We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts

Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiawah Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
12 Kiawah Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC   |  
Hotel amenities
Mass
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Would stay here again for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented one of the villas on Duneside Drive in the 1100's. Fabulous home/townhouse. Impeccably remodeled and furnished. 4 bedrooms - 3 with ocean views and terraces. 4.5 bathrooms. Modern kitchen - could not ask for more. Easy boardwalk access to the beach. Stayed a week, We went through VRBO or Akers Ellis Realestate. Any of the townhomes in this area seemed to offer the same. Cannot wait to go back and rent in the same area for a week. The beach at lowtide is wonderful for walking, biking and shell hunting. I now have Kiawah Island as one of my favorite places to go! House sightseeing is superb! Very safe and bike trails that never end!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed ina 2 BR luxury Villa with my husband and3 kids. Heron park pool is great-lap pool and separate kids pook with water slides and play area for younger kids. Nature center is amazing and kids club great for a fee. Stayed right on the beach but also used the pool. Renting bikes is great with kids and you can explore the whole island. There are great restaurants and a market if you want to shop and make dinner in your villa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Rented a villa at 4436 Windswept the 2nd week of August through VRBO and Akers-Ellis Realty. I had tried to post this review on those sites, but neither would post my review. I rented this particular villa because the reviews found on those sites for the villa were stellar reviews, all giving it 5 stars and a "spotless" rating. After returning and doing some research, It seems that owners can pay to not have negative reviews posted on VRBO. If any of the 5 star reviews of this unit are true, those people must not travel much. We ( my teenage son and elderly mother and myself) arrived at the unit at about 10 pm after driving all day. The unit had approximately 12 steps, many without a railing to get to the elevator area. I was told there were a "few" steps, as my mother cannot walk well. The area is very dark, but even in the dark we could see hundreds of roaches scurrying around in and out of the wood on the steps. They continued all over the concrete and several entered the villa as we opened the door to bring luggage in. Spent the time before bed killing roaches that ran in every time the door was opened. In the light of the morning, we could see that the unit was not a 5 star unit. The furniture, though high-end and decorative, is very stained and dirty, probably from people sitting on it in wet swimsuits. The bed sheets were so wrinkled I questioned whether they had been changed from the previous renters, as there was also hair on the pillowcases. I ended up washing the sheets before we went to bed the first night. The bathroom sinks did not drain well. The kitchen towels that were left for us were heavily stained and looked like someone had washed cars with them. There were too many issues to list, but the roaches continued throughout the week, even though I called Akers - Ellis who claimed they came and sprayed while we were out. We were told we would have to accept the bugs as a trade off for staying on such a beautiful island. Joe Ellis, the man who came to spray, told me by phone that he lived accross the street and had a roach problem also. The roach problem did us in and we left the villa three days early and checked into the Sanctuary, where we have stayed the previous four years. We knew we could end our vacation on a high note at the hotel, which was exceptional as usual. We travel to Kiawah yearly, as our attempt at a villa rental was a miserable fail. Any future visits will be spent at the Sanctuary. Don't believe VRBO reviews. This is far from a 5 star spotless unit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kiawah Island is a place we had talked about visiting for a while. Living on the west coast however means Hawaii is always an easy choice. This year we finally decided to make the plunge and try the southeast for a change and Kiawah was at the top of our list especially with the PGA Championship having been played on the Ocean Course the year before.

We debated staying at the Sanctuary but decided on a villa as this was a stop on an extended trip and the extra space with washer and dryer was appealing. This was our first time renting a villa or condo instead of staying in a hotel so we learned a lot.

To start, the resort is massive offering almost every summer activity one can imagine. Our favorite, besides the golf (reviewed separately) was the Night Heron Pool in the East Village. The actual pool was not much to speak of, just an Olympic sized lap pool. Next door however, was a great kids pool replete with large water slides and plenty of water park fixtures to suit kids from 0 to tween. Older kids may not find it exciting but plenty of dads and granddads were enjoying the slides.

We rented bikes for our stay from the resort and they were well... worn. It is a good thing the resort is flat. We could have stopped at a thrift store along the way and done better for the money. We saw better rental bikes around so I would do some homework before renting from the resort.

