We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but ........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Select Dates
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but ........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel should be total perfection but it most certainly is not. One arrives and is struck by the beauty of the location right on Shem Creek. A room at the front of the property will provide a view to die for and a room ( identical to the car park facing ones) that incorporates all one needs. A
Large king size bed, bright decor, good lighting, quiet aircon, a creek facing balcony and a bathroom that whilst smaller than most has all that is required to make a stay at Shem Creek memorable. However the memory that will linger is the front desk, a desk more suited to a disinterested government bureau than a hotel that seeks to impress its guests. Shem Creek is living on what it has, a fantastic location, an interesting building, great adjacent resterauants and generally excellent weather. What is lacks is a manager. Not once on three days were we greeted with as much as a smile, we could have been bin men! The room is maintained the breakfast area most certainly is not!!! Our first breakfast when we arrived at 8.45am led us to clean a table for ourselves, they were all filthy with the debris of other diners. The cereal counter was a disgrace. The coffee area told the tale of many spilt cups, an excess of suger laid on the surface areas and a floor that was in dire need of a sweep. The manager or lady manning the office arrives. She makes a coffee whilst announcing to the girl who we assume should have been maintaining basic hygienic standards with the line "you have too many plastic cups out" and duly removes half of the high mountain of plastic cups and places them in a drawer. The fact the whole area was dirty failed to be noticed. Were this an odd occurrence it could possibly be excused, it was repeated at least in part on day two. At nine am there was a dearth of food, the doughnut trays stood empty, the table surfaces were empty, yes not an experienced one should suffer at a hotel carrying the reputation we had read about. It would be more American to be greeted with have you had a good day, do have a good day etc but at Shem Creek a smile comes as a true bonus. Yes we are visitors to the USA (not for the first time by any means) and this trip we have stayed at a variety of what one may call plastic chain hotels but all without exception provided us with the anticipated American cleanliness and a level of warmth and greeting for which the nation is famed for which Shem Creek is lacking. As an international traveller of some experience I beg this most beautiful hotel to get its act together and not to rely on the assets it does not control to continually fill its rooms.

Room Tip: It is certainly worth the extra to face the pool and the creek, the slight downside is that afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is times like this that I like to step back, re-evaluate some of our hotel best practices and remind the staff and myself that while we have a great hotel and great employees, there is always room to improve. Absolutely, this guest should not have had to experience an unkept breakfast area and less than personable contact with our staff. I'm sorry this guest's experience was less than desireable. We will continue to improve to impress our guests as we certainly do not want be less than wonderful when it comes to cleanliness and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    139
    51
    39
    19
See reviews for
101
179
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First off, we live in Charleston so I'm a bit biased. We needed a night in town with people staying at our house. We love the Shem Creek area and the rate was very good here compared to others.($109 marshside). You have to take it all with a grain of salt because this area is a very popular area at night. especially across the creek, but also in the parking lot. It was a little tough to sleep with some arguments late night outside and an upstairs guest that probably opened and closed their porch sliding door 20 times. The beds seemed small for queens, felt like fulls, but they were springy and the rooms were clean so I can't complain. Just not the best nights sleep for a family of four. Probably should have known better but had never stayed there before and wanted to be a tourist in our own town for a night. Also had to have trash removed from porch after we checked in.

Room Tip: Due to the bars and parking lot, its hard to pick which side is quieter but i think it might be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm sorry about the noise issues you had during your recent stay. With our proximity so close to the local restaurants, we do, at times, get complaits of noise coming from those establishments. Thank you for letting me know about the trash on the balcony. I will address this with housekeeping in an effort to provide a cleaner facility for our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location is perfect. The staff is exemplary. The entire experience was wonderful. We will definitely return. There is always something to see on the creek. We would highly recommend the Shem Creek Inn.

Room Tip: A room on the creek side is perfect... There is so much to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and I'm very pleased that the Front Desk Staff shined during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Of course I would have preferred to stay in the historic district of Charleston but had a serious case of sticker shock when we saw the prices for the week before Easter. Shem Creek Inn turned out to be great for us though. It was a quick and easy trip to the Historic district, 5 minutes to Patriot's Point. Sullivan's Island was a quick drive too. We loved that there are several good restaurants within walking distance so that we didn't have to worry about driving after a few drinks. The free continental breakfast was very basic so we walked to Pages Okra Grill most mornings which was a real treat. The room was fine--clean, nice beds and linens, big enough for three of us. The bathroom could use some maintenance around the grout lines of the shower but that's the only fault I could find. We liked having a room on the creek side with the water view but if you are a light sleeper (we aren't) you should probably choose the rooms on the parking lot side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to submit this online review. We also thank you for stepping away from downtown and enjoying all that Shem Creek Inn and this side of the bridge has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at the Shem Creek Inn on March 16, 2013 for 1 night so that I could be near the Osprey b / charter tour boat. This hotel would be rated a 2 star if I were rating it. It was a place to lay my head and the bed was clean. The hotel is very dated and smells like old people. It was all in all an ok place to stay. I didnt eat the continental breakfast , the hotel attendant didnt have any gloves on and was handling the food, sweeping etc.....

Room Tip: Just stay in Charleston and take a taxi if you will be drinking in Mt Pleasant. Charleston is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. we continually work to improve the overall ambiance of Shem Creek Inn. While it has it's own unique qualities, it is an older building but we continue to keep it modern with renovations and upgrades. Our most recent upagrade was under two years ago. While I'm not sure of the circumstances of the attendant and the food issues mentioned, I can only assume that if she was sweeping, she was cleaning up the breakfast area after it ended and may have been discarding food. This will be reviewed with the staff though, to ensure proper handling of food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had!

The room was outdated. The noise from neighboring rooms was louder than I have ever experienced at other hotels (I spend 50+ nights each year in a hotel room). The Wi-Fi was not functional. The continental breakfast was absolutely pathetic.

When I brought attention to these deficiencies to the staff on shift, and later the property manager, I was treated as though I was an imposition.

Save your time and save your money and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It is always hard to read a review such as this. We make every effort to make each guest have an enjoyable experience and I'm sorry we failed to deliver for this customer. This past weekend, we did have several complaints regarding noise, We handled the different situations to the best of our ability though I'm sure this was an aggravation for some of our other wonderful customers. If i'm not mistaken, we even compensated this reviewer by applying a discounted rate for the inconveniences they encountered.

While our hotel is an older property, we always look for ways to improve. In the Spring of 2011 we did a full room modernization and have had great feedback from customers about the results. We replaced all carpet, draperies, installed new artwork, lamps and chairs. We scraped the popcorn ceilings and changed to flat ceilings and purchased 32" flat screen t.v.s for all rooms.

Our breakfast is a free continental with limited items due to limited storage. We do offer a variety of breads, waffles, hot & cold cereals, fruit, coffee, milk and three juices. Our location is less than a half mile from two very good breakfast restuarants for the guests that wish to have a full breakfast.

As the Manager of this property, I take great pride in the products we offer and the customer service we extend to our guests. I'm sorry this guest had a less than desireable eperience though I do not recall speaking with them directly as they suggested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Recently stayed at Shem Creek Inn. Very clean, nice staff. Bathrooms are small. Good price and really convenient to Charleston. Don't pay the extra money for the "creek side" view. It overlooks a Tiki Bar and some shrimp boats. The other side is much quieter and overlooks a marsh. Be sure to view the sunset from the boardwalk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It is true that our Traditional Rooms which are on the marsh side, parking side, are less noisy than the creek side rooms. This is because of all the activity that goes on at the neighboring restaurants/lounges on both sides of the creek.

We appreciate your review and touching on that fact for future guests and readers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.