We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL ESCAPE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Reserve Directly and Save
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL ESCAPE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live in Myrtle Beach and often go to the Charleston area. We were delighted when we discovered Shem Creek Inn. We enjoy the Creekside view, but have stayed on the Marsh side also. The staff has always been very pleasant and helpful and we look forward to seeing them often,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're glad you chose us for your get-a-way from Myrtle Beach. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    123
    48
    37
    18
See reviews for
86
163
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights in early April.

My room faced the marsh and parking lot- this was fine since it was quiet.

The staff was always helpful.

The price was reasonable except for the last night, but there was a bridge race the next day so I assume that this was a supply and demand thing ( I also did not book this room until the night before- I decided to extend my stay by a day).

The fridge in the room was set a tad too cold, some of my food was almost frozen. Other than that no complaints.

Oh, and as mentioned the breakfast is marginal- coffee and cereal mainly. But it is free, so as always you get what you pay for.

I will definitely stay here again next year.

Room Tip: For quiet at night, ger a room facing the marsh/parking lot. For a better view but more noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience. We agree that we are an awesome alternative to branded properties. Our unique location and amazing views is one of the many reasons our guests return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Shem Creek Inn for 2 days in early April, as part of a 10 day road trip, downtown Charleston hotels rates are so expensive we needed a more affordable option. Our creekside room was completely satisfactory, yes the sliding door was difficult to open, the hotel said they were in the process of replacing them all.
Breakfast was very ordinary, and we would have appreciated more choice and hot not cold coffee.
The reason for my rating is the young man on the front desk, he provided excellent customer service. Our car broke down in historic Charleston and the repairs were not finished until several hours after our checkout time. He offered to store our luggage, so we didn't have to hang around the hotel lobby. He had recommended a local restaurant the previous evening, and was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I'll let Desean know that his customer service was outstanding and appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Upon arrival at the Shem Creek Inn, we were pleased with the creek and park views, location and ease in finding the place. After parking and checking in, we were expecting a room with one bed because that is what the desk attendant told us we had in our room. Actually, he didn't tell us that -- he told our six year old that he should plan to sleep on the floor. We were surprised when we opened the room and there were 2 queen sized beds. We were happy the little one didn't have to sleep in the bed with us, but slightly disturbed that the front desk attendant had no idea what he was talking about. The decor in the room was mediocre and the room seemed clean enough. The balcony was cool, but the fact that the sliding door not only wouldn't lock because a HOLE represented the place where a door handle should be. A long broom stick was supposed to be adequate to secure the sliding door? I don't think so. After dinner on the town, we came back to see that there was a loud bridal party in addition to the boisterous bar crowds at the adjacent restaurants. Normally this wouldn't cause a problems, as we are not prudes. The walls were so paper thin that I could hear the man next door snoring at night. Needless to say, I didn't get a good night's sleep. When my 6 year old woke up about 8 am, he suggested we go downstairs and eat breakfast. I had a stale english muffin and he had apple jacks cereal. He took a few bites and found a hair. He found another. We then got another bowl of corn flakes for him... We found yet another piece of hair. I took this as the universe telling us we needed to eat in Charleston for breakfast. While I was looking for some cream (that apparently doesn't exist there) for my coffee, the desk attendant (who had only been attending her personal calls and not greeting any guests) came out to replenish the donuts... with her bare hands... and took one back to the desk to eat... in front of people. Too bad they're missing out on a lot of wedding business, as we could not fathom recommending this place to any of our guests. This place would have been ok for a $69 a night stay. Unfortunately, they did not live up to the pricetag.
One last thought: the parking lot was a mess of mud puddles, poorly marked spots, and one-ways that always seemed to be the wrong way no matter what direction you went.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
This is an opportunity to use this review for continuted employee training. It will help them understand why we have procedures in place, why it is important to follow these procedures and how guests perceive our hotel and our employees. If I may, I'd like to clarify the scenario with regards to suggesting the child sleep on the floor. Our clerk and a gentleman checking in were "joking" about the bed situation. The man had already inquired if their room would be two beds, to which our clerk said yes. Then proceeded, in a joking manner and stated that it was one bed therefore someone is going to sleep on the floor. This was all simply trying to show some humor while checking in the guests and I assure everyone that this was not meant to be a hateful statement. I am sorry if it was perceived that way. I apologize about the cereal as well. We store this in the original bags, placed in plastic containers and poor right into the cereal dispensers. It is bothersome that the guest experienced this though and I truly am sorry. I would also like to address the balcony door. As people can read from past reviews, one of the largest complaints has been that the sliding doors to the balcony are difficult to open and close. We are in the process of replacing all of them and did a test door on a room to see how they looked. They will be amazing but the contractor forgot to order the door hardware, thus leaving a small hole where the lock should be. A pre-cut piece of wood was left for us to place in