We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimp Boat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly and Save!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
1 review
“Mini Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Shem Creek Inn while we were in Charleston for a short getaway and shopping. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! We were able to walk to some of the best seafood restaurants in the area. The views of the creek, fishing boats, and marsh were fantastic from our balcony. Rooms not fancy but adequate. Reminiscent of an old time beach house. Great short stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for spending your mini vacation with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    188
    79
    45
    21
See reviews for
142
236
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McMurray
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We first discovered Shem Creek Inn 7 years ago, and fell in love with the place. We felt it was the best kept secret in the Charleston area. It was so restful to sit on the pool deck with a drink from the bar next door and watch the boats come and go on the creek. We ate at two of the nearby restaurants on that trip and had wonderful food. Fast forward to this year, and we discovered that the secret is out! Two of the nights we were there, the bar was taken over by some sort of corporate cocktail party, and we couldn't even get a drink and the noise level was awful. This hotel definitely needs some updating, particularly in the parking lot, which was a sea of muddy puddles from a recent rain. There is not enough parking under the roof, and there is a lot of traffic from people visiting nearby bars and restaurants. The breakfast is just bare bones - skip it and go to Locklear's Low Country Grill on Coleman Blvd. They have the best breakfast we've had in Charleston and it was relatively inexpensive. This is still a very convenient place to stay being so close to Patriot's Point and to the area plantations. It's easy to get on and off the main bridge to Charleston, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the marsh side if you want quiet. You can always go out on the dock to watch the boats come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We have used "Charleston's Best Kept Secret" as a catch phrase for many years but it does seem that the "cat is out of the bag". Indeed the creek has become a very popular spot. This is a great place though, to park your car and never have to get back it in until departure day. So many awesome things to do and see right here and just steps away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful bacony veiw and a wonderful resturant right next door. Cocktails on the water either in your room or at the water front bar and good food. Many more resturants with in walking distance. A short drive to Charleston historic downtown and all of the attractions. Old Mt Pleasant is a wonderful site.

Room Tip: Creek front over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing this information with other Tripadvisor readers. Our balconies are spectacular and improved since we just completed installing new balcony doors in all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First of all, I have to state that I got a great deal on this hotel room by bidding on the price through Priceline. It is almost impossible to find a reasonably priced room in the Charleston/Mt. Pleasant area (under $200/night)- even at the less pricey hotel chains.

The location is magnificent - but the hotel is very dated. In my opinion, the bathroom should have been much cleaner than it was on our arrival and the bathroom was in great need of some updating.

I am very picky with respect to cleanliness - so if I don't feel that a room has been really scrubbed, it impacts my whole overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. There are plans to update bathrooms in the near future though I'm very sorry that it did not appear very clean. We certainly will work on this as we want all of our guests to have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live in Myrtle Beach and often go to the Charleston area. We were delighted when we discovered Shem Creek Inn. We enjoy the Creekside view, but have stayed on the Marsh side also. The staff has always been very pleasant and helpful and we look forward to seeing them often,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're glad you chose us for your get-a-way from Myrtle Beach. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights in early April.

My room faced the marsh and parking lot- this was fine since it was quiet.

The staff was always helpful.

The price was reasonable except for the last night, but there was a bridge race the next day so I assume that this was a supply and demand thing ( I also did not book this room until the night before- I decided to extend my stay by a day).

The fridge in the room was set a tad too cold, some of my food was almost frozen. Other than that no complaints.

Oh, and as mentioned the breakfast is marginal- coffee and cereal mainly. But it is free, so as always you get what you pay for.

I will definitely stay here again next year.

Room Tip: For quiet at night, ger a room facing the marsh/parking lot. For a better view but more noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience. We agree that we are an awesome alternative to branded properties. Our unique location and amazing views is one of the many reasons our guests return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Shem Creek Inn for 2 days in early April, as part of a 10 day road trip, downtown Charleston hotels rates are so expensive we needed a more affordable option. Our creekside room was completely satisfactory, yes the sliding door was difficult to open, the hotel said they were in the process of replacing them all.
Breakfast was very ordinary, and we would have appreciated more choice and hot not cold coffee.
The reason for my rating is the young man on the front desk, he provided excellent customer service. Our car broke down in historic Charleston and the repairs were not finished until several hours after our checkout time. He offered to store our luggage, so we didn't have to hang around the hotel lobby. He had recommended a local restaurant the previous evening, and was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I'll let Desean know that his customer service was outstanding and appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#10 of 20 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
5.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#2 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#12 of 20 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimp Boat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service, we are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.