We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Lexington
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here while in the area and was very pleased. Kim and Julie were both extremely pleasant and helpful, obviously very guest service oriented! They both made me feel right at home. The location was easy to find, near lots of shopping and restaurants, with plenty of parking available. The room was attractive and clean, and had everything that you could need. The bathroom was also clean, and had plenty of room. Did not have the complimentary breakfast as I was running late, but it appeared to be well stocked, and looked inviting. I would not hesitate to stay here on another trip. Again, I want to thank Kim and Julie for their hospitality and friendliness!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
18
10
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is our sixth stay at the Holiday Inn Lexington SC and as ever the rooms are clean, the staff polite cheerful and helpful; particularly at the front desk and the buffet breakfast excellent. It is a great place to stay if you are visiting Columbia or anywhere else in South Carolina. Charleston is about a one hour forty-five minute drive. There is plenty of choice of restaurants near by as well as a shopping centre with Walmart, TJ Max, Publix, dress barn etc. Down Town Columbia is about 20 minute drive for serious shopping and Lake Murray is 10 minutes drive. 15 minutes from Columbia Metropolitan airport. The hotel although a chain has a family atmosphere. The Swimming Pool was clean as was the whole pool area.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 the most spacious room is on top floor, over looking the front of the hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

OMG, where do I start? I wish I had read the reviews on this hotel, I mistakenly assumed that because I had stayed at other HIE express locations and been satisfied this experience would have been the same. Not so.

The carpet is stained throughout the property, common areas as well as guest rooms. The PTac A/C units are loud and squeel and screech all night long. The hotel hallways appear to have not been vacuumed any time recently, the hotel smells of cigarettes throughout. The rooms smell like cigarettes masked by air freshener.

The night clerk, "Bob" is as clueless as they come. I asked for a room change and he did not check to see if the second one was any better.

So unhappy, I would rather sleep in my car and may do just that.

Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear about your experience at our hotel. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We previously stayed in Columbia SC Holiday Inn Express. We expected much better accommodations based on our previous experience. When I called about where to plug in our coffee maker they said that we would have to move it since there was no available electricity to it. There were no linens for the sofa sleeper. Only one ice machine for 3 floors. Pool was green and dirty...... sauna and steam room locked and unavailable. Stains on the dust ruffles on the beds......nastiness on the handicap bars in the bathroom. Don't waste your money on these accommodations......RUN to the nearest available!

Room Tip: Smoker and no smoker rooms mixed on the same hall....can smell smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was a little older than some but very clean. Breakfast buffet was great and varied daily. The staff was very friendly and personable shopping and recreation was nearby. Airconditioning was refreshing and cooled the room adequately which during this heat is remarkable! We didn't use the pool but saw staff cleaning it daily. A very comfortable stay

Room Tip: The only reason rooms received a very good was because they are older but cleanliness was still main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Second year in a row they screwed up our family reservations even after constantly confirming the late arrivals with the front desk. We have always found HIExpress great when we travel but not in Lexington. While most of the staff is polite, the others (night auditor) need to be fired. Don't think training will help people like that. A $20 discount and a comp room did help but it didn't help the fact that the visiting families went thru Hades getting checked in at 2 am into a smokey, grimy room. Next year.. any place but here ...At least the AC worked in the rooms this year.

Room Tip: Don't arrive late and check out the room before you unload your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear TripsRgood4U,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologize for the shortcomings of our staff and the troubles that your family may have experienced during check-in. We strive to provide the best possible service and experiences and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an excellent performance in this instance. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff here is uncommonly nice and helpful, but I don't think I will return to this property because my standard for an average hotel includes being clean. The bathroom looked clean, but when I turned down the bed, the sheets looked slept in and there was something spilled on it -- maybe coffee with cream? Dust around the base of wall is thick in places, piece of blue plastic trash from previous guest next to the other bed - the one that does not have the look of being previously used. Room fridge shelves have cracks in plastic sheathing and thick coat of ice in freezer unit with no door closing it from the rest of unit. Carpets in room has stains. Gold color not the best for hiding stains. Hall carpets are dirty and worn through in places. Elevator wall covering ripped and elevator carpet is filthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Alabama Nana B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. While we aim to offer the highest level of service and facilities to our guests, it seems that we fell short of offering you an experience in keeping with your expectations. We have noted your comments regarding housekeeping and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Please rest assured that these lapses in quality and service on our part will be addressed with the proper departments in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Lexington South Carolina. Our beautiful property is located in Lexington, which is located within 15 miles of downtown Columbia, SC.Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located in the town of Lexington, and offers lodging accommodations for corporate, leisure and groups. Our three story hotel offers a selection of king, two queen beds or wheelchair accessible rooms and/or suites to meet everyone's needs. Each of our tastefully decorated rooms and suites are equipped with in-room coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, refrigerators & microwaves, and 32' LCD TV In standard rooms and 37' LCD TV in suites with cable, CNN, ESPN, HBO and 48 cable channels and more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a boardroom (accommodating up to 12 persons), as well as a large meeting room accommodating up to 100 persons. Catering and audio visual are provided upon request.Whether your visiting Columbia for business or pleasure, take time to enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and fitness facility. Join us for our excellent Express Start breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located to all types of recreational venues to include beautiful Lake Murray, several theatres for the performing arts and Lexington County's award winning historical museums. We sincerely hope you'll enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Lexington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.