We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay outside of Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay outside of Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Shem Creek Inn isn't a five star resort. What it IS, is a great place to chill, unwind and get close to nature and a few fermented beverages! I found the entire staff to be friendly (hi Carolyn!) informative (wish i had gotten your name...but thanks for the heads up on Crave....the best food we had the whole weekend!)and totally professional. The rooms are more than adequate....comfy with great balconies....and quiet. If you are looking for an upscale B & B....go in to Charleston. If you are looking to get closer to nature and some colorful people, stay at Shem Creek Inn! Lots to do and some great food in Mt. P.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor, to the right of the pool. We stayed directly over the pool and it was fine, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I liked this reviewers wording. "Shem Creek Inn is a great place to chill". We certainly are different from other area hotels with views like no other, water activities steps away as well as five of the finest seafood restaurants. Our guests enjoy the fact that once they've parked their car, they really don't need to get back in it until check out. With local and reasonably priced transportation, like the water taxi to downtown and activities steps away...once you unpack it's time to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    132
    49
    39
    19
See reviews for
96
174
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Shem Creek Inn was a wonderful place to stay. It's close to everything - beach, plantation house, Charleston. It's small and cozy, much better than big commercial hotels. The view of Shem Creek is wonderful! We paid for premium view and it was definitely worth it! Walked into the room after check in and watched dolphins swimming in the creek! Ate breakfast out on our balcony every morning. Had a fridge and microwave that worked well. Very quiet room. Did not hear any noise all night long. Air conditioning worked great!
Staff was even better than location! Front desk was very helpful with suggestions or to find anything you needed. They really made us feel welcome. Lauren was the best!
They serve breakfast but it is very basic. Doughnuts, bagels, cereal... Lobby is very small so you pretty much have to take it to your room.
Only bad part was the cleanliness of our room. Bathroom and beds were fine. No bugs. But a lot of prior guests trash was found (in drawers, by wall behind nightstand, and under bed.) This does not really upset me but I know some people would find it awful.
Never turned on the tv. (Left my husband at home....hahaha) We also never found out how to use the Internet. I think hotel offers it but we didn't bother asking. Maybe a binder in the room with instructions as well as information on nearby restaurants and attractions would be a good idea!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the premium view. It does not guarantee you second floor but it does guarantee you wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Indeed we have free wireless internet throughout the hotel and poolside. I'm very sorry this guest found some trash left behind from housekeeping and as we continue to improve, we can use this guest's input for training purposes. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouside US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. Had originally booked a standard creek side room. VERY noisy. Was able to switch to the mash side. Yes, we faced the parking lot, but at least we got to sleep.

Customer service? Nothing exceptional. Comfort? It's alright. Enjoyed the balcony. Yes, it's a bit dated and don't expect too much from breakfast, but I have to admit that it makes me happy to see that there still are good, independent hotels out there. Not ALL are sterile branded hotels. No, it's not the most modern, but it has its charme. Besides - there's good dining opportunities just steps away.

If you get a good rate: Go for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Shem Creek, the area and the hotel are definitely full of charm. You can't beat the amazing views from the creek side or the marsh side and sunsets over the marsh or beyond words. Many travelers return for our quiet and quaint accommodations which separate us from the branded properties. Thank you for sharing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff at Shem Creek made us feel most welcome. Lauren was a great tour guide and she, the manager and the other staff all were very nice. The location, pool, view, and proximity to everything Mt Pleasant is great. Yes it is slighltly outdated but very clean and well maintained.
The only drawback was the parking lot which was a rutted, muddy mess which I am sure was at least partially due to the recent heavy rains. Otherwise, this was a great stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the marsh side-a little quieter than the creek side. We didn't have as great a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. It is always wonderful to hear when our staff offers outstanding customer service and customers remember them by name. Thank you for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and thought the location was nice for spending time in Mount Pleasant. The hotel is a bit outdated for what we paid but for the most part clean. For what we paid, I think I would prefer to stay elsewhere...it was average to me and if you get it super cheap give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are an older property but we make every effort to offer clean and comfortable accommodations. The location is amazing and our team is always ready to assist with local attractions and places to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A little outdated but overall clean. Friendly staff, all rooms have balconies. Excellent location on creek, next to restaurants and bars. Only $20 cab to downtown. Two businesses that rent kayaks/paddleboards on creek, one a few doors down. Would go back for sure, nice pool too!
One more thing...comfortable bed

Room Tip: Best view is of creek but if you're not spending a lot of time at hotel there is no need to spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Shem Creek Inn experience and writing this review. It makes us very happy and proud when we are able to offer a great stay to our customers. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great location, clean, lots of entertainment, love the pier walk and eating at Reds. Inn staff where very nice and helpful with directions. We will go back! Had a wonderful time! Wayne's Hartsville SC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return again. Indeed, there is plenty of entertaining things to do within walking distance of the Inn. Several restaurant/bars with live entertainment, dolphin watching, paddle boarding and much more. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.