We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the highway, but back from the road, so...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manning

Howard Johnson Manning
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Manning to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Manning
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2816 Paxville Highway, I-95 - Exit 119 and Hwy 261, Manning, SC 29102 (Formerly Ramada Manning)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manning
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location near the highway, but back from the road, so...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good location near the highway, but back from the road, so quiet and more private. We have a dog and there was a lot of room to walk her. The room and lobby were very clean. Nice small motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    55
    25
    16
See reviews for
84
45
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

First time driving from Florida back up north. Didn't have reservations and two other hotels we stopped at were booked. Our first clue should have been the fact there were rooms available and the second should have been the low price. I would suggest they use our $49 to buy a new toilet seat for room 101. It was all chipped and beat up. At first glance it looked dirty, but it was actually all nicked and in desperate need of replacement. We were exhausted and just needed to sleep which is why we stopped. This was impossible for the first few hours because the people in the next room were watching TV and as stated in other reviews, the walls are paper thin. It was as if the TV in our room was on, which it wasn't. Can't emphasize enough how really loud and annoying it was and it was just normal TV volume. The room is nicely equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. Unfortunately the refrigerator makes a loud noise while running. In fairness, the room was clean which was the only reason we could bear to stay. We only ended being there for about five hours because we couldn't really sleep and just wanted to get out of there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We asked for another room after hearing an extremely loud light fixture. The next room was the same. Paper thin walls and our neighbours had us awake at 4 am. Our room was not clean, paint off walls, towel bar removed and supports still there. Bloody finger prints on bathroom door. Need I say more?! They do take dogs, a plus. Don't like our 2 clean dogs in a dirty room either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Driving back from Florida and a quick stop in Charleston. We wanted somehwere near the highway, reasonably priced with breakfast. This fit the bill- although earlier reviews were mixed, we were very pleased. When we arrived late at night and tired, we were told we were on the second floor- and they don't have elavators. We had heavy bags and my mom was with us. When I asked if they had a first floor room, Amelia at the front desk was very helpful and got us a new room on the first floor (she was very warm and welcoming). Staff is vey warm and nice, breakfast was good, rooms clean and large. Glad we stopped here.

Room Tip: We booked on priceline- you may be able to get the same price calling directly to ensure a first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Room was fine and conveniently located. Nothing special, clean, and comfortable. Room rate excellent. Breakfast good, but coffee weak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Manning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manning

Address: 2816 Paxville Highway, I-95 - Exit 119 and Hwy 261, Manning, SC 29102 (Formerly Ramada Manning)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Manning
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Manning 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manning
Manning Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Manning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.