We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic BBQ Joint Worth a Try” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A & M Brown's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A & M Brown's BBQ
439 N Highway 52, Moncks Corner, SC 29461-3924
843-761-5440
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basic BBQ Joint Worth a Try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I was disappointed that there were no spareribs.The BBQ was basic pulled pork. The fried chicken was deceptively good. It looked dry but was quite moist and tasty. The baked chicken was equally good. The waitress that tended our table was attentive and quite pleasant.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, South Carolina
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Vinegar Base Barbecue Pork.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Paul, who lives in Moncks Corner, brought two pounds of barbecue pork to share with us hammock campers Friday night at Huntington Beach State Park. He told us it was a vinegar base preparation. We had hamburger buns and served ourselves. The meat was delicious and did not need any additional seasoning or sauce. I had two sandwiches. What is great about the barbecue is that it is not all completely shredded from chopping and separating. It is all good meat. On my way home today from the beach outing I stopped at Brown’s for their Sunday buffet (about eleven dollars and change) since Moncks Corner is about halfway home for me. The owners were sitting and eating at a table by the entrance and greeted me. I told them about Paul bringing barbecue pork to our outing and how much I enjoyed it, stating, “That is why I stopped here today to enjoy more of that barbecue.” I tried several items from the buffet, but frankly the barbecue remains the best part of the meal for me. Next month when I return to the beach I will stop here on the way for a pound of barbecue and indulge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great Service. Great food. Favorite place in Monck's corner! Best bbq around, cups were never empty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good variety of sides and good BBQ.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We had not eaten here for a long time. Had forgotten how good the vegetables and other sides were. The BBQ is a little hot but is good. Great place to eat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonneau, sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Enjoyed this place very much. BBQ is the best in the area. The side dishes are all very flavorful and prepared with good old southern taste. First time in my life that I have ever eaten rutabagas that were good enough for seconds...they were fresh picked and prepared the same day. The other meat choices are well prepared and very good. Great iced tea!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & M Brown's BBQ also viewed

Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A & M Brown's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A & M Brown's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.