We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chillin Place and Low Country Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimp Boat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly and Save!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chillin Place and Low Country Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Whenever I go to Charleston, we always stay at Shem Creek Inn. You can't beat the value and location! Since we're not into the "partying" scene any longer, we prefer the Marsh views over the creek views. But it is alot of fun to watch all of the action on the creekside! Everything is right there...bars, restaurants, swimming pool, and water activities. This place definately puts you into vacation mode! Very convenient to Charleston. Rooms are clean, comfortable beds. Love their free WI FI service too. Very nice front desk staff. Breakfasts aren't anything special. Would be nice if they have an evening hors d'ouevres/happy hour.

Room Tip: If you like alot of action...Creek Side If you like a little more quiet....Marsh Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and explanation of the choices of views/sides of the Inn. Indeed, the marsh side is much quieter with great views of the sunset over the salt marsh and boardwalk. Creek side, especially during peak periods, is full of activities and sound coming from the adjacent restaurants and bars and is great for people watching and dolphin watching. Thank you again and we'll see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    165
    63
    42
    21
See reviews for
118
216
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After doing a ton of research on a place to stay before our cruise we booked here. I can't stress enough on how excited we were when we arrived to such a pleasant place. Staff was very helpful even though it seemed one particular person must have been new and was confused on a few occasions, but everything was worked out. Room was nice and clean with a great view. The property was well kept and perfect location to some great restaurants walking distance. Breakfast was just ok, but its what you would expect for a continental breakfast. Most items seemed to be already gone pretty early on in the morning. I never asked if they had anymore food, but I am sure if I had it would've been restocked. Don't expect a brand new hotel in coming here, but expect not to be disappointed. Rates were extremely fair! I honestly don't have many negatives with this place and the only thing I recall was calling for extra towels and never receiving them which when we called was late anyway and we ended up not needing them. Beds were not wonderful, but we didn't lose any sleep over it. AC was definitely in working order! Most hotels seem to get rooms just at comfortable temp, but I can promise you that if you like it chilly in your room you will love it! If and when we come back to the area this will be our go to hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are so happy that this will be your preferred choice when in the area again. It is a remarkable location in close proximity to so many different things. Sight seeing, kayaking, beach walking, shopping and let's not forget dining. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stated here for two nights on a trip to charleston. It served our needs. The room was, large, clean and had two double beds. The coffee maker did not work very well but that was not too much of a problem. The hotel had a number of restaurants very near one of which was next door and particularly good. However the breakfasts were difficult as the was not enough chairs and tables being supplied in the lobby. Neither were ther any trays so taking it back to our room proved to be a hazard. This place would be a good place to stay for on night if passing through.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the creek on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. It's pleasing to know that your accommodations were clean though I'm sorry about the coffee maker. We would have been happy to bring you a brand new one, had this been brought to our attention prior to your departure. Also, it is true that we have limited seating for our breakfast though we do have trays available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Mount Pleasant to celebrate our anniversary and to look at homes as we are considering this area for our next move. The Shem Creek Inn feels like a a resort being right on the creek and having wonderful views of the ships. You can also see the sunrise and sunset as we had a corner king room with a wrap around balcony. The personnel working at the Inn are top notch and were always pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There are good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a wonderful feeling to know that our team was helpful and we hope to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Writing this review is probably not a good idea because others will find the best kept secret in the Charleston area! What a great place to stay! The service was awesome and every one we ran across at the hotel was very helpful and polite. The front desk personnel was always ready to answer all of our questions. There is a great view of the waterway and it's in walking distance to great local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Yes, the secret is out! Thank you for that great review and sharing your experience. It's very humbling when we are able to assist our guests and know that it added a great value to their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I agree with a combination of several things stated in previous reviews, it's a little outdated and has an older feel, and for that reason seems a little pricey but you are right on the water, and are walking distance to several restaurants, so it's the location, location, location!
It was nice sitting by the pool in the afternoon and able to walk to the Waters Edge restaurant next door for a nice lunch and in the evenings being able to simply walk home from the surrounding bars.
Overall a good experience, and the staff was friendly!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was an overnight getaway for us (we live just 20 minutes away). The hotel itself is older and could stand some updating for sure. The elevator was rather scary, to be honest. I was afraid to step into it....! If you are here to rest get a room facing the parking lot...the waterside is loud on the weekends in the summer. The pros are the location and the pool. The hotel is wedged between Vickery's and Waters Edge restaurants (all on the water), and you can walk over the bridge to the bars on the other side. Paddle boarding and kayaking is available next door, too. I can't see bringing kids here with the bar crowds on Shem Creek, at least not at night. Overall, I don't think I would stay here again....I don't mind a quick 5 minute drive to Shem Creek from the other local hotels.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room on top if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It is with great anticipation that we announce we will be upgrading our elevator in December. All new interior, lights, panels and operating system. We agree that the marsh side of the hotel is much quieter due to all the activities that take place on the creek side. We are saddened that this guest would not return. Indeed the hotel is older but we operate a very clean establishment, offer outstanding customer service and you can't beat the views whether you are on the creek side or marsh side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimp Boat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service, we are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.