We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tough walk but a good walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
12 Kiawah Beach Dr, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
800 576 1570
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A tough walk but a good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a gorgeous track replete with both a Ryder Cup and PGA Championship pedigree. As one would expect it is also a difficult course. The bunkers are huge, steep faced and have hard bottoms. Even though you are allowed by local rules to both ground your club and take practice swings they still pose a major challenge for the average golfer. The waste areas are full of tall grasses that can be almost impregnable and even of you miss the worst of it the lie may make you wish you had found water instead and there is plenty of that too.

The fairways and greens are nearly perfect and very playable. There is also a good mix of holes to test every kind of shot. The day we played the winds were moderate, 1 or 2 clubs at most and I cant imagine what it would be like on a more blustery day which is often the case. Green speeds were not as fast as one would expect and this was not a bad thing.

In spite of the challenge, this should be a must play for any serious golfer right up there with Pebble or Bandon Dunes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    21
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bring lots of golf balls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Terrific course with great ocean views from most holes but it is very hard. Take a caddy as it. Is almost essential for first timers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Great Course...Limited Views...Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was really pumped to hit the links after snagging a sweet tee time a few months in advance. I knew this would cost a pretty penny but was willing to pay because of the amenities and the scenic views on each hole. I was surprised that the front 9 offered zero ocean views...not even a glimpse...and the back 9 had maybe 6 holes with the ocean in clear view. The grounds were near pristine, the caddy was tremendous, and the service was top notch. I was a little bummed about the limited views and the price (roughly $350.00) as this was probably the one and only time I would golf this course.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful location for any event . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were at the Ocean Course for a wedding and the location was absolutely beautiful. The view of the ocean was wonderful as was the food and service. A first class location for virtually any event.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great PGA experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent the weekend in Kiawah for the PGA Championship, and it was an unforgettable experience. If I had it to do over again, I would avoid Coastal Carolina in August (it's Hell's waiting room). However, the facility was run very well, and the lore of this famous Ryder Cup course continues to build.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.