the track of the door to stop it from being opened from the outside until the hardware could be delivered. This absolutely should have been explained to this guest and again I am sorry. We welcome all reviews and this one is no exception. We will work diligently to improve and take pride in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A 5 star hotel it is not but it did suit our needs. We had 6 women ages 42 - 72. We had 2 rooms. I checked the beds when we first checked in and 1 room had dirty sheets on the beds. I called the front desk and reported and the sheets were changed right away. Otherwise the rooms were clean and a bit worn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is small but there is a continental breakfast. We got there first thing and the selections were Krispy Kreme doughnuts, grits, oatmeal, and bagels. There are 2 kinds of cereal. Tea, coffee and juice. The juice was very watery. More water than juice. Not many places to sit but you can take it back to your room. We had a small refrigerator and microwave in our room. We also had a small coffee pot. Our balcony faced the marsh and parking lot. If you are going to be in your room alot, I would suggest paying the extra money and getting the creek side room. Ice machines available as well as vending but not many choices. We wanted to stay an extra night but there were no vacancies. The evenings were very quiet and we had no problems with noise. We were in rooms 101 and 105. Right near the lobby. Lots of information about the area attactions available in the lobby. Plenty of parking. They have a pool but I do not think it was open yet. I would love to stay here again and would highly recommend this place. Very accessible to downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a creek side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate all of your delightful comments regarding your recent stay with us. We hope this review gives others a better feel for our location and amenities and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were fortunate to stay here during the off-season. Creek front end room was reasonably quiet during our weekend stay until Sunday morning with early arrivals for oyster roast in the shared parking lot. First clue about the expected crowd was the police presence to direct traffic/parking. No doubt the noise level and rowdy behavior increases on summer nights since this area is popular with twenty-somethings. Vickery's next door and Red's across the creek are hot spots with the young crowd. Enjoyed strolling the boardwalk over the marsh and watching the sailboats, kayaks, etc. On-site continental breakfast was sparse, lucky to grab a cup of hot coffee. Nice getaway for couples but wouldn't recommend to families.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Indeed, the noise from adjacent businesses does carry over to us. The marsh side/parking side is usually a much quieter area of the hotel. The restaurant hosts an oyster roast two times annually. Just before spring and in the fall. The local police department is on hand to ensure safety and to keep non hotel guests out of our lot. We thank them for their efforts as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel should be total perfection but it most certainly is not. One arrives and is struck by the beauty of the location right on Shem Creek. A room at the front of the property will provide a view to die for and a room ( identical to the car park facing ones) that incorporates all one needs. A
Large king size bed, bright decor, good lighting, quiet aircon, a creek facing balcony and a bathroom that whilst smaller than most has all that is required to make a stay at Shem Creek memorable. However the memory that will linger is the front desk, a desk more suited to a disinterested government bureau than a hotel that seeks to impress its guests. Shem Creek is living on what it has, a fantastic location, an interesting building, great adjacent resterauants and generally excellent weather. What is lacks is a manager. Not once on three days were we greeted with as much as a smile, we could have been bin men! The room is maintained the breakfast area most certainly is not!!! Our first breakfast when we arrived at 8.45am led us to clean a table for ourselves, they were all filthy with the debris of other diners. The cereal counter was a disgrace. The coffee area told the tale of many spilt cups, an excess of suger laid on the surface areas and a floor that was in dire need of a sweep. The manager or lady manning the office arrives. She makes a coffee whilst announcing to the girl who we assume should have been maintaining basic hygienic standards with the line "you have too many plastic cups out" and duly removes half of the high mountain of plastic cups and places them in a drawer. The fact the whole area was dirty failed to be noticed. Were this an odd occurrence it could possibly be excused, it was repeated at least in part on day two. At nine am there was a dearth of food, the doughnut trays stood empty, the table surfaces were empty, yes not an experienced one should suffer at a hotel carrying the reputation we had read about. It would be more American to be greeted with have you had a good day, do have a good day etc but at Shem Creek a smile comes as a true bonus. Yes we are visitors to the USA (not for the first time by any means) and this trip we have stayed at a variety of what one may call plastic chain hotels but all without exception provided us with the anticipated American cleanliness and a level of warmth and greeting for which the nation is famed for which Shem Creek is lacking. As an international traveller of some experience I beg this most beautiful hotel to get its act together and not to rely on the assets it does not control to continually fill its rooms.

Room Tip: It is certainly worth the extra to face the pool and the creek, the slight downside is that afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is times like this that I like to step back, re-evaluate some of our hotel best practices and remind the staff and myself that while we have a great hotel and great employees, there is always room to improve. Absolutely, this guest should not have had to experience an unkept breakfast area and less than personable contact with our staff. I'm sorry this guest's experience was less than desireable. We will continue to improve to impress our guests as we certainly do not want be less than wonderful when it comes to cleanliness and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc
Shem Creek Hotel
Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list