We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington County Museum

Lexington County Museum
231 Fox Street, Lexington, SC 29072
803 359-8369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Lexington
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Lexington County Museum, located in downtown Lexington, offers a rare and unforgettable experience – the chance to see and touch a way of life gone forever. The Museum interprets and exhibits historic structures and artifacts that tell the story of everyday life for Lexington County citizens in the colonial and antebellum period and contains many everyday items people used in the 18th and 19th centuries. The Museum features over 30 historic structures on seven acres. Some of these include the Leaphart/Harman house, built around 1790; the Corley Cabin, the oldest documented building in Lexington; the Ernest Hazelius House, where the traditional song "Give Me That Old Time Religion" was composed, and the two story-John Fox House, built in 1832. Originally built by Jesse Bates, John Fox, a wealthy planter and politician, bought the house in 1843. Currently, it is furnished with period pieces from Lexington County that show how an upper class home would have been decorated around the mid-nineteenth century. The Museum serves as an invaluable educational tool by promoting the county's history and attracting school groups. The Museum offers thirteen hands-on tours to school groups for free.
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Went there in 2011 on an elementary school field trip. Employees did a great job of showing how life was in that time. Kept the kids/parents attention the whole time. Great job everybody!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Several homesteads and farm buildings are preserved. Grounds nicely kept and don't miss the pigeon house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worried about political correctness, in turn gives false information”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was actually a slave owing plantation back in the day. They use to do fieldtrips that explained the live and times of the slaves and showed the "slave quarters". Now, becuase of worrying about hurting someones feelings, they use the grounds as fieldtrips saying that native americans lived there and showed how thier lives were lived. Complete false information. You can't change history, what is the issue with telling things how they were. Just becuase they try to ignore them, history is history and should be told as it was. They do not do that here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR F, Manager at Lexington County Museum, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Beth,

Thank you for reviewing the Lexington County Museum. However, I am very concernced about your comments. I would like to hear more about your concerns so that we can correct any errors. Please either email me at JRFennell@lex-co.com, call me at 803-359-8369, or meet with me in person. We strive to be as historically correct as possible here at the museum and base everything we do on documented facts. You are correct in saying that we do not currently have a children's program that deals with slavery but that is something that we are working to create. We do not hide the fact that John Fox had 52 slaves in 1860 and, in fact, have just restored one of Fox's ca. 1850 slave cabins. Inside, we have a recreation of a slave cabin along with text panels that list the slaves of John Fox ( http://www.lex-co.sc.gov/departments/DeptIQ/museum/Pages/FoxHousesSlaveQuarters.aspx). Anyway, thanks again for reviewing and I hope that you will contact me. We are constantly trying to improve!

J.R. Fennell
Director
Lexington County Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
294 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Great collection of Historic Buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you have a love old buildings of Americana-then this place is for you! Beautifully restored houses and farm buildings with great decor inside.Some 18th century buildings are impressive to see. The Fox house=stunning. The museum is a great place to relax and stroll through history. Well kept site with a safe environment for the whole family.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“little place with great history lessons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Went here on a field trip...it was very informative

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexington County Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lexington County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington County Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lexington County Museum to your Saves list