We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Hotel - Carpets in common areas and rooms stained, need vacuumed, hotel smells of cigarettes & air freshener” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Collinsville, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy Hotel - Carpets in common areas and rooms stained, need vacuumed, hotel smells of cigarettes & air freshener”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

OMG, where do I start? I wish I had read the reviews on this hotel, I mistakenly assumed that because I had stayed at other HIE express locations and been satisfied this experience would have been the same. Not so.

The carpet is stained throughout the property, common areas as well as guest rooms. The PTac A/C units are loud and squeel and screech all night long. The hotel hallways appear to have not been vacuumed any time recently, the hotel smells of cigarettes throughout. The rooms smell like cigarettes masked by air freshener.

The night clerk, "Bob" is as clueless as they come. I asked for a room change and he did not check to see if the second one was any better.

So unhappy, I would rather sleep in my car and may do just that.

Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear about your experience at our hotel. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We previously stayed in Columbia SC Holiday Inn Express. We expected much better accommodations based on our previous experience. When I called about where to plug in our coffee maker they said that we would have to move it since there was no available electricity to it. There were no linens for the sofa sleeper. Only one ice machine for 3 floors. Pool was green and dirty...... sauna and steam room locked and unavailable. Stains on the dust ruffles on the beds......nastiness on the handicap bars in the bathroom. Don't waste your money on these accommodations......RUN to the nearest available!

Room Tip: Smoker and no smoker rooms mixed on the same hall....can smell smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Barboursville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was a little older than some but very clean. Breakfast buffet was great and varied daily. The staff was very friendly and personable shopping and recreation was nearby. Airconditioning was refreshing and cooled the room adequately which during this heat is remarkable! We didn't use the pool but saw staff cleaning it daily. A very comfortable stay

Room Tip: The only reason rooms received a very good was because they are older but cleanliness was still main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Second year in a row they screwed up our family reservations even after constantly confirming the late arrivals with the front desk. We have always found HIExpress great when we travel but not in Lexington. While most of the staff is polite, the others (night auditor) need to be fired. Don't think training will help people like that. A $20 discount and a comp room did help but it didn't help the fact that the visiting families went thru Hades getting checked in at 2 am into a smokey, grimy room. Next year.. any place but here ...At least the AC worked in the rooms this year.

Room Tip: Don't arrive late and check out the room before you unload your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear TripsRgood4U,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologize for the shortcomings of our staff and the troubles that your family may have experienced during check-in. We strive to provide the best possible service and experiences and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an excellent performance in this instance. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff here is uncommonly nice and helpful, but I don't think I will return to this property because my standard for an average hotel includes being clean. The bathroom looked clean, but when I turned down the bed, the sheets looked slept in and there was something spilled on it -- maybe coffee with cream? Dust around the base of wall is thick in places, piece of blue plastic trash from previous guest next to the other bed - the one that does not have the look of being previously used. Room fridge shelves have cracks in plastic sheathing and thick coat of ice in freezer unit with no door closing it from the rest of unit. Carpets in room has stains. Gold color not the best for hiding stains. Hall carpets are dirty and worn through in places. Elevator wall covering ripped and elevator carpet is filthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabama Nana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Alabama Nana B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. While we aim to offer the highest level of service and facilities to our guests, it seems that we fell short of offering you an experience in keeping with your expectations. We have noted your comments regarding housekeeping and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Please rest assured that these lapses in quality and service on our part will be addressed with the proper departments in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I travel for a living, and it is a true statement that I have never had a noisier hotel room than room 127. I can't believe they even have rooms in this location of the hotel. Sandwiched between the ice maker, the pool, and right next to the meeting rooms where late-night parties occur, the noise never ceased. We couldn't even turn the fan on the AC unit on to block the noise. The breakfast area the next morning was crowded and dirty, with what appeared to be homeless people coming in off the street to partake of the free breakfast. A very poor experience - I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear pcumby,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the situation in the breakfast area and noise from our other guests. I assure you that the valuable comments you've shared will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for you feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I think if a establishment is under renovation they should tell you when you book.....maybe I don't wanna stay if its sandy and the door don't work or you smell paint....and the lobby smell like cigarettes...call me when the renovations are done!!!!!.don't fall for the hype of the pictures on line...they lie...on line it looks better than any hotel in Lexington.....glad I'm just visiting.....customer service was good....we got an upgrade....but I'm still trying to figure out while typing this review...is this a suite????....I guess its a suite in a small town...I guess...lol....overall its ok....lol

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephbaker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Lexington
Comfort Suites Lexington
#1 of 7 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Value Place Columbia, South Carolina (Lexington)
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
6.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Lexington South Carolina. Our beautiful property is located in the center point of Lexington shopping & dining, only minutes to downtown Columbia, SC. Our three story hotel offers a selection of king, two queen beds or wheelchair accessible rooms and/or suites to meet everyone's needs. Each of our tastefully decorated rooms and suites are equipped with in-room coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, refrigerators & microwaves, and 32' LCD TV In standard rooms and 37' LCD TV in suites with cable, CNN, ESPN, HBO and 48 cable channels and more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a boardroom (accommodating up to 12 persons), as well as a large meeting room accommodating up to 100 persons. Catering and audio visual are provided upon request.Whether your visiting the Lexington/Columbia area for business or pleasure, take time to enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and fitness facility. Join us for our excellent Express Start breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located to all types of recreational venues to include beautiful Lake Murray, several theatres for the performing arts and Lexington County's award winning historical museums. We sincerely hope you'll enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing