We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Reserve Directly and Save
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Mount Pleasant to celebrate our anniversary and to look at homes as we are considering this area for our next move. The Shem Creek Inn feels like a a resort being right on the creek and having wonderful views of the ships. You can also see the sunrise and sunset as we had a corner king room with a wrap around balcony. The personnel working at the Inn are top notch and were always pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There are good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a wonderful feeling to know that our team was helpful and we hope to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    48
    37
    18
See reviews for
85
162
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Writing this review is probably not a good idea because others will find the best kept secret in the Charleston area! What a great place to stay! The service was awesome and every one we ran across at the hotel was very helpful and polite. The front desk personnel was always ready to answer all of our questions. There is a great view of the waterway and it's in walking distance to great local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Yes, the secret is out! Thank you for that great review and sharing your experience. It's very humbling when we are able to assist our guests and know that it added a great value to their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I agree with a combination of several things stated in previous reviews, it's a little outdated and has an older feel, and for that reason seems a little pricey but you are right on the water, and are walking distance to several restaurants, so it's the location, location, location!
It was nice sitting by the pool in the afternoon and able to walk to the Waters Edge restaurant next door for a nice lunch and in the evenings being able to simply walk home from the surrounding bars.
Overall a good experience, and the staff was friendly!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was an overnight getaway for us (we live just 20 minutes away). The hotel itself is older and could stand some updating for sure. The elevator was rather scary, to be honest. I was afraid to step into it....! If you are here to rest get a room facing the parking lot...the waterside is loud on the weekends in the summer. The pros are the location and the pool. The hotel is wedged between Vickery's and Waters Edge restaurants (all on the water), and you can walk over the bridge to the bars on the other side. Paddle boarding and kayaking is available next door, too. I can't see bringing kids here with the bar crowds on Shem Creek, at least not at night. Overall, I don't think I would stay here again....I don't mind a quick 5 minute drive to Shem Creek from the other local hotels.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room on top if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It is with great anticipation that we announce we will be upgrading our elevator in December. All new interior, lights, panels and operating system. We agree that the marsh side of the hotel is much quieter due to all the activities that take place on the creek side. We are saddened that this guest would not return. Indeed the hotel is older but we operate a very clean establishment, offer outstanding customer service and you can't beat the views whether you are on the creek side or marsh side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Shem Creek Inn isn't a five star resort. What it IS, is a great place to chill, unwind and get close to nature and a few fermented beverages! I found the entire staff to be friendly (hi Carolyn!) informative (wish i had gotten your name...but thanks for the heads up on Crave....the best food we had the whole weekend!)and totally professional. The rooms are more than adequate....comfy with great balconies....and quiet. If you are looking for an upscale B & B....go in to Charleston. If you are looking to get closer to nature and some colorful people, stay at Shem Creek Inn! Lots to do and some great food in Mt. P.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor, to the right of the pool. We stayed directly over the pool and it was fine, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I liked this reviewers wording. "Shem Creek Inn is a great place to chill". We certainly are different from other area hotels with views like no other, water activities steps away as well as five of the finest seafood restaurants. Our guests enjoy the fact that once they've parked their car, they really don't need to get back in it until check out. With local and reasonably priced transportation, like the water taxi to downtown and activities steps away...once you unpack it's time to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Shem Creek Inn was a wonderful place to stay. It's close to everything - beach, plantation house, Charleston. It's small and cozy, much better than big commercial hotels. The view of Shem Creek is wonderful! We paid for premium view and it was definitely worth it! Walked into the room after check in and watched dolphins swimming in the creek! Ate breakfast out on our balcony every morning. Had a fridge and microwave that worked well. Very quiet room. Did not hear any noise all night long. Air conditioning worked great!
Staff was even better than location! Front desk was very helpful with suggestions or to find anything you needed. They really made us feel welcome. Lauren was the best!
They serve breakfast but it is very basic. Doughnuts, bagels, cereal... Lobby is very small so you pretty much have to take it to your room.
Only bad part was the cleanliness of our room. Bathroom and beds were fine. No bugs. But a lot of prior guests trash was found (in drawers, by wall behind nightstand, and under bed.) This does not really upset me but I know some people would find it awful.
Never turned on the tv. (Left my husband at home....hahaha) We also never found out how to use the Internet. I think hotel offers it but we didn't bother asking. Maybe a binder in the room with instructions as well as information on nearby restaurants and attractions would be a good idea!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the premium view. It does not guarantee you second floor but it does guarantee you wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Indeed we have free wireless internet throughout the hotel and poolside. I'm very sorry this guest found some trash left behind from housekeeping and as we continue to improve, we can use this guest's input for training purposes. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouside US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. Had originally booked a standard creek side room. VERY noisy. Was able to switch to the mash side. Yes, we faced the parking lot, but at least we got to sleep.

Customer service? Nothing exceptional. Comfort? It's alright. Enjoyed the balcony. Yes, it's a bit dated and don't expect too much from breakfast, but I have to admit that it makes me happy to see that there still are good, independent hotels out there. Not ALL are sterile branded hotels. No, it's not the most modern, but it has its charme. Besides - there's good dining opportunities just steps away.

If you get a good rate: Go for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Shem Creek, the area and the hotel are definitely full of charm. You can't beat the amazing views from the creek side or the marsh side and sunsets over the marsh or beyond words. Many travelers return for our quiet and quaint accommodations which separate us from the branded properties. Thank you for sharing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc
Shem Creek Hotel
Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.