We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparable to French Laundry without the Hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro

The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro
4269 Luck Ave, Little River, SC 29566-8327
843-249-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Little River
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Continental, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 17N
Description: The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro. Our award wining restaurant is Chef owned & operated. Chef Eric Masson welcomes you to enjoy his unique Low Country French cuisine. Located in a 1910 historic Victorian house, The Brentwood features five elegant private dining rooms with two bars, five fireplaces, a piano bar upstairs and an impressive wine collection. This beautiful property is an ideal setting for all your small and large catering needs and can host casual or upscale wedding ceremony & reception. Open for dinner year round Monday to Saturday at 4:30 pm. Log on to our web site to learn about our cooking class, Chef tasting dinner, wine club and special menus for all major holidays. Reservations are recommended.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comparable to French Laundry without the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Several years ago we had the tasting menu lunch at the French Laundry in Yountville, CA. It's one of the top rated restaurants in the US, and it's nearly impossible to get into. Not to mention that it's 3,000 miles from the East coast.

If you're anywhere near Wilmington, NC or Myrtle Beach, SC, however, you can get a French Laundry type experience at the Brentwood in Little River, SC, between the two larger cities. We had the dinner tasting menu paired with wines (available at 3 price points, we had the gold (middle)). Both the service and food were exemplary, and we were able to spend a relaxing 2 1/2 hours savoring duck fois gras, diver scallop, beef tournados, a toasted baguette with Roquefort, and a Grand Marnier crème brulee flamed at the table.

For those with less time, there is a regular and very appealing menu, including vegetarian options. Wine list is excellent, and it has not only many expensive classics, but also a very good selection of reasonably priced bottles.

Great place and if back in the area, we'll definitely be back to the Brentwood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    31
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A real French bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

More than pleasantly surprised it was the best dining experience of our lives, the beef wellington was cooked to absolute shear perfection the Bordeaux the chef personally recommended complimented the dish. And the fact that the chef came out and personally talked to us made my wifes evening, we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brentwood restaurant review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very excited to have dinner at the Brentwood. I had read wonderful reviews. The atmosphere Was romantic but the room we were seated in was very loud. We ordered the salmon special with the house salad. The salad was not crisp or fresh tasting. The salmon was the worst I had ever had. Absolutely no flavor and under cooked. Our server was very nice and attentive. Unfortunately, this restaurant needs to work on their food to be a first class restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We're disappointed to know that you were so let down by your visit with us. We take great pride in our menu and the fresh ingredients that we choose, so it's disheartening that our salmon didn't make a great impression. That certainly doesn't sound like us! We haven't heard similar issues with that dish, but we'd love to hear more about your experience. Please don't hesitate to follow up with us at (843) 249-2601. Thank you!

Best,
Chef Eric and Kimberlee Masson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent Upscale Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Yes, this restaurant is pricey, but the meals are excellent and the service is superb. The atmosphere is cozy and romantic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Came for dinner on a Thursday night....Not very busy ....we were seated upstairs. The decor upstairs was a bit dim however downstairs was very bright and more comfortable in my opinion . The staff was very friendly and welcoming....Chef Eric (owner) came by to say hello during our dinner. We ordered appetizers...french onion soup and escargot...both delicious. We each had the salad with the poached pears and gorgozola...the vinaigrette was delicious. We ordered the rack of lamb...very tasty/well seasoned.....and the shrimp and scallops chardonnay...wonderful. The dessert was a perfect ending to a delicious meal. We ordered creme brulee and the pana cotta which was so smooth and creamy. Overall very delicious meal and worth a return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.