We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Reserve Directly and Save
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We always enjoy Shem Creek Inn, the atmosphere is great. The activity on the water is fun to watch. The rooms on the creek side have private balconies to watch the sights. There are great restaurants surrounding the Inn. There is a nice board walk on the marsh side. The rooms are clean, but show a little age, such as wall paper starting to peel in bathroom. The beds were comfortable, flat screen TV's. the location is great near downtown Charleston, and near beaches. The breakfast was okay, but free! The employees were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We like the garden tub, creek side with wrap around deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for letting others know how awesome this area is. Summer is just around the corner and Shem Creek offers many adventures from Kayaking to fishing and walks along the boardwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    48
    37
    18
See reviews for
85
162
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We really like this hotel a lot because of the location, the views, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and the availability of a light breakfast. I switched our reservation to this place from one that was 15 miles away and paid twice as much. I am glad I did that.

The only things we didn't like about it here are that the walls and floors are rather thin and you can hear people talking and moving about in the middle of the night. I thought it was pretty neat that the place was surrounded by several restaurants and bars until that happened. The only other issue we have had here is that the beds are too soft for some of us, the others were really happy with them. I would definitely return and definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us. Our location is in close proximity to the nearby restaurants. This is a huge convenience for dining and night life and not having to drive but it also brings added noise in the evenings. For those not wanting the noise, we offer marsh side rooms which is the same side as the parking area but also offeres salt marsh views and views of the boardwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for a quant off the beaten path hotel this is the place. Stayed for 4 nights (1/21-1/24/12) and the view of Shem Creek is wonderful. The staff is very friendly. The hotel itself needs updating and repairs as any of its age would but it is very clean. The continental breakfast is the bare minimum but the atmosphere makes up for that. I recommend trying Vickery's bar and grill next door for a wonderful meal. The bed was the most comfortable of any we stayed on during our 8 day trip down the coast. If you are looking for upscale this isn't for you but if you want friendly and comfy I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Friendly, clean and comfy...what a great way to describe our unique little Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience by writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Shem Creek Inn is at the center of the universe in Mount Pleasant. Great views from both sides. Nightlife all around, and some of the best restaurants in Mount Pleasant are within walking or very short dining distance. Breakfast is basic, and the elevators are slow, but the rooms are great, and as I said above, te views are wonderful. When I come back to the Charleston area, I probably won't think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a creekside room. There is noise from the bars along the creek, but it adds to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and including the awesome information for future customers to read. This is a very unique hotel in a very unique and picuresque setting. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After booking on hotels.com for an offseason rate of $70/night I was a bit skeptical. What a pleasant surprise!

The location is right across the bridge nestled among 3 eateries, The back deck overlooks a pool and the waterway . Five minutes from town makes this an ideal home base for touring,

The in room jacuzzi was an added bonus

Lauren, a fellow Pennsylvanian, was so kind and helpful. She even faxed documents for me which was extremely helpful.

Rooms have a small balcony; beds are extremely comfortable; and continental breakfast adequate.

When i return to Charleston, i will stay here again,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Lauren was very happy that she could assist this guest with their faxing needs. Just to clarify, we do not have jacuzzi's. This guest is referring to a room with a large garden tub (larger than residential garden tubs) though they are not jetted. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Shem Creek Inn is really convenient to downtown Charleston -- only minutes away; but it is worlds away for relaxation and ambiance. Located alongside the lovely Shem Creek, it boasts views of pleasure boats and paddle boards going by all day long. Be sure to ask for a waterside room; that's the one with the view. We dealt primarily with Desean at the front desk, and he was extremely helpful in getting us into our room early and seeing to it that we had exactly what we had asked for. He was courteous and efficient, and we appreciated his personal attention -- as well as that of the others we dealt with during our three-day stay. Next time we're in the Charleston area, we WILL stay again at the Shem Creek Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I loved the Title of this review. Thank you for your very kind words and I'll be sure to let Desean know that he made another great impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the first week of January. Just about everything was ideal for me. Indoor corridors - each room has a private balcony. One side faces the creek and the shrimp boats; the other the marsh (parking lot gets puddly; entire building above ground level). I got the marsh and was glad for it - the quiet and the wildlife. Not at all aware of noise inside or outside the building (Inn is between two popular eating/drinking places). Felt completely safe. Room was clean with every possible needed appliance and comfortable bed. Very little interaction with the staff; housekeeping was friendlier than the front desk. Easy drive over the spectacular Ravenal bridge to tourist Charleston (Patriots Point is even closer)

Room Tip: I think the marsh side is quieter but the creek side is colorful. Elevator (and pop machines) is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our accommodations. A lot of people choose the marsh side over the creek side for the same reasons you did. The birds and other wildlife are spectacular over the marsh. We hope you'll choose Shem Creek Inn again when traveling to this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc
Shem Creek Hotel
Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.