We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday Dinner!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro

The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro
4269 Luck Ave, Little River, SC 29566-8327
843-249-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 57 restaurants in Little River
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Continental, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 17N
Description: The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro. Our award wining restaurant is Chef owned & operated. Chef Eric Masson welcomes you to enjoy his unique Low Country French cuisine. Located in a 1910 historic Victorian house, The Brentwood features five elegant private dining rooms with two bars, five fireplaces, a piano bar upstairs and an impressive wine collection. This beautiful property is an ideal setting for all your small and large catering needs and can host casual or upscale wedding ceremony & reception. Open for dinner year round Monday to Saturday at 4:30 pm. Log on to our web site to learn about our cooking class, Chef tasting dinner, wine club and special menus for all major holidays. Reservations are recommended.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband picked The Brentwood for my special birthday celebration. We prefer restaurants that serve fresh local food, and with The Brentwood, he picked a winner! Our server, Joe did a fantastic job of describing the menu, and helped us with selections. My favorite was the Chocolate Souffle, what a great birthday "cake". Joe also gave us a tour of the restaurant, and described the new addition that we will look forward to visiting on our next trip to Myrtle Beach in early spring or late fall.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    174
    23
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“C'est Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family and I had Christmas dinner at Brentwood. It was a very nice meal. I wanted to get back sometime for a proper dinner and was able to do so last week. The amuse bouche of mushroom soup was an amazingly earthy delight. I started with the Boar Pate, which was very good. If you are a carnivore like myself, it’s a nice departure from standard pate. There were blueberries and pistachios in it which added to the flavor and texture spectrum of the dish. The mustard and caramelized onions just take this dish over the top. I went onto the Filet Wellington which was perfectly cooked and had just the right amount of sauce along with it. The Bouillabaisse at the table was good, the lobster risotto was very good and the escargot was nice.

The best part of the dinner was being able to speak with Chef Eric Masson for about 20 minutes. He was able to describe the pate making process, and the ideas/inspiration that he had for the boar pate- which he made by hand. He spoke about the menu offerings and the thought process that he goes through. Local and regional sourcing of proteins and vegetables is so very important to him. We also spoke about the restaurants that he enjoys in SC as well as in Upstate New York where he and his wife used to reside. Gaining an insight into the chefs mind allowed me to enjoy my meal that much more. It was a fantastic experience and one I recommend to anyone in the area (Myrtle Beach up to Wilmington). This place would do well wherever it called home. It’s not just a great Myrtle Beach area restaurant, it’s just a great restaurant.

Service is smart, professional and not overbearing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my top 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Outstanding ambiance, service and the food is exceptional. Truly a pleasure to dine here. Have always had amazing dining experience. Don't miss this one.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My family and I came in on a Friday night. Didn't know what to expect being our first time. Our server Ross was so amazing. He went over the specials and recommended a fantastic wine pairing. Everything we all had(separate dishes) were incredible. The food was a 10, the service was an 11! We will be back for sure. And we will be requesting the same server! It was a perfect evening!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One thumb up, one thumb down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Charming old house, and new chef Eric Masson has revitalized the menu. But the lighting is unromantic, and if you're in one of the smaller rooms with a noisy party of diners, like we were, you'll practically be forced to listen to their conversation rather than attend to your own. (Or you can try to talk even louder than they do.) Some dishes were excellent (French onion soup, fondant chocolat); others were only average (tarragon salmon, pork medallions with apples); one ill-conceived (poached pear and blue cheese salad garnished with cucumbers and tomatoes). The service was friendly but slightly awkward. The three course Restaurant Week special for $25 is hard to beat, however. We plan to return, and hope for better luck next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

 
Little River, SC
Little River, SC
 

Been to The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.