We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms are lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location but rooms are lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here recently for a group fishing trip. Location is great as it is right on the boardwalk. After location there is nothing special in fact this is a tired hotel. Beds are overly soft. Decoration is very blah. Bathroom is tiny and toiletries below average. Being on the boardwalk you have enough dining and bar options to be satisfied. Kayaking and fishing are right outside your door. Breakfast is a waste of time. The parking lot is not paved. Your car will be filthy after one night of staying here. If being right on the boardwalk is your desire this in OK choice. Service is pleasant and rooms although tired are clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    135
    50
    39
    19
See reviews for
98
177
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Covington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Can walk to bars and restaurants. Across the bridge from historic Charleston.

Clean room and great view. Easy to get to and would definitely stay again. Would get a creekside view room again - beautiful view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shem Creek may have been our favorite stop on our two week tour of southern states. It was a beautiful area and a beautiful property. Customer service was excellent. Rooms were clean and in good repair. They are one of the only hotels (ever) that noted our special request for no feathers/down and took care of it pre-arrival, AND remembered to note that fact again on check-in. Above all, the scenery and atmosphere cannot be beat. Thank you Shem Creek!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After spending Fourth of July week on Isle of Palms with the extended family, my husband and I decided to add a couple of days onto our vacation. This is the second time we've done this at the Shem Creek Inn. We returned because rates are very reasonable and the location is hard to beat, especially if you want to visit downtown Charleston and the beach. The decor might be just a tad dated, but our king room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and I loved having the little balcony to sit on and look at the marsh. We purposely chose a parking lot view room, because it's quieter on that side and although you are looking at the parking lot, you are also looking at the Shem Creek boardwalk that winds through the beautiful marsh. We love the location, because you are less than 10 minutes from downtown and just about 10 minutes from Sullivan's Island. Although the parking situation is a little tight, we had no trouble finding a spot, even when we came in from a late movie on Saturday night. We didn't use the pool, but others seemed to be enjoying it and every encounter we had with the front desk staff was friendly and very pleasant. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a parking lot view to save $. It will be quieter and you will still have a pleasant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been updated and were kept clean. Comfortable bedding. Friendly staff who answered all questions. The pool was small but well kept. Right next to fishing excursions and kayaking. The Shem Creek Park boardwalk was great!

Only downside was on Mondays the wait staff from Waters Edge restaurant next door TAKE OVER the pool. They had 12 of the 26 chairs available taken and were loud and intoxicated. We did not go to the pool that day bc we watched from our balcony. I would suggest management rethink that policy.

Other than that one day our 6 day stay was awesome. We will visit again....just do something else on Mondays.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shem Creek Inn is great for couples, not a lot for families with teenagers but can drive to beach and the fun. The beach is not as close as we thought, but still great when we got to the beach. Great spot to sit and do nothing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the view was incredible, and the room was beautiful and cozy! It was a bit outdated, but everything was very comfortable and I love that each room has a little private balcony. The beds were very cozy and everything was clean. The Shem creek park is stunning, I definitely recommend walking over during your stay! I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbiHemmen, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing us and telling everyone about the great boardwalk. It's just a short walk from the hotel and the views of birds dolphin, boats and sunsets are amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.