We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good day spoiled by bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
12 Kiawah Beach Dr, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
800 576 1570
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good day spoiled by bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Played the Ocean course for my birthday, the course was nice, perhaps i had been spoiled, by spending 10 days in Scotland in July, playing some stunning ocean front courses. Club house restaurant and food were fantastic, with one of the most spectacular views i have ever seen from a restaurant window.

This is now the bad service. Half way thru my round, i was looking for my wedge my caddie put my wedge into the other gentleman's bag, no problem, we found it. At the end of the round we all shake hands, the caddies put your bag into your car. The next morning i'm getting my bag to play golf, and notice my wedge is missing. I immediately know what has happened, the caddie put my wedge in the other guys bag. I call the club house at 7am, let them know what happened, the gentleman is staying at Kiawah, but is flying home today to San Diego. I was told by the young gentleman, he would take care of it, and he would call me back. I head out to play golf at Wild dunes. At 4pm i have not received any calls. I call the club, spoke to another gentleman, he would call the other golfer,and call me back. 15 minutes later, i received a call, he had left a message, but got no response back, i informed the gentleman, he would not get a call from the other golfer, until his plan landed in San Diego with my wedge. to cut a longer story short, after 3 more call on my part chasing up, the info on my wedge, it is being shipped back to me. This could have been avoided, if they could have made one call that morning. I would to thank Kiawah for getting my club back, but after dropping $670 for the day, golf, tip, food and items in pro shop. I would expect better service, perhaps a simple apology from some one, and i would have been happy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    21
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Walk on the wild side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I walked 36 twice while here.
The golf course is excellent.
Greens were rough as they had been punched.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good (not Great) Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm a 15 handicap, and had heard the course was extremely difficult. It was difficult (I shot a 96) but I honestly expected worse! : ) The course is beautiful, but as one reviewer mentioned, no views of the ocean on the front nine, and few on the back nine.

Advice: I played early morning. Play later in the day. I think the sun will provide more picturesque views of the course.

Take some extra golf balls. You will lose a few!

If possible, ask for Jason as your caddie. He's awesome! Whatever caddie you get, make sure to ask what celebrities he has caddied for. Good conversation.

Avoid playing with members if possible. I was paired with 3 club members/residents of the island. One was an architect originally from Ohio. Great guy! We shared the same caddie. The other two were from across the pond and had a vacation home overlooking the Ocean Course. One immediately asked me if I was a resident. I said I was not (just vacationing) Throughout the round, they continued to express their displeasure at having to be paired with a non-member/non-resident, and a "commoner" at that. Their caddie made sure to make remarks about every errant shot I made, and made every effort to make me feel unwelcomed. Many times, my caddie and I were the only ones left on the green. Once they had putted-out, they walked on to the next hole. I expected better.

One reviewer mentioned that the pro shop had an air that they were doing you a favor by letting you in their house. That is an understatement.

Final Advice: Come with friends. Enjoy the round. Take photos. Keep your scorecard. If you get paired with members like I did, stay in your own game, pretend they don't exist,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth Playing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ocean Course was great to play, especially having seen it on TV. Had the same caddie both days and he was awesome. Don't know that I can recommend the course in the dead of summer. Even with the wind it is hot to the point of being uncomfortable. But the condition was great considering the heat. Pace of play is slow (figure 5 hours+) and the locker room is worse than some small public courses I've seen. No shower towels or combs/brushes, at least when I was there, and the pro shop staff has the air of doing you a favor by allowing you into their house. Still worth going, although the Kohler courses in Wisconsin are better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Real Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. The course is set up to the highest standards, and the caddies are a great help. Hard, but lots of fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.