We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring lots of golf balls.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
12 Kiawah Beach Dr, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
800 576 1570
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bring lots of golf balls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Terrific course with great ocean views from most holes but it is very hard. Take a caddy as it. Is almost essential for first timers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Great Course...Limited Views...Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was really pumped to hit the links after snagging a sweet tee time a few months in advance. I knew this would cost a pretty penny but was willing to pay because of the amenities and the scenic views on each hole. I was surprised that the front 9 offered zero ocean views...not even a glimpse...and the back 9 had maybe 6 holes with the ocean in clear view. The grounds were near pristine, the caddy was tremendous, and the service was top notch. I was a little bummed about the limited views and the price (roughly $350.00) as this was probably the one and only time I would golf this course.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful location for any event . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were at the Ocean Course for a wedding and the location was absolutely beautiful. The view of the ocean was wonderful as was the food and service. A first class location for virtually any event.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great PGA experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent the weekend in Kiawah for the PGA Championship, and it was an unforgettable experience. If I had it to do over again, I would avoid Coastal Carolina in August (it's Hell's waiting room). However, the facility was run very well, and the lore of this famous Ryder Cup course continues to build.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Being an avid, skilled golfer (0 handicap) this was by far the toughest golf course I have ever played, a lot harder than Pinehurst #2. Definitely a challenge from the tournament tees (7300yds) but the views and course will leave you speachless. Add this to the must play list if you enjoy a good challenege. And dont be frustrated when you first par of the day doesnt come until the 15th hole.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.