Now for the villa. Keep in mind there is a wide variety to choose from, they are privately owned and vary greatly in terms of amenities, quality and location so do your homework, Our villa was in the Turtle Point section and was a "resort" quality property meaning it had not been renovated recently. It was dated but not run down. It was plenty large enough for a family of four and located close to the things we wanted to do. I wouldn't call it a value for what we spent, Kiawah is pricey but it fit our family fine however....

No review of Kiawah would be complete without mentioning the bugs. Kiawah island is a swamp and swamps are full of all kinds of creepy crawly creatures particularly what they call the Palmetto Bug, aka the American Cockroach. They are huge, they fly, they scurry and can get into your accommodations. We were fortunate in that my wife only had a run in with one in our villa but that was enough to freak her out for the remainder of the trip. She literally slept with one eye open in fear one would crawl over her as she slept. Having the condo sprayed and keeping all the drains covered seemed to keep them out (they crawl up from the sewers) but if someone in your family is squeamish about such things this is not be the place for you.

The other thing that was odd for us was the social stratification. The resort itself is gated and then within the resort there are more gated areas and more gates even within those. Keeping out the rabble is a theme here and no matter how much you are spending to be at Kiawah it seems someone else sees you as a threat and needs to know you are not worthy to enter.

If we lived farther east we may be tempted by Kiawah again (not my wife) but for us Hawaii just suits us better.

Room Tip: Do your homework. There are hundreds from which to choose and they vary greatly. The East Village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Kiawah Island is an absolutely fabulous spot. Lush, semi-tropical landscapes, easy travel on the island, enjoyable bike trails and lots to do. Prepare ahead to save $$$ Stock up on drinks, treats and other things before you enter the gates. Bring bug spray, for skin and condo. Hey it's an island! The condo was well laid out, roomy enough for a short stay and in a great location. # 4505 of Parkside Villas is close to the Sanctuary, Ocean, Night Heron Park, golf courses, tennis courts and Town Market. Inside was clean not pristine. Spongy beds, dim interior lighting, dust clogged air filters and builder grade fittings & noisy ceiling fans in the bedrooms disappoint. Loose wall switches, blown out lights, skimpy dressers, shaky wireless signals, a rusty (but functional) clothes dryer are a let down. Even with the group rate for medical seminar, this unit was adequate not a great value for $$$$. It was more like a beach share for young singles than an expensive, exclusive condo in a gated community. We would definitely go back to the island, but not here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

5 nights in this place and each a nightmare. Hundreds of dolllars per night and would have much preferred a Motel 6. Aside from multiple cockroaches and ants, the dated "Villa" has 7' ceilings with a fan that hangs at about 4.5 ft, so ducking while in the living room is a must. I am 6' tall and had to bend down to shower - when the shower handle wasnt falling off. Sink backed up first day. Giant furniture in a tiny villa makes moving around the place challenging. They should be embarrassed for charging more than $60 night for this "villa". What a huge disappointment. Front desk says everyone has cockroaches, no big deal. No parking either due to the fourth of July influx of people. Just a nightmare from start to finish. 4669 Tennis Club -Villas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay at a few nice places in the Charleston, SC realm including the Isle of Palms. This is, by far, my favorite location in this region. Access to the island is gated, which, with my family, provides a greater level of comfort and security. We stayed in a 2br, 2 bath deluxe villa in the Turtle Cove section. The villa was impeccable, housekeeping each day kept our kitchen clean, towels fresh and our place spotless, even though we were traveling with two teenagers and two 20 year old children. The particular unit was 5008. What was nice about this particular unit was: It is on the third floor providing privacy and better view, this unit has a sun room which was a good location to set up two blow up beds for the younger ones (the unit, although large, is set up to accommodate 4), It has a fully equipped kitchen which was nicely appointed with granite counter tops, Furnishings were attractive and clean. We were a short walk to the beach, even though the sand is brown, it is clean, the color is rendered by the areas underwater geology. The long, low slope of the beach is comforting for families with the children, one must walk into the water quite a long distance to be in up to your chest.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Kiawah Island
Also Known As:
Villas At Kiawah Island Hotel Kiawah Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts to your Saves list
;