We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   307 Church Street, Latta, SC 29565   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Latta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bishopville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New year Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a suprise holiday trip for my husband. Michael made booking was so pleasant. He listened to my ideas and made suggestions for our trip. I booked a package and for this trip was what we needed. Stayed in the main floor room and had plenty of space to relax. It was at the back of the house and quiet even when the trains whistled. The bath was supplied for our needs and the claw foot tub was wonderful sinking into. Our dinner meals were served in relaxed manner and were superb. The wine tastings were perfect on our second night. Our first night we had the inn to ourselves with other couples on the second. We had the best time on both nights. Patti and Michael were wonderful hosts. thank you

Room Tip: all the rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
81
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

From the moment you book your reservation to the last moment you leave, Abingdon Manor is an experience of the superb. The property is gorgeously maintained with beautiful furnishings.

Our bed was so comfortable and the sheets felt like butter, they were so soft. The Savannah room had a large bathroom with a big walk in shower. We didn't watch TV, but there was one provided in the wardrobe. There are irons, hairdryers, and spa robes in the closet. We enjoyed the train whistle in the far distance. Of course, Michael and Patty think of everything and provided ear plugs for those who don't enjoy that nostalgic sound. There was plenty of space to relax downstairs by the fire or in other rooms. Had we gotten up early enough, we could have enjoyed coffee on the upstairs porch.

Now, the food is so good that it deserves its own posting! Cocktails at 7 and dinner at 7:30. The small bites to start were wonderful and the meal kept building to a perfect crescendo of flavors! Another pair of guests had selected the evening's menu prior to our booking, but it was simply marvelous! The Tuscan steak was perfect! (Of course, the owners, Michael and Patty, will fix things according to your dietary restrictions.)

We were impressed because Michael remembers people's preferences. Several of the other guests were repeat customers. He remembered how they took their cocktails and which wine they preferred. You don't see customer service like that often.

Breakfast was lovely and varied. I don't know where they got such delicious fresh fruit in early March, but it was delightful! I had never had shirred eggs, but they were marvelous!

Patty is the chef and does cooking classes which sound lovely! She also posts a cooking show online.

Abingdon Manor is a perfect place to stop on your trip between Florida and the Northeast! I couldn't recommend it more. This is also a lovely place for dinner for anyone in the SC or down east NC area. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a recommendation depending on what you want...bigger bed...shower or tub, etc. We loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon a terrific B&B in Latta, SC, about 5 miles off I-95 just south of the North Carolina, South Carolina border. We were looking for a highway stopover on our way from Baltimore to Hilton Head, SC, saw a listing for the Abington Manor in the AAA guide and thought we would try something other than an economy motel on the highway.

The Inn is located in a grand Greek Revival mansion with generous and well planted grounds. The room in which we stayed (one of seven) was large, very well decorated and came with a king bed and working fireplace and oversized bath. The innkeepers were very accommodating, particularly since we made a last minute, one night reservation from the highway about 90 minutes before we arrived.

Dinner is served at 7:30, with cocktails at 7 in the public rooms, and it was superb. We happened to be there Valentines weekend 2013 with a dinner featuring filet and lobster tail. Breakfast was also excellent with lots of local ingredients and food prepared fresh on site. While more expensive than a roadside motel, the price for the room and dinner seemed very reasonable to us based on the quality provided and relative to big city standards.

We would recommend this in for anyway traveling on I-95 in the Carolinas looking for an oasis of civility and southern charm and it also appears to be a very attractive venue for a wedding or other special event. For the traveler, the charm and grace of Abingdon Manor is further enhanced in contrast to the gaudy South of the Border, which lies right on the highway about 10 miles north of Latta is a good way to acquaint you with the location of Abingdon Manor if you are familiar with that portion of I-95

Room Tip: The large king room on the first floor was far enough removed from the public spaces that noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Abingdon Manor for a cooking class weekend that included a two night stay. The property is magnificant and meticulously cared for, with beautiful grounds and lovely period furnishings. Michael and Patty are gracious hosts, friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail is obvious everywhere, from the premium quality linens and toiletries, to chocolate truffles on the nightstand, to subtle jazz music in the parlors and dining room. Menus for both breakfast and dinner are well designed to provide a variety of wonderful tastes and textures in appropriate quantities that left us satisfied, not uncomfortable. Every offering was superbly prepared and served with grace and precision in an informal, but intimate setting. The cooking class was both educational and entertaining, providing the opportunity to both learn and try new techniques and to enjoy the fruits of our efforts at dinner. The Four Diamond rating is well deserved at Abingdon; its quality more than justifies the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Abingdon Manor on our way home to north Florida from Richmond, Virginia. There are three lovely B&B's in this general vicinity (Dillon, Marion, & Latta), and this was the final one we have visited. We were not disappointed. The 8000 square-foot Greek Revival styled mansion has been meticulously renovated. Three beautiful parlors and a dining room, each of which boasts a handsome archway, flank the large, central hall. Upon arriving, my husband and I enjoyed a nice bottle of wine (separately priced) before the fireplace in one of the parlors while listening to light jazz. Upon settling into our room before bed, we were each served a glass of chilled champagne and a Ferraro Roche chocolate. We slept quite comfortably on a high, four-post bed on a mattress covered with a feather topper and luxurious sheets. Breakfast, which was served in a beautiful sunroom overlooking the landscaped gardens, was simple but delicious. For those who are price-conscious, this inn was more expensive than the inns in Dillon and Marion, both of which also provided wonderful experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Abingdon on our way to Savannah. This is a beautiful house that has been restored to its former glory and provides a taste of how the fortunate few lived. The rooms are very generous and the beds very comfortable. The honour bar system is an easy way to start your evening, especially if you have arrived after a long drive. Very comfortable living.

Room Tip: Front rooms are enormous and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Charming Innkeepers With A Georgeous Old, Well Restored Mansion & A Really First Class Restaurant Serving Gourmet Food On Fine China With A Selection of Wonderful Wines. A Really Special Place. We Will Definitely Recommend this place to our friends & Hope To Return Again Ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant

Address: 307 Church Street, Latta, SC 29565
Location: United States > South Carolina > Latta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Latta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon Manor provides the only luxury accommodations in the Carolinas or Georgia close to interstate 95. The Inn is listed by AAA as a “Classic Country Inn” and had received the prestigious Four Diamond rating for fifteen consecutive years. The property, on the National Register of Historic Places, was built at the beginning of the 20th century as an opulent private home and, while now an Inn, retains the feel of an opulent private residence. A member of Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North American, Abingdon Manor is ranked among the best Inns in the country. Located in a residential section of the historic district in the charming village of Latta it is just 25 miles north of Florence. The Inn is halfway between New York City and Palm Beach as well as Washington DC and Jacksonville, Florida and it is just 5 miles east of 95. Purchased by Michael and Patty Griffey from Miami, Florida in 1995 to operate as a luxury Inn, extensive renovations, decorating and landscaping have turned this magnificent building into a refined, elegant setting for travelers. The seven guest rooms in the 10,000 square foot building insures privacy, peace and tranquility. The award winning restaurant, The Dining Room at Abingdon Manor, also rated Four Diamonds by AAA, provides fine dining nightly, with full liquor and wine listing. At a fraction of the cost of comparable properties, the Inn offers the discriminating traveler looking for upscale accommodations a particular value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.