We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Homestyle Cooking with Good Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard's Thicket

Lizard's Thicket
621 W Main St, Lexington, SC 29072-2503
803-951-3555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 175 Restaurants in Lexington
Restaurant details
Burlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Southern Homestyle Cooking with Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

What was not to like, the prices were great, and the food was very good, My wife is a Filipino and she really liked the food of this place. The food was very fresh tasting, unlike some where you can taste the salt, this had the flavor of the vegetables come thru, the fish I had was very good along with the meat my wife had, sorry forgot what type it was, the menu board had a very wide selection to choose from, the cornbread was very good flavor. The staff was very friendly also and the service was good. I would very much recommend this place as we stopped here by another person and we agree with him.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Okay southern cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Here visiting family and ordered takeout. It was good not great. I had a salmon patty. Could not taste much salmon, lots of bread inside but was tasty. Black Eyed Peas were cooked well except a little salty. Fried okra a little overcooked and not very seasoned. Cornbread a little dry. Mac and cheese was pretty good. My husband liked the pulled pork, although it was on the sweet side. Collards were good. My family who lives here have had takeout several times. For the price and convenience would probably try again and order something else; better than fast food and they have a large selection; especially vegetables.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine country cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you want a traditional southern meal, this is the place. They do the "meat & 3" or you can choose 2 vegetables if you prefer. They also have a good chef salad for those that eat healthy. If you splurge for dessert, get them to warm up a piece of their pecan pie! Yum!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home town cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Thicket is a stand-by when you want solid food. They strive to serve fresh vegetables and a good choice of meats. Good cornbread and butter. We like their breakfast menu also. Good place to pick up food and take home.. Very reasonable prices and good quantity and quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lizard's Thicket Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Every time, my family and I, go to Lizard's Thicket.....the food is fresh, and excellent. The waitstaff is courteous and prompt. The restaurant is clean, and welcoming! Not much more, I can add, except: For a great meal, at a great price, Lizard's Thicket, is it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizard's Thicket also viewed

 

Been to Lizard's Thicket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard's Thicket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.