We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
12 Kiawah Beach Dr, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
800 576 1570
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

.......The excellent service and attention to details that I have come to expect at Sanctuary. Wonderful dining room for a romantic evening with the one that you love...........

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    21
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great course. All golfers should experience this magical course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

All my expectations were met on my round of golf on the immaculate and very challenging ocean course. It was truly amazing and would recommend it for all hackers. While expensive, it is worth a lifetime of memories and getting par on several holes including 17th par 3 will never be forgotten. Just hope it is not to windy when you play. also make sure you grab a drink and something to eat in the Ryder cup grill with spectacular views.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Golf with Ocean Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Ocean Course was home to the 2012 Ryder's Cup Championship, Rory McElroy's 1st Major win. I haven't played the course but my son has and says it is magnificent. My favorite is the Ocean Course Club House. Wonderful restaurant overlooking the ocean and 18th green. Food is great and service is first class. The Ryder Bar is a wonderful place for drinks and to watch the sunset.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worlds Greatest Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a round of golf, my husband and I had a late lunch at the Ryder Cup Bar. Had the Low Country Grill Cheese Sandwich. What an incredible sandwich! Palmetto cheese, fried green tomatoes, country ham grilled on jalapeno corn bread...delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Absolutely equals its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great layout, beautiful views, challenging holes, fair and rewarding. Caddies are great. They know the course, work hard to know your game and help you make either challenging or safe shots. We were lucky that the wind was down; so it played much easier than many days. So glad I had this experience. Know this: you have to make your shots; missed shots are punished, but that's what you expect going in. Wouldn't change a thing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.