We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Red Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Red Horse Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 Winstons Chase Court, Landrum, SC 29356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Landrum B&B and Inns
Charleston SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fairy tale cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved the Springhouse cottage at The Red Horse Inn! Everything was very clean and comfortable! The bed was divine! ! Would definitely recommend to get away from the hustle and bustle! Bring a bottle of bubbly to relax in the outdoor jacuzzi under the stars!

Room Tip: Spring house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
127
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blair, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had been to the Red Horse Inn before, and it was wonderful. It still is! We went for our anniversary, and it was great again. The setting is beautiful, the cottage comfortable. Roger and Mary make sure you have everything you need. Rather than dine out in Landrum, we elected to have delicious home-made pizza our first night, and a lovely special dinner brought to our cottage the second night. My husband had a filet, which was very good, but I had the delicious coq au vin. Great salads, garnished with nasturtiums. The cottage was clean and airy, lovely porch to sit on. The back deck has a hot tub with views of the mountains, and sunsets. Gorgeous! Mary has a little filly, Secret, a descendant of Secretariat who completes the bucolic beauty of the pasture. Great place. You should go!!

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely and private. You can't go wrong. One is even pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The setting was gorgeous, set in the foothills of South Carolina with views of the Blue Ridge Mtns nearby and overlooking a meticulously manicured hilly pasture surrounded by white fences and a horse roaming on it. Room was very clean, thoughtfully decorated, very roomy and functional, and with a back porch facing the mountains and hilly fenced fields. Looking out at this for breakfast was a priceless experience. The owners were very warm, hospitable, and helpful in every way. They put a package together of things to do in the area, including visits to wineries in the area, a waterfall hike, and restaurant recommendations with coupons. We absolutely want to come back. Great for a quiet, peaceful getaway when you want time to just stand still.

Room Tip: We selected the Gables Room, but all of the Inn rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast this past week. The in-keepers, Roger and Mary, are the most gracious hosts and will make your stay completely stress free. Their attention to detail is impeccable, the room was simply beautiful and the surroundings are so special. I wish we could have stayed more than one night. Of course we loved the robes hanging by the jacuzzi tub!!!!

Room Tip: Mention to them if you need a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Sometimes the hardest places to find are worth the search. My wife and I stayed at the Red Horse Inn while searching the landrum area for property. Mary was a fine host and offered many suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Everything in the room was perfect and elegantly detailed. If you want romance, privacy, beauty and or awesome surroundings choose this B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed for our 14th Anniversary. It was such a beautiful property and it felt like we were the only ones there at times. Yet if we needed anything Mary and Roger were right there. The Dovecote room was beautiful and relaxing. We could only get away for one night but it was so wonderful that it felt like longer. Upon arrival Breakfast is already in your own kitchen area for you to wake up at your leisure and not have to eat in a dining room with a bunch of strangers. It was a sweet time that we will cherish and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Inn for our 10th wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is beautiful and the Inn and grounds are immaculately kept. We stayed in the Gable Room in the main Inn, which is quite nice with a balcony and a private entrance. Mary was very welcoming and provided good tips on which antique stores to visit and which restaurants she preferred.

I generally don't care for bed and breakfast places because I prefer privacy and anonymity, as opposed to forced socializing, so this Inn was great for me. Other than seeing Mary at check-in and check-out, we didn't see another person during our stay (of course, we were out and about most of the time) and our room was very quiet. While some may find the "breakfast in the closet" idea different, it worked out perfectly for us. I'm not an egg person, so I had pancakes while my wife had the egg dishes (just let Mary know in advance). Along with a fruit cup, large muffins and orange juice, the breakfast was perfect for us and we could eat at our convenience in our room.

The Inn is about a 15 minute ride from Landrum, which has many antique stores and a few restaurants. We ate dinner at Stone Soup and had an excellent meal. It is also close to various state parks and waterfalls. We drove to Biltmore after we left the Inn -- about an hour drive.

We would definitely recommend The Red Horse Inn and plan on returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The Gable Room was very quiet and had a good view of the mountains and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Horse Inn

Address: 45 Winstons Chase Court, Landrum, SC 29356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Landrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping mountain views, pastoral vistas and endless sky create the perfect setting for six charming cottages and six luxurious rooms in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South Carolina. Whirlpools, fireplaces and outdoor spas are just a few of the amenities guests can enjoy in the serene setting of The red Horse Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Red Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Horse Hotel Landrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.