We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   747 Treeland Dr, Ladson, SC 29456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladson
Jamestown, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had 2 rooms. I was horrified to find out that the hotel does not launder mattress covers, blankets , or comforters. I watched and they were never removed. I was also told by housekeeping that this was the hotel policy. I called the corporate to complain and AGAIN this is a independently owned Best Western so they contacted the hotel and had the manager call me. BELIEVE this, he told me it was probably just an angry housekeeper! All he wanted to know is who told me that so he could terminate them. He was just angry I was told the truth. Saw it with my own eyes!‎
Have already told my friends never stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwladsonsc, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the award winning Best Western Magnolia Inn. I have personally reviewed your comments with our staff and management team and want to apologize on behalf of our team and assure you the problems that you have mentioned have been addressed. If is our job to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant stay and as you have read in other reviews....we strive to do that every day and our guests recognize our efforts. This action is not our standard practice and we do take your comment very seriously.
Again, please accept our apologizes and hope that you will give us another try.
Thank you.

- Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    13
    16
    8
See reviews for
51
42
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evans, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were in town visiting friends, we needed a convenient place to stay...My in-laws had stayed at this hotel a few times and really enjoyed it. So we stopped in to check availability - the lobby is pretty and the staff was friendly - we were able to get a room and they were kind enough to put us close to the stairs near the pool - so the kids could enjoy swimming. The kids loved the pool!

Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and quiet. Easy to connect to Wifi and nice to have a fridge for our leftovers. We slept like logs!! I could hardly get anyone out of bed, then I reminded them about the waffle maker at breakfast (which they had used before) and they were up and ready. The breakfast is a 'deluxe continental' type, everything was good - biscuits/gravy, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, muffins, juice, coffees, etc. and a neat waffle maker. It is the best non-buffet type breakfast I've had at a hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay here - the staff was wonderful - I honestly can't think of any criticisms. In fact, I've already made another reservation here for the next time we're in the Charleston area. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Best Western was a great choice for my weekend stay in the Charleston area. Hotel was fully booked and the price was still affordable. Room was very clean and the front desk was very friendly. It was great that we were able to get a room with 2 queen beds. Most of the other motels in the area only offer 2 doubles and charge 20 dollars more a night. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Selected this hotel based on location, previous B.W. experience and PRIMARILY because pets were welcome. Upon arrival I was asked to agree to a one hundred dollar charge if I had a pet. This was not previously disclosed and II was told if I booked on the site it would have been. There was another fellow in the lobby scrambling to find 2 beds in another hotel since all they were offering him was a single bed on a reservation made and paid for on another popular site. They were telling him that he should have read the fine print which stated that room assignments were not guaranteed. The head housekeeper whispered to me that booking directly with the desk was the only way to go. I guess that was supposed to make me feel better? Because my dogs are under 25# the fee was lowered to $25. I paid with the plan to take the matter up later. It's still open as I pursue it with The online help. Pros - good bed and linens - clean room - good ventilation - quiet Cons - Single sluggish central elevator- no central staircase - a "suite" is a slightly larger room ONLY with no divider - breakfast buffet was basic, understaffed and amateur with chilled items kept in cheap bowls of ice water, nightly housekeeper needed more training or oversight. trash not emptied, soap discarded and not replaced . On Monday the buffet was out of many items. It was a Holiday weekend and the staff seemed overworked. The morning desk clerk doubled as the buffet attendant and the night clerk doubled as maintenance man when the hide-a-bed wouldn't open without flipping it over and kicking at it. Previously I've been very pleased with Best Western Properties, something is a bit "off" with this one

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwladsonsc, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
We applogize for the confusuion. We welcome guests with pets. Our Pet policy is stated clearly on all major websites. It is not $100 as stated by the guest. Our pet policy is $25 per pet per stay.

All guests (regardless of how the travel was booked) are treated with same courtesy and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I read the recent reviews on this property and decided to give it a try. We were all pleased with our stay (two couples). The owners and staff work very hard to make the stay warm and friendly. The rooms are large with nice sized refrigerators, microwaves, in room coffee, and hair dryers. The TV is large and there are plenty of channels, including HBO. They have updated the rooms decor, more modern, very fresh.

We weren't looking for a 5 star hotel on this trip, yet felt as though we were treated like 5 star guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I don't usually give hotels a 5 star rating, but this time they deserve it. My son was graduating from the Naval Nuclear Power Training Center and all the hotels close to the base had gotten HORRIBLE ratings! Magnolia Inn & Suites is located right off of 26 and about 8 miles from the base. It is set back by itself with trees surrounding the front of the building. You can not see the freeway from your room due to the trees, and there is not much noise from the freeway either. Anyways, I was not impressed with the ratings of this hotel at all. I did notice that in Feb. of 09, one person gave it 5 stars and stated that it was under new management, and they had done a nice job at improving their customer service. All the other reviews were from 05 and 06! So I decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did. The staff was amazing! Very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Rooms come with a decent sized fridge, a microwave, blow dryer, iron and ironing board, cable, and a safe for your valuables. The hotel also has a swimming pool, small gym and wireless internet. If you don't have a laptop, they have a business center with a computer that you can use for free. The continental breakfast was very good. Besides the usual, they also had a waffle maker. The only thing I was not impressed with was the walls were pretty thin, People - when you are at a hotel, please try to remember that people in the next room can HEAR you. When you are feeling a little frisky, please know that the person in the next room can hear your "moaning!" I happened to have a very ACTIVE couple next to me........have a little courtesy for the people next to you and keep your vocals to yourself, and try not to bang the headboard!! This is my only complaint about this hotel and it wasn't even their fault. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites

Address: 747 Treeland Dr, Ladson, SC 29456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Ladson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Southern hospitality and convenient access to many key area attractions while staying at the BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn & Suites. Ideally situated just off South Carolina's Interstate 26, this hotel features well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each fully equipped with cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Begin each morning with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast before relaxing in the outdoor swimming pool or working out in the onsite fitness center. The BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn & Suites also features guest laundry, business services and meeting facilities. This is a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Magnolia Hotel Ladson
Best Western Plus Magnolia Inn And Suites
Best Western Ladson
Ladson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.