We love to stay on the creek side!!!! It offers magnificent views and a nighttime magical color show on the water from the lighting on the establishments surrounding it! They have replaced the sliding doors with nice new ones, upgraded the elevator and the rooms are still very comfortable!!! Yes, the parking lot is not paved, but if is was, on one of those full moon tides with only concrete or asphalt, the water would be up your legs!!!! Paving would probably not be a good thing!!!! It is the ocean and sand takes care of that water. I feel very opinionated about this little slice of heaven, because it simply offers us rest, relaxation and lots of fun times. We always look so forward to coming back!!!!!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here w/ my husband to go to a friend's wedding. The hotel is worn out and not clean. The unpaved front parking lot had turned into a mud pit (appears
to eternally be one, too) and arriving by cab and stepping out into the mud made a bad first impression that the rest of the hotel, unfortunately, lived up to. Not sure if there is a reason they don't pave the front lot, but they could at least level it out and throw some gravel down.

Walking inside we saw the tired decor, and that much mud had been tracked inside. There was just as much mud in the elevators and second floor hallway.

The room was fairly clean, save for pink mildew here and there, and a spot under the bathroom counter where they had swept dirt into a pile, but left the pile there. The toilet seat was only affixed by one hinge, and that was a nice surprise!

They did promptly clean our room the next day when we went out for breakfast. However, the common areas of the hotel never seemed to get thoroughly cleaned all weekend.

The park was nice and the views from the hotel were nice as well. The pool was nice, and had a nice view, but lounge chairs were mildew-y. It was convenient that there was a bar downstairs for us to end up at the end of the night, but the food was horrible.

All in all, it wasn't a horrible stay, but considering the price this is absolutely not a good deal for your money. We could've spent the same amount of money to stay at a charming place in Charleston and taken a cab over to Mount Pleasant for the wedding. I wish we had.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.