We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE Kovachi's!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kovachi's

Kovachi's
309 S Lake Dr, Lexington, SC 29072-3411
803-356-1366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 175 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We LOVE Kovachi's!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Kovachi's is awesome!!! It's a must in Lexington! The food is wonderful & comes in huge portions (plenty to share or enough for another meal later). Service is great & it's a nice, intimate atmosphere. The garlic knots are addictive!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Diva Chef, Ok Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ate dinner at Kovachi's on a Friday night. The atmosphere is pleasant. Although our server was new, she did her best to answer all our questions and was attentive. The problems started when my husband asked for the eggplant special, but wanted to substitute the marinara sauce for an alfredo sauce on the side as red sauce is not to his liking. The chef refused! So he then ordered an alfredo dish. I had the seafood special. It was ok. The seafood was over cooked and I had small bits of shells in almost every nite. I would venture to say that if it was just one issue it would have been ok, but with the attitude and the other choices in town we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a very nice when my family went out to dinner. The food was very good, and a lot of it! The server did a great job and the price was right! (Especially the $2 wine on Wednesdays.) The atmosphere was very cute and cozy. We will certainly go there again. Looking forward to the "kids eat free" on Monday and Tuesday. We sat out in the room off the main room and there wasn't any music playing out there. But that's the only negative thing I have to say. The place was awesome!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What a shame...or, How not to pizza.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This quaint little place is everything Lexington needs. Interesting decor, cool inviting dining room with seating choices for every taste and a very homey bar! There's even a sunny "beer garden feel" outdoor area. Most importantly, escape from the strip mall locations that so constrain most of the other local eateries, is a true inspiration. Only one problem. The food totally sucks.

In all fairness mid afternoon on a Saturday might not be the best time to visit especially if there is a college football game, but how did they miss doing any marketing for that?!!!! The place should be packed, but was empty. I'm sure it's the hardest time of the week to hire descent help too. Could it be that the snotty hostitute that doubled as our waitress (who by the way isn't nearly attractive enough to pull of her little "attitude") has driven off some business? I still come back to the horrendously poorly prepared food, allow me to expound.

Beer, salad, Pizza. Should be easy right? Beer was nice and cold, plenty to choose from. Salads came, but they were much smaller than we were led to believe. We had some discussion with the waitress about possibly splitting a large greek salad, but she made the decision and brought us two smaller house salads instead, claiming cost savings for us. Just too small. Reasonably fresh ingredients, but unimaginative oil dressing on romaine with a few canned accoutrements. The obligatory kalamatra olive.

Next, some dried out - over cooked dinner roll things, that apparently come with an order. I think they'd been sitting out since last weekend. Anyhow they were heated, which just made it more obvious that they were over cooked, dried out, leftovers. Then a drizzle of oil, I guess to "revive" them before being dusted with canned parmesan. Several were burned and nearly inedible. But I was so hungry I ate them anyways.

Last came what Kovachi's calls pizza. Horribly undercooked - as if the kitchen was in a rush... Cheese just barely warmed into a gooey mess, then sliced without even a second to allow the pie to set, letting the runny mess soak into the undercooked crust. Where do they find the horrible non-italian sausage that they use in local pizzas in Lexington?!!! Frozen Italian sausage from the grocery store would be a better choice. Not par cooked, so the sausage was rubbery and tastes more like something you'd get with breakfast grits than on pizza anywhere else in the country. Lastly and most insulting? Large chunks of raw pink onion. I bet the cook couldn't define the word caramelization if his green card depended on it.

GO! Especially for a beer at the bar, but then order Marco's and have it delivered to Kovachi's or just go home...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit. Last month, we all tried pasta dishes and it was outstanding. This visit, we went with pizza and it was without a doubt, the best pizza that I have EVER had anywhere. Fresh ingredients, cooked to perfection, and great service. We live about 70 miles away, but will go back frequently. Yes, it's that good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kovachi's also viewed

 
Lexington, SC
 

Been to Kovachi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kovachi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.