We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret. Try it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best kept secret. Try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved the staff,very friendly,helped you with recomndations and directions. Complementary breakfast, location great near by restaurants, great charm with the creek and the boats. The place is not a big fancy inn,but it has a special charm and home welcoming feel, and it was very clean! Convient location to everything in the area, easy access to many things to see.Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Creek side would be nice during boating season, but really we stayed marshside and it was fine just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! We love creating a "home away from home" feeling for our guests and we couldn't have said it better ourselves. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    133
    49
    39
    19
See reviews for
97
174
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel online, and didn't know what to expect, but the off season price was terriffic. We were very happily surprised when we drove in. The hotel is right on the river, next to an amazing boardwalk park, and surrounded by several seafood restaurants, three of which we walked to for dinner. Our room was overlooking the parking lot, but we could see the boardwalk park and sit on our deck and enjoy the sunset. The beds were comfortable, and the room and bath were updated and clean. The front desk young man was friendly and very helpful, and the manager, Robbi, was really sweet. We would highly recommend this hotel for the location, the service, and the quiet room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side (parking lot) might be quieter, as the riverfront rooms looked across to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Easy access to Charleston and Patriot's Point. Charming, comfortable room with balcony. Welcoming, helpful staff. Enjoyed the views, the boardwalks in the adjacent park, and the neighboring restaurants. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a wonderful 5 day anniversary trip at Shem Creek Inn & wouldnt hesitate to stay there again. Definitely choose a room on the creek side. Complementary breakfast if you were interested was very nice and access to Charleston couldnt have been better.

We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the creek side. So nice to get up in the morning & have an interesting view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you for many more anniversaries. Don't forget, we're a great location to celebrate birthdays, holidays and many, many other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and we will return when we visit Charleston. Two couples, two rooms stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool and the view of Shem Creek was wonderful. We watched the shrimping and fishing boats from our balcony and from the outside bar, a fun place to hang out. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was very nice and helpful. We almost did not stay here because of some reviews but we knew some people from our area that recommended the inn and we were all so glad that we stayed here.

Room Tip: The second floor has the views and there is an elevator from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the amazing review. We are greatful that you decided to stay with us and I'm proud of our employees for extending great customer service. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a room here, avoiding both the high cost and craziness of staying in Charleston. It was an excellent move; the room was clean, large, balcony, refrigerator and microwave. Morning breakfast included fresh fruit and very good coffee, bottled water and bagels or English muffins, cereal, etc. Outside was a boardwalk that provided a walkway over the marshes, very relaxing after the frenzy of Charleston, just across the bridge--about a 7 minute car ride. My husband and I are quite picky, but we both agree that Shem Creek Inn was a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Yes, we are only minutes from the hustle and bustle of downtown Charleston. Our location is a great little spot on the water with a lot to offer for dining, walking on the boardwalk and watching birds and dolphin. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

2 Couples, all seniors, stayed 4 nights in late Sept. Great location less than 10 minutes to Charleston. Stayed 2nd floor creekside loved the view. Comfortable beds, breakfast just right for days we wanted an early start, not crowded at 6:30. Convenient bar with great happy hour prices next door. There was a problem with our air conditioner our 3rd day, but after giving the desk a call there was a friendly repairman within 2 hours to fix it. We definately will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area attractions. I'm sorry there was an issue with your A/C but I'm delighted that our staff was able to correct this immediately. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.