We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Shem Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Shem Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shem Creek Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Reserve Directly and Save
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful Shem Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

2 Couples, all seniors, stayed 4 nights in late Sept. Great location less than 10 minutes to Charleston. Stayed 2nd floor creekside loved the view. Comfortable beds, breakfast just right for days we wanted an early start, not crowded at 6:30. Convenient bar with great happy hour prices next door. There was a problem with our air conditioner our 3rd day, but after giving the desk a call there was a friendly repairman within 2 hours to fix it. We definately will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area attractions. I'm sorry there was an issue with your A/C but I'm delighted that our staff was able to correct this immediately. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    48
    37
    18
See reviews for
85
162
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I really enjoy my stay at Shem Creek Inn, It's clean , friendly, laid back with comfort, the staff was very attentive to our requests, they deserve 5 stars. The view from our balcony of the shrimp boats,paddle boarders and THE DOLPHINS are awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We can not succeed without great employees that show pride in their work. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts and I will be sure to show this to all of them. We truly have an awesome staff and awesome guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Very small outdated room.area mostly for the younger crowd. I was somewhat disappointed with the overall appearance. Our view was from the backside, which was nothing. River side may be nice. There were several good restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
While we are an older property, we take great pride in our facility and surroundings. Location is one of many attributes that Shem Creek Inn has to offer. Surrounding restaurants with lounges and night life, serene boardwalk extending out over the salt marsh and to the end of the creek to name a few. We are only minutes from donwtown, the beaches and many local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just returned from a nice 5 day stay at the Shem Creek Inn. We had a beautiful view overlooking the creek. The quaint hotel could use some renovations, but that was easy enough to overlook with a glass of wine in hand as we people watched from our balcony. The location is perfect for access to downtown Charleston and area beaches. Breakfast is very basic and a bit crowded but it is free. We would recommend the Blvd. Diner right down the street for an excellent full, inexpensive breakfast. We would definitely stay at the Shem Creek Inn again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second (top) floor facing the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to send your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Shem Creek Inn this weekend while I was in the Charleston area for a Stand Up Paddle Board Certification Class. What a great location and fun spot to stay. It is ON THE WATER! The pool is awesome and overlooks the water. The resort is right across from Red's and other great spots to eat and drink. I highly recommend it and the rooms were VERY clean and modern. They offered a continental Breakfast (loved the Krispy Kreme Donuts!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Yes, it looked like the PaddleFit group had an awesome time with us last weekend. They even shared some of their beautiful pictures of Shem Creek on our Facebook page. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Shem Creek Inn is not your typical Holiday Inn. But if you're looking for a unique, small, friendly place with lots of character you can't beat it. And the location is great. Yes, it's older, but my room was very clean, no issues with anything and as someone else said, a very comfortable bed.
Do recommend getting a room on the creek side -- one tip, room assignments are first available, in my case first floor, but if you ask nicely they will move you to the second floor if available. The noise from the bar/restaurant were hardly noticeable with the slider closed.
The front desk staff was great at answering questions, making dining suggestions (excellent!) and will give you whatever coupons they have. I got a couple of real goodies.
Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Creekside, if you'd rather look at boats, dolphins, and nightlife rather than a marsh. Marsh sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And I'm equally pleased that our front desk staff were able to assist with dining choices and some coupons. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked this King bed, marsh view room for $100 a night. King bed was OK. Huge desk chair at the end of the bed was in the way. Refrigerator was barely a cooler. Bottle of water placed in freezer never froze. Bathtub was huge but in terrible shape with the finish peeling off. Towels have seen better days. Very worn and thread bare. First time and last time here.

Room Tip: There is a Hampton Inn close by where we have stayed before. We will stay there again next time. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay. We are aware that the garden tubs need to be re-glazed and we are looking for a reputable company to repair these for us. We hope to have this completed soon. I apologize about the refrigerator/freezer not working. We encourage our guests to inform us about any deficiencies during their stay so that we can try and correct them and make those amenities useable. I'm sorry that we were unable to correct this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc
Shem Creek Hotel
Address: 1401 Shrimpboat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service. We are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shem Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.