We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a wonderful 5 day anniversary trip at Shem Creek Inn & wouldnt hesitate to stay there again. Definitely choose a room on the creek side. Complementary breakfast if you were interested was very nice and access to Charleston couldnt have been better.

We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the creek side. So nice to get up in the morning & have an interesting view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you for many more anniversaries. Don't forget, we're a great location to celebrate birthdays, holidays and many, many other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    135
    49
    39
    19
See reviews for
98
175
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darien
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and we will return when we visit Charleston. Two couples, two rooms stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool and the view of Shem Creek was wonderful. We watched the shrimping and fishing boats from our balcony and from the outside bar, a fun place to hang out. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was very nice and helpful. We almost did not stay here because of some reviews but we knew some people from our area that recommended the inn and we were all so glad that we stayed here.

Room Tip: The second floor has the views and there is an elevator from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the amazing review. We are greatful that you decided to stay with us and I'm proud of our employees for extending great customer service. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a room here, avoiding both the high cost and craziness of staying in Charleston. It was an excellent move; the room was clean, large, balcony, refrigerator and microwave. Morning breakfast included fresh fruit and very good coffee, bottled water and bagels or English muffins, cereal, etc. Outside was a boardwalk that provided a walkway over the marshes, very relaxing after the frenzy of Charleston, just across the bridge--about a 7 minute car ride. My husband and I are quite picky, but we both agree that Shem Creek Inn was a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Yes, we are only minutes from the hustle and bustle of downtown Charleston. Our location is a great little spot on the water with a lot to offer for dining, walking on the boardwalk and watching birds and dolphin. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

2 Couples, all seniors, stayed 4 nights in late Sept. Great location less than 10 minutes to Charleston. Stayed 2nd floor creekside loved the view. Comfortable beds, breakfast just right for days we wanted an early start, not crowded at 6:30. Convenient bar with great happy hour prices next door. There was a problem with our air conditioner our 3rd day, but after giving the desk a call there was a friendly repairman within 2 hours to fix it. We definately will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area attractions. I'm sorry there was an issue with your A/C but I'm delighted that our staff was able to correct this immediately. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I really enjoy my stay at Shem Creek Inn, It's clean , friendly, laid back with comfort, the staff was very attentive to our requests, they deserve 5 stars. The view from our balcony of the shrimp boats,paddle boarders and THE DOLPHINS are awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We can not succeed without great employees that show pride in their work. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts and I will be sure to show this to all of them. We truly have an awesome staff and awesome guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Very small outdated room.area mostly for the younger crowd. I was somewhat disappointed with the overall appearance. Our view was from the backside, which was nothing. River side may be nice. There were several good restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
While we are an older property, we take great pride in our facility and surroundings. Location is one of many attributes that Shem Creek Inn has to offer. Surrounding restaurants with lounges and night life, serene boardwalk extending out over the salt marsh and to the end of the creek to name a few. We are only minutes from donwtown, the beaches and many local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just returned from a nice 5 day stay at the Shem Creek Inn. We had a beautiful view overlooking the creek. The quaint hotel could use some renovations, but that was easy enough to overlook with a glass of wine in hand as we people watched from our balcony. The location is perfect for access to downtown Charleston and area beaches. Breakfast is very basic and a bit crowded but it is free. We would recommend the Blvd. Diner right down the street for an excellent full, inexpensive breakfast. We would definitely stay at the Shem Creek Inn again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second (top) floor facing the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to send your